We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“just Average”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What can I say? The hotel is across the street from the airport so it is convenient. It is on the river so it moderately gives you a bit of an Alaskan feel. The rooms are very average at best. The bathrooms are dated - has the 1980's feel of an Econo lodge. It is less than I would have expected given the price.

Room Tip: ask for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongBeachBoludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    194
    148
    56
    10
See reviews for
108
260
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Looked new from the outside. This lodge is least “Alaskan” of the 4 Princess lodges we stayed at. It is bright and cheery on the inside. The room was simple but clean. Larger, much larger than the Denali PL. New carpet, old and low light lamps. No overhead light in the main area of the room. Fairly small window, but did open up to a green area. At 10:30pm heard a helicopter land. Then a few minutes later a small plane taking off. But the window was open. When we closed the window it was quieter from the airport noises. But at 6am heard a jet engine taking off.

We didn’t hang around the hotel much. The sitting area was in front, by the parking lot and bus drop off area.

But after reading some of the reviews we expected a dirty motel on the side of the road, and it wasn't. It wasn't as scenic as other Princess lodges, but was ok for Fairbanks, our last stop on our tour. I would not have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent one night at the Princess Lodge at the end of our cruise/land tour. The hotel is very modern, clean and well laid out. The room was spacious and had all the amenities. Buffet breakfast was available for $15.99 and was filling. There is a shuttle into town available for $5 round trip. Since our plane didn't leave until late in the evening, the hotel desk stored our luggage for us, and allowed us to use the fitness center to change after our day on the golf course. We had a farewell beer and snacks on the spacious deck overlooking the river before departing. Our experience with Princess Cruises was excellent; it was extremely well organized, and all staff was very professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Everything about our stay at the lodge was absolutely wonderful. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, people went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. A home-like atmosphere greeted us when we first walked into the lobby. It was so peaceful to sit on the deck by the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nani1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was told by a local this is the nicest hotel in fairbanks. The hotel looks awesome from the outside and in the lobby. I only paid $119 for one night so I thought I was getting a great deal. The girl at the front desk acted like she hated her job. The restaurant/bar was great. However the room itself was cheap and mediocre quality. There was an a/c unit that was awkwardly centered on the floor and a vent or tube that extended to the window and literally taped to a huge hole in the window. Im assuming this was some type of exhaust for it. I couldn't believe my eyes. It was 82 degrees out so I guess I should be happy there was any a/c at all. We ate breakfast downstairs and it was overly priced. $16 for a breakfast buffet. Was not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 766mistyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we enjoyed out stay at the lodge. There is a great resturant for dinner on site. Lots of good food. and be sure to try an Alaskan Blackberry Lemonade. It was very good! For breakfast there is a buffet which is alittle pricey but had good food. The lodge had a shuttle you can take into town for a low price round trip or there are several taxi services to call also. There is a nice river view out the back with a deck and river walkway. We saw two eagles in the top of a pine tree just on the other side of the river. Very awesome to watch them so close. The room was nice and comfortable. A nice place to stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Although room was nice and the hotel is on the river and pleasant but we wouldn't return. We weren't on one of the bus tours but we had reservations through a the tour company. We had to call from the train depot - okay we can deal with that but it is listed as Princess Lodge not Princess Riverside Lodge, The front desk gave minimum information and was borderline rude. It is isolated so if you don't have tours planned or a car plan on taxi or rent a vehicle if you want to do anything. Our breakfast at the Riverside Inn was horrible. My husband ordered the buffet and I ordered Biscuits and Gravy. My husband was finished before the waitress came back and apologized for not having the order. When it arrived the busboy almost threw it on the table without a word. The gravy was so thin with no meat - my husband got me the thick gravy from the buffet - much better. The waitress was nice - not her fault but not a good experience. The only bad experience we had in two weeks of Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdunlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
370 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing