We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best bargain of all our hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I sit here and laugh at some of the reviews. I tried in May to book a room here over the internet (for June 18-21)as we were independent travelers and Fairbanks was the end of our vacation. There was a problem with one or two of the days I needed the room so I booked our last three days at the Hampton Inn. However, since I never really know where we will be except our first few days or last few days of a vacation I need to wing it. When we were at the Copper River Princess I figuered we would be in Fairbanks a total of 5 days so I went on the internet and found rooms were available here for just $109 a night. I grabbed them. People on the Princess cruises have no idea how expensive hotels are in Alaska. Outside of this hotel for $109 I paid anywhere from $143 to $235 a night.. Denali we paid $215 a night (they wanted to charge us $250) but my husband talked them down and we stayed at the McKinley Chalet lodges next to the Princess. The Princess resort in Denali had 600 rooms with not one available for us. We are not going to stay in a dump so we opt to stay in a chain motel and when we found out about the Princess resorts we were thrilled. The only things I found wrong with this place is that the lounge is tiny in the foyer for this size hotel. We used the business center where the laundry was done, and we got lost going back to our room on the other side of the hotel as some of the wings were not connected except on the main floor. I am sure your cruise-land package was quite inexpensive because Princess does own their own lodgings which reduces your cost. I choose to go independently because our interest varies from the sightseeing activities Princess offers.

The room was fine, but the TV was smaller than Copper River's TV. The grill was nice and also the opportunity to buy just coffee and a muffin in the morning in the gift shop. There is a" two computer" business center near the laundry as a lot of people use the one computer up near the lobby. I liked our furniture a little bit better at Copper River Princess because it was rustic looking. Rooms in Fairbanks was not easy to book as we tried Pikes Lodge next to the Princess and even the Marriot and they were filled a month before we needed to stay. I hate to see the scramble for rooms come July and August!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kconnell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge as part of the Landtour with Princess Cruises. The facility is located near the airport. We ate breakfast in the buffet where we tried the "reindeer sausage" in omelets. It was tasty. The only problem we encountered was with the A/C. It didn't work, when we went to our room it was 85 degrees in there!!! The thermostat was NOT user friendly. The window opened but because of the extended daylight (sunset at 11pm) we couldn't have our curtain open due to the sun beating on the window. It was HOT... It made it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C works....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAPackerFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We we placed here by Princess for the land portion of our cruise. Granted, we were overtired and jet lagged when we arrived. The "season" had just started and I don't think they had their act together yet. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the people were friendly and helpful. That said, breakfast was nuts. Typically, everybody was leaving for their tours/train around the same time. The dinning room was overflowing and the cafe/gift shop line was backed out way into the lobby. We waited about 20 minutes and
then had to scrammble to find a place to sit in the lobby. I hope they have worked this
out by now. View from our room was only fair and the landscaping was not terribly attractive, but that may have been, again, because it was early in the season.



out by

then

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jme2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Comfortable bed, nice location next to river. Like most lodges, they have everything you need on grounds. restaurants were alright, prices higher than neighboring restaurants and overall comfort and quality is average. parts of a princess cruise lines cruise tour. My advice, do land portion on your own and cruise with Princess.

Room Tip: Use tape to tape curtains shut,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The rooms were clean and the staff was nice & helpful. We only stayed on night and caught the train in the morning. Breakfast was good and we were able to catch a bus from the hotel to the train station in the morning. We did have a lengthy cab ride to “down town” Fairbanks in search of some night life.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liketotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Yes I am one of the cruiseship people, we stayed in this Princess Lodge as well as Mt Mckinley and Denali. This was far and above the best property. I see some bad reviews but we had an excellent room, clean and up to date furnishings. This hotel has nice facilities also. This property is open year round as it is interesting listening to how the Japanese come in the winter in mass in order to experience the Northern Lights. Again I thought was an excellent property.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Checked in last night and the room was about 110 degrees with the heat running. The response was the a/c is now off for the season suggest cracking your window....had the window completely open with a fan running that maintenance brought up and it was still hot.

Bedding was not good and the shower is awful. Not a very good branding experience for the Princess brand.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeke7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,286 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
421 reviews
4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: £64 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re searching for authentic hotels in Fairbanks, Alaska, look no further. A subsidiary of Princess Cruises, the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge is the answer! Fairbanks was founded by miners consumed with the gold fever that swept Alaska at the turn of the century. As gateway to Alaska’s rugged interior, Fairbanks is where the real Alaska begins — the Alaska of the Northern Lights and the Midnight Sun. Here, at the edge of Alaska’s vast wilderness frontier, is a haven of warm service and exceptional comfort — the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge. The most refined hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska is also its best situated. Ideally located just minutes from the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad depot. The property is also convenient to the downtown area and the University of Alaska Fairbanks as well as popular attractions such as the El Dorado Gold Mine, the Riverboat Discovery, and Pioneer Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing