We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and nice location. Hotel needs renovations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and nice location. Hotel needs renovations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was the start of our CruiseTour with Princess. Since we did not have a car, it was convenient.
For the most part, the staff was pleasant and helpful.
This hotel needs lots of repairs, some small but annoying. Even though it was September, the hotel should keep up with routine maintenance. For $199 per night, I expect better.
Does not include breakfast which is limited to a choice of 2 buffets; continental or hot items. Overpriced for the selection and atmosphere. Restaurant, more like a bar, has a very limited menu, is expensive and the food is average.
Without a car, we were somewhat captive. One day we paid $5 each to take the shuttle so we could eat at a restaurant in town. Another evening we walked to a nearby restaurant. And one day we took the shuttle to the airport and ate there.
The tour desk left a lot to be desired. One of our excursions was cancelled. They left us all sitting in the lobby. We found out a half-hour later because one of us waited at the tour desk to find out what happened. Since it was the middle of the day, that day was pretty much shot.
The setting on the river is beautiful. The park area is also nice. We didn't get to spend much time out there because there was some drizzle and rain during our stay; it didn't dry out enough to enjoy going further into the wooded areas around the lodge.
The rooms were small so people hung out in the lobby. The lobby was also where people gathered to leave for tours. It was almost impossible to find a seat.
The day we left was terrible. Our luggage had been picked up and we all needed to check out but had to wait 2 hours for our transportation. That should have been better coordinated. People were everywhere waiting.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    174
    141
    55
    10
See reviews for
103
239
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Well we were on the Cruisetour with Princess and stayed here for two nights. I found it very small and closed in. The lobby was always full and you could not find a seat anywhere. We ate in the Tracker Bar and Grill it was ok, serves was good. With all the excusions leaving at the same time in the am, it was hard to get breakfast. The Edgewater Dining room only had a buffet until 10:00 for like $14.95 a person. So we would go to the gift shop where they had muffins, yogart, fruit, coffees and teas. Sometimes you just don't need a big breakfast. But everywhere was crowded in the am. I also thought it was not the cleanest lodge. We also had dinner next store at the Pikes Landing. It was close enough to walk to and the food was good, a little pricey but everything is in AK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Only minutes from the airport and on the banks of the Chena river. You will need transport to go into town. The tour desk has a good selection of tours to suit everybodys taste and they are very helpfull. There are some lovely walks round the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This lodge run by Princess Cruises is located right on the river with beautiful views and only a 5-10 minute drive from the airport. Rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. The property is not large. We did not eat at the restaurants at this property - one was basically a bar and the other looked much like a cafeteria. We chose instead to walk a half mile each evening to two nearby restaurants that were excellent. The gift shop had a small coffee bar where you could purchase coffee and pastries in the morning. There was a large deck overlooking the river where you could sit and relax. Call the front desk and put your name on the list to be called to view the aurora borealis. We got a call at 2 AM and it was pretty spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoekahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is situated on a lovely river with beautiful surroundings. The lobby is very nice and rustic with a big fireplace. The housekeeping could be better. The three days we were there the hallway was not cleaned. The same bits of paper and trash stayed there.
The deck overlooking the river had empty glasses scattered around for two days.
The sheer drapes in our room looked like blood was spattered on them. EEWWWWWW!
We did get a wake up call for the northern lights and they were amazing!
I am just surprised that Princess does not have the same standard of cleanliness in the hotel as on the ship.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundancer93003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We'd been here over-night, 4 years ago, as part of the Princess Cruise-tour, and found it comfortable. So, this time, after the cruise, we came here on our own for 5 days, specifically to catch the Aurora. It's still comfortable, and certainly inexpensive, room-rate wise. But the food is pretty steep. Their continental breakfast, the same breakfast that is free at most hotels, is $12. Want crab? $52. There's a great market nearby, so we stocked up on breakfast/lunch goodies for the duration. But, all in all, even though it's the end of the season, and though the hotel is practically empty, the staff has been friendly, the room adequate, and the view of the river, and the gently falling snow - spectacular.

Room Tip: Request a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueHibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The lodge over all was very nice. Price of the rooms are a lot le$$ if booked directly and not with Princess Cruise/Tour Pkg. Don't expect a wake-up call if the Aurora Borialis shows, check on line to see if or when and set your own alarm.

Room Tip: Special request was not honored.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing