We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here if you don't have to” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
British Columbia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't stay here if you don't have to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Somewhere in the frenzy of late season Princess Cruise business, this hotel lost it's humanity. I'm not a travel agent or tour organizer but I'd booked about 70 people into the hotel for three nights - clearly small potatoes to this property. The rooms are nothing special, the walk to the rooms provided more of a workout than a lot of our group really wanted, the food was so-so and the dining areas large and noisy everytime we went. There was a large patio outdoors but it needs staff (never saw a server anywhere although it has a bar) and some heat lamps. The transportation/tour people are at a desk in one foyer; the hotel staff have their own desk. On many occassions one told us they didn't know the answer to our questions and sent us to the other only to get referred back. Neither team was in a good mood at any time I visited and on one notable occasion the hotel staff became outright rude when I queried something. There was a perfectly good hotel adjacent with lower prices and very nice folks (I had to put up a couple of folks there because Princess couldn't accommodate them) so if I had it to do over, I'd go there or somewhere else.
The hotel did come through on bus services although they showed no interest in our issues when I tried to work out a plan about a month ahead - and then acted like they had no record of us when I was doing my last minute coordination. It was just plain hard work trying to get anyone's attention at this resort.

Room Tip: There are some very long walks to rooms here. If mobility concerns you, you might ask for a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    174
    141
    55
    10
See reviews for
103
239
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

After the pictures i had seen i was not sure what to expect , pleasantly surprised we had a 2nd floor room right at the end of the long, long hallway. The room was pleasant and had a great bed, we stayed here as part of a Princess land Tour for 2 nights, The staff were simply sensational and deserved to be congratulated, The food was great and the service first class.If we were to travel to Fairbanks again this would be our hotel of choice.

Well Done

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Pros: Very clean, pleasant hotel with a gracious staff and a nice lobby. Right on the river, so views are nice as well. Cons: no coffee in the rooms, products in the room are so-so (no lotion!). Breakfast buffet was good, but lunch was less than spectacular. Wireless was available, but slow!
Overall, a nice property but it had the appearance of skimping on the little things that make a difference to a business traveler.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasskagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We arrived at the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge at around 8:00 pm with a
bus load of other Princess Land Tour folks. As we walked up the hallway to our
room I couldn't help but notice the deep, black scratch marks and obvious damage
luggage had caused the walls, which made the place look very cheap. Upon
entering the room, the same "cheap" feeling stayed with me as I walked into what
I thought was a $49 a night Motel 6 type room. If you were used to the frills of
a cruise ship, or the rustic charm of the Denali Princess, you are in for a rude
awakening here. We had temperatures in the 80's on our trip so we turned on the
AC and was surprised by what sounded like a flock of dying crows coming from the
unit. Needless to say, we dealt with the heat for the duration of our stay since
no one could think - let alone sleep - with that awful noise. Once checked in,
we went to the Pub/Restaurant, Trappers. We noticed the restaurant was very
empty, since we were catching a late dinner, so we expected some pretty good
service. If there was a rating lower than "Terrible", I would have selected it
based on our experience at Trappers. The waiter wasn't capable of taking our
drink and food orders at the same time, so after we received our (incorrect)
drinks we waited patiently and he never came back. 20 minutes later after having
to ask a manager to get him, he returned, with food that we didn't order! We
explained to him that we hadn't ordered our food yet and he awkwardly apologized
and went back in the kitchen. The manager came back and took our order, but we
didn't get our food for another 25 minutes and by that time had had it with
everything. The next morning we ate at the Breakfast Buffet, which was a nicer
experience, until we noticed the lipstick stains on all the glasses and the
obvious stuck on food on all the silverware. I can't even go into the awful
service at the Princess Excursions Desk, because it is still an open wound for
me and my family after the tour people cancelled the one trip we wanted to do
and didn't tell us in time to make reservation with another company. They also
yelled at us for being upset and offered NO help what so ever. People in line
behind us who heard what was going on became as outraged as we were, but the
Princess people couldn't care less. Also, the motel (Yes, motel, it is certainly
no "lodge") is in the middle of no where. There is a shuttle - which Princess
charges for - but it only picks people up once an hour and if they driver
doesn't feel like stopping, he doesn't stop (Personal experience on that one!)
If you do stay at this horrible place, make sure you rent a car or use a shuttle
company (I'd recommend Airlink, so friendly and inexpensive, they
will take you anywhere you want to go!) If you're reading this, please be warned
about this place, and seriously consider booking elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley8053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This lodge was our last stop on our Princess cruise and land tour. Service was excellent; staff were very helpful as we oriented ourselves to the city, restaurant choices and means of getting around town. The rooms were okay, comfortable enough but not overly cushy. They had a free wifi signal, but the strength was weak, very frustrating waiting for pages to load.

Because we wanted to visit spots in town that the regular shuttle ($5 per person round trip) didn't go to, the front desk called for a shuttle that offered round-trip rides for $6 per person. Pick-ups were very prompt and the drivers were personable, telling us about aspects of the city during each trip we took.

Our best meal was at the Pump House, which is reportedly a favorite with the locals. The food there was drop-dead wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank halfcafqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent the first night of our Princess Land Tour here. We arrived late afternoon and departed first thing the next morning. The beds were comfortable, everything was nice and clean. I was surprised that the drapes were not more "room darkening", they could have been a bit longer to cover the window better. We were there in June, when it stayed light all night long. We were so tired from travel, we were able to sleep well, but if someone was very light sensitive, it might be an issue.
The hotel is not really convenient to any shopping if you need sundries or supplies. There is a nice gift shop in the hotel. Folks were taking a cab to go buy drinks for their room or other items. They also have a shuttle bus $5 that takes you to the "downtown" area or other shopping areas of Fairbanks. We took it, walked around Fairbanks (not much to see) and had dinner downtown.
Back at the hotel for the evening, there's just not much to do. Lots of folks sitting around the lobby- they could use a larger lobby, it was crowded and all tables were taken so we couldn't play cards or anything like that. I would suggest they add a swimming pool, hot tub, game room. More and more families are traveling in Alaska and these amenities would be a pleasure for the younger traveler.
We ate at the hotel restaurant for breakfast- a buffet was offered and it was very tasty and reasonably priced. They had reindeer sausage for local flavor and all the other regular hot items, made-to-order omlettes and fresh fruit that was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby if you don't want to walk far- it's a pretty sprawling place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HWlovesmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Overall I would say that this hotel has met basic expectations, clean and comfy room, a nice pleasant environment and nice lobby with a convenient shop too....however there is no wifi connectivity in the room and hence was very inconvenient for me to bring my laptop to the main hall to use internet....despite the fact that they said free wifi in the hotel.....I think they should upgrade their wifi strength

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gerald88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing