We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This was our last stop on our 15 day Alaska adventure, and this Princess Lodge is really in the need of updating. Our room was not clean, hair on blanket and in tub and shower walls. Tile in shower was full of mold in the cracks and where you stand very stained. Toilet was broken. I did complain but the only thing they fixed was the toilet.

Was not impressed. As all of the Princess Restaurants the food was mediocre and the first day for breakfast was treated by a surly hostess. Asked for a table for two at the window and she said she could not give us that one and put us behind a wall table where we sat unnoticed for a long time till I waved a waitress down.

Went to the other dining room the next day and found better service, altho the eggs I ordered tasted like prepared eggs in a bag and could not eat them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed two nights on a recent Princess cruise tour. The lobby and public areas are very nice, but the rooms and bathrooms need updating. Carpet in the hallways needs to be replaced. We ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning, and it was good-- recommend the blueberry pancakes and the coffee was excellent. You can also pick up a quick breakfast and coffee in the gift shop if you have an early morning tour or flight. The hotel is very convenient to the airport, but you need a rental car unless you're on a cruise tour. It's OK but I wouldn't choose to stay here unless I was with the cruise tour.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The room was a bit small but well kept and clean. Like most big places built recently, the sound from your neighbors letting their fire door slam shut can rock your room like an echo chamber. Luckily most people were fairly courteous and that only happened occasionally. Free Wi-Fi was nice as well as the exercise room in the basement. Also, the outside patio bar wasn't open yet but he weather was nice so we ordered beers at the inside bar and took them outdoors to sit by the river. That was very pleasant. We ate their breakfast buffet one morning for $15 a head. It was a lot to pay for greasy food that had been sitting on the line for who knows how long. After that we went off campus to get a breakfast. And you need a car to really get around. This place is near the airport with very little within walking distance - depending on how far you want to walk.
In the end however, it didn't live up to it high price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddlebike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was the last stop of our cruise Vacation so my expectations were minimal. Due to the fact that the property is owned by the cruiseline you are traveling on you are somewhat of a captivated audience. I experenced a cross of good servive vs total indifference.

The day was ear marked with one delay after another which had a domino effect on everything you did. The property was small in comparison to the other properties we stayed at,was clean and organized but with few amenities.

My major issue were two fold (1) due to the lateness of the day was forced to eat on the patio. All that we ordered was a bowl of soup and a burger and fries. It took forever to receive our food and it was served cold everything was sent back to be recooked. I will state right here that this is not the servers fault. As a server you can only serve when the food comes out. (2) you can never get a straight answer for anything ask three peope the same question and you will get three different answers

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Pleasant location,the decor is fine and the room was more than adequate for the time spent there,the tv listings were not extensive, but so what youre on holiday in Alaska what are doing in your room ! Food was very nice especially the puddings,and try the strawberry rhubarb wine.

Room Tip: Not facing the car park due to pick up times by coaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fennerjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here because we were on a Princess Tour. Its much like many others by Princess, and since I had no choice in that, I was not annoyed. Appreciated the free wifi in the lobby. The outside dining area was well patronized, although we chose to avoid the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Room was dingy, poor lighting.can't read in bed, no light is sufficient. Our room was adjacent to car park, noisy , bus parking and loading at 3:30 am very disruptive to sleep. Aircon old and needs replacing. Some areas need cleaning. Decor very dated and aged. Some things need replacement. Gym entry shared staff entry, stairway diirty and needed cleaning. Food choices very limited and expensive. Restaurant staff friendly and very attentive. Some staff helpful, more off hand and disinterested, long waits at tour desk.nothing to do here unless you use bars.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoCrows55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,265 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
417 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: £123 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re searching for authentic hotels in Fairbanks, Alaska, look no further. A subsidiary of Princess Cruises, the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge is the answer! Fairbanks was founded by miners consumed with the gold fever that swept Alaska at the turn of the century. As gateway to Alaska’s rugged interior, Fairbanks is where the real Alaska begins — the Alaska of the Northern Lights and the Midnight Sun. Here, at the edge of Alaska’s vast wilderness frontier, is a haven of warm service and exceptional comfort — the Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge. The most refined hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska is also its best situated. Ideally located just minutes from the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad depot. The property is also convenient to the downtown area and the University of Alaska Fairbanks as well as popular attractions such as the El Dorado Gold Mine, the Riverboat Discovery, and Pioneer Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing