We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely clean hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 3 Dog Night Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
3 Dog Night Hostel
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Extremely clean hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in this hostel in June. It was very hot and therefore I spent quite a lot of time indoors, rather than out with the dogs. I was in an immaculate female only dorm, with very comfy beds. The bathroom was always clean. The kitchen had the usual equipment.
It is possible to get the Black line bus from Fairbanks bus station out to a shop a few miles away from the hostel (The Knotty Shop) and I arranged pick up from there. It is sensible to bring provisions with you if you don't have a car, as the Knotty Shop is a gift shop (with great icecream!) and the local store is quite a way away.
The owners were always very helpful in our interactions and they let me help feed the sled dogs one evening.
This is a nice place to rest up, read some books and watch a bit of TV. It would be fun to return one day in the snow and go out with the dogs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My girlfriend and I spent one night in one of their private rooms with shared bathroom. The price, $85/night, is very reasonable regarding what I have. The room we stayed is very spacious and bright. Bathroom is very clean. The other utilities include a living room and kitchen. Living room is also spacious and very comfortable. Kitchen is very clean and well equipped. They also provide all kinds of spices they can think of. I believe you can even make a cake if you want. If you are here for aurora, there is an open ground behind the house. We were very luck to see aurora during my stay.
The owner, Mike, is a very nice person and tries his best to make my stay comfortable. We love this place and their dogs. We will definitely come back if we visit Fairbanks next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yung-Chen_Liao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I went with my cousin for 3 nights and we hag a great time!! super cozy!! Mike and Donna are VERY nice and helpful!! the hostel has a big common area!! with wifi, tv, dvds and lots of board games!!! we saw lots of northern lights from outside!!! I would definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

My friend and I had stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. We originally booked a log cabin equipped with wood fire, but the hostel seemed very cozy and nice so we moved to hostel instead. The full kitchen and some breakfast food is always available, the living room had a beautiful tree, comfortable couch and nice TV. We walked the dogs and built snow house during day and played board games at night waiting for aurora. If you are planning for a relaxing vacation surrounded by beautiful scenery, this is IT! : )

Room Tip: If you are adventure type traveler, I recommend log cabin. If you like more comfy and cozy environme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place has a hostel, a B&B and some dry cabins. We stayed in one of the cabins and it was great. It had a little wood stove, a couch and a mezzanine for sleeping. We could use the facilities of the hostel, including the tv room, the kitchen, the patio and the bathrooms.
I would definitely recommend this place, if you are not afraid of dogs. There is a group of very sweet and happy sled dogs so guests can go mushing in the winter and walk the dogs in the summer. There's also two little poodles around who love to play with you. The owners were very nice and helpful. They pointed out some great places to go berry picking, a very original souvenir shop and place that serves delicious ice cream. The owners even made us some moose-stew so we could try it.
I would certainly recommend this place. It's located half an hour out of Fairbanks, so it's a good base to explore the city and the area around it. We did have our own car, though. You can check out some photos on their facebook page.

Room Tip: The dry cabin was great: you get a real taste of Alaska and can use all the facilities of the hostel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marrijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairbanks
28.3 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel North Pole
Hotel North Pole
#1 of 1 in North Pole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
26.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
26.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
26.1 mi away
9th Ave Hostel
9th Ave Hostel
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Dog Night Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Dog Night Hostel

Property: 3 Dog Night Hostel
Address: 5972 Richardson Highway, Fairbanks, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
3 Dog Night Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing