We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 2 September 2013

As other reviewers have stated, this is just at most an average hotel. I expected more from Princess. The rooms are motel like, thin towels, tiny bathrooms, nothing but the bare necessities.

The lobby was a little better. The take out coffee counter in the gift shop was OK, but had very limited breakfast selections. The staff was friendly.

I had requested connecting rooms but they were unwilling to provide them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to do an Alaskan cruise so we decided to do a week on land and then a week on a Princess cruise ship.

This Princess property is beautiful and located right on the river. There is a nice river walk (not very long) around the property and is a great way to connect with a little nature. It is close to the riverboat tour and also a little shopping mall (probably about 1-2 miles away).

The staff was very good and we enjoyed the food. We were only there for two nights but really enjoyed ourselves. Princess has everything so organized for the tours, etc and it is nice not to have to worry about anything.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Poucher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We did an eight day land content with princess after a cruise, This was the best lodge and the best attractions, Food was great Staff very helpful and really looked after you as hospitality should be.The lodge is large but under the one roof it was really nice.

Room Tip: downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerbairnsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

What can I say? The hotel is across the street from the airport so it is convenient. It is on the river so it moderately gives you a bit of an Alaskan feel. The rooms are very average at best. The bathrooms are dated - has the 1980's feel of an Econo lodge. It is less than I would have expected given the price.

Room Tip: ask for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongBeachBoludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Looked new from the outside. This lodge is least “Alaskan” of the 4 Princess lodges we stayed at. It is bright and cheery on the inside. The room was simple but clean. Larger, much larger than the Denali PL. New carpet, old and low light lamps. No overhead light in the main area of the room. Fairly small window, but did open up to a green area. At 10:30pm heard a helicopter land. Then a few minutes later a small plane taking off. But the window was open. When we closed the window it was quieter from the airport noises. But at 6am heard a jet engine taking off.

We didn’t hang around the hotel much. The sitting area was in front, by the parking lot and bus drop off area.

But after reading some of the reviews we expected a dirty motel on the side of the road, and it wasn't. It wasn't as scenic as other Princess lodges, but was ok for Fairbanks, our last stop on our tour. I would not have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloriasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent one night at the Princess Lodge at the end of our cruise/land tour. The hotel is very modern, clean and well laid out. The room was spacious and had all the amenities. Buffet breakfast was available for $15.99 and was filling. There is a shuttle into town available for $5 round trip. Since our plane didn't leave until late in the evening, the hotel desk stored our luggage for us, and allowed us to use the fitness center to change after our day on the golf course. We had a farewell beer and snacks on the spacious deck overlooking the river before departing. Our experience with Princess Cruises was excellent; it was extremely well organized, and all staff was very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Everything about our stay at the lodge was absolutely wonderful. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, people went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. A home-like atmosphere greeted us when we first walked into the lobby. It was so peaceful to sit on the deck by the river.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nani1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,235 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: £67 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing