We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, good price in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bad service, good price in a good location”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My overall experience was good because the hotel is at a wonderful location and my room had a pleasant view of the river - but the window doesn't open because of bugs and bears (I think). The room was comfortable, nice bed, nice pillow and a good tv. But some strange things are strange for a place like Alaska, where we have the midnight sun and the weather is colder than ice. The air conditioner was not precise: room was very cold or very hot, never pleasant. Curtains did not block the sun (imagine the room at midnight sun). Alarm played at 5 am (not my fault).
Internet and parking was free. Breakfast was not - costs 15 usd. But is very good.
I recommend this hotel. Other places are very expensive in Fairbanks and there is no need for anything else than what is offered by them.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    201
    154
    56
    11
See reviews for
111
271
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Princess Lodge in Fairbanks was very nice. The front desk and Tour guide desk were great. Our room was clean and cozy on the 1st floor (No refrigerator in the room), we had a view of the river but also where the trash bins were so that made it a bit noise at times. There were a few restaurants inside that I didn't eat at them but the menu looked great, a little pricey for me. The outdoor area was great, walking track, outside seating, and gift shop on site. It rained both days I was there so I didn't get outside much. Inside the gift shop was a section for Priority mail, to send items home. I wish I had known that before I headed to the Postal Office to send my packages home.

Over all a great hotel while on a Cruise Tour with Princess, the rooms do need an upgrade. I stayed at the Hoilday Inn before starting the cruise, it was near Walmart and other stores.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMedTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal;PA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed in the Fairbanks Princess as part of our Cruisetour with Princess cruises. It was a very nice hotel with a decent restaurant. Breakfast was good in the main dining room. Also had some very good appetizers in the bar area. We had a rental car to explore the area but they do have a shuttle (for a fee) and can also arrange many different tours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acmepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I visited relatives in the Princess Riverside Lodge restaurant. Being local to Fairbanks, I had never been there and it seemed to be a good opportunity to try something new. Our waitress sat us down on the patio (it was 80 degrees outside, so it was the best place to be at the time). Our cousins had overheard earlier that a couple got mad and left without paying, which should have tipped us off on the quality of service to expect. The young lady took our drink order and we conversed about family stuff. I didn't realize a half hour had gone by when we received our drinks, which were almost warm. Another hour went by before our food got to the table and again it seemed to have been sitting a while. We finished and asked the waitress for two boxes and the bill three times during the course of another hour. It took our cousin to go to the front and threaten to walk out if they did not provide the check & then it was there within minutes. The food was sub-par and the staff seemed confused and we were constantly asked if an order was ours when it wasn't. If you are going to stay at this facility, find somewhere else to eat, like next door at Pikes.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, CA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed three nights at here as part of our land-cruise vacation package through Princess Cruises. We came a day early and paid about $180 a night for three, which sounded high but its a nice lodge, with free computers with internet access and a relaxing view of the river. The lodge is homey with a cabin/woodsy lodge like atmosphere It was also convenient having a Princess tour desk near the lobby for questions. the restaurants are good, but expensive which one can expect in Alaska. there's a bus that runs from the hotel to town ($5 a person) and Fred Meyer for cheap souvenirs and other necessities. Be sure to bring some good mosquito repellant when strolling outside. A pool and jacuzzi would have been good to have.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NapaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We started our 12-day cruise and land adventure in Fairbanks at the Princess Riverside Lodge. The back patio is awesome, especially 11:30 at night on 6/21 when the sun is still shining. Rooms are adequate and the a/c worked great. We were in a heat wave. There's not a lot of assitance/help at the property but we managed fine. Excursion on paddle wheeler was most relaxing and informational and visit to the gold mine was a lot of fun. The guides on EVERY excursion were the best! We visited the University Museum in Fairbanks and that was a very good introduction to Alaska. Film on the aurora borealis was a bit convuluted and left us scratching our heads. On to Denali Princess Lodge by bus. Those accommodations were not what we expected. Again, another heat wave, and no a/c, just ceiling and table fans. For a southerner, we were very very warm. I understand the Lodge has a/c rooms; however, quite expensive, but an option. Denali full day bus tour with grizzly sighting and Mt. McKinley (Denali) in all its glory. What a magical place! Domed car train ride to Whittier to board the Coral Princess. Got an up close moose viewing at the train station as an extra bonus. Train ride was one of the highlights, absolutely. Again, with a narrator. Good food. Good drink. Card games and visiting. Time passed quickly. We were on Dolphin Deck (9) and had a balcony room. Bed was wonderfully comfortable. Be sure and get the views of the Alaska coastline for your cruise direction. We were headed south so we had Port staterooms. Also be sure you have a cruise line that has Inside Passage access. Unbelievable scenery. Neither NatGeo nor Discovery can do Alaska justice. Ports were fun. Dog Mushing Camp. River Float and Mendenhall Glacier (not strenuous at all). Ziplining and even Scuba Diving. Plane & helicopter tours were out of our budget, but those that did them, raved. Salmon fishing in Ketchikan. 22 caught, cleaned and shipped to US. Food onboard is ok. Way too bland for me. The best is the hot dog at the Grille on 14. Our steward was fabulous. Most attentive. We were most fortunate to have absolutely brillant weather. Cloudy mornings burned off to sunny 65 degrees every day! Cannot say enough about this vacation. 18 friends & family, all ages down to 15. Everyone loved it. I loved Princess for Alaska cruising. First class operation all the way. Really pretty effortless on our parts. Take warm clothing for on deck (jeans, light jacket). I would return tomorrow if someone would pay for it! A not to be missed trip!

Room Tip: On your cruise choose either Port or Starboard staterooms to correspond to the direction you are tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SRSLWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Riverside Lodge was the last hotel on the land portion of our Princess Cruise in Alaska. The room was nice and the service was great. Our carry on luggage was stored at the hotel since we had to check out at 11:00 am and our flight was 1:30 am the next morning. We were able to check our bags from Fairbanks to Atlanta at the hotel and did not see them again until we arrived in Atlanta even though we changed planes in Seattle and Chicago. The Pikes Landing Restaurant just a short walk down the street was great. The weather was perfect to sit on the deck overlooking the river. The Fairbanks shuttle did not run on July 4. We had to pay for a taxi.
The hotel had a nice gift shop with expresso bar and good pastries and muffins. There was also a restaurant on site.

Room Tip: If there is a river view room that would be nice. But, since this is where Princess cruise people sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimmyeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#12 of 23 in Fairbanks
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing