We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Question?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Question?”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Why is that when negative reviews are submitted about this hotel and its restaurants, that they are never published?
We were there in July this year and found this hotel lacking of the tradition of a regular Princess Hotel and its restaurants.
Two submissions have been made since then, and they have never appeared in the review section.
It leads to wonder whether these reviews are selectivlely chosen prior to publication.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paiellocm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    174
    141
    55
    10
See reviews for
103
239
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at the lodge, to begin our Alaska Cruisetour. The lodge (really just a hotel) was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Just what we expected and wanted. We did not experience any of the problems reported on here in the past. The restaurant and lounge was typical of a hotel and was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanman628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade
Level Contributor
284 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

After staying at the other two Princess cabin hotels on the land tour part of our cruise, we found this a let down. Just a plain hotel, ordinary, glad it was the last day of the cruise and not the first. Not impressed with the food, seemed short of staff maybe the time of the year. But it was ok for the last day of our holiday, before we flew to Seattle. We had time to put winter clothes way in one suitcase, as we were going on to California. Transfer to the airport was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiegirl1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was the start of our CruiseTour with Princess. Since we did not have a car, it was convenient.
For the most part, the staff was pleasant and helpful.
This hotel needs lots of repairs, some small but annoying. Even though it was September, the hotel should keep up with routine maintenance. For $199 per night, I expect better.
Does not include breakfast which is limited to a choice of 2 buffets; continental or hot items. Overpriced for the selection and atmosphere. Restaurant, more like a bar, has a very limited menu, is expensive and the food is average.
Without a car, we were somewhat captive. One day we paid $5 each to take the shuttle so we could eat at a restaurant in town. Another evening we walked to a nearby restaurant. And one day we took the shuttle to the airport and ate there.
The tour desk left a lot to be desired. One of our excursions was cancelled. They left us all sitting in the lobby. We found out a half-hour later because one of us waited at the tour desk to find out what happened. Since it was the middle of the day, that day was pretty much shot.
The setting on the river is beautiful. The park area is also nice. We didn't get to spend much time out there because there was some drizzle and rain during our stay; it didn't dry out enough to enjoy going further into the wooded areas around the lodge.
The rooms were small so people hung out in the lobby. The lobby was also where people gathered to leave for tours. It was almost impossible to find a seat.
The day we left was terrible. Our luggage had been picked up and we all needed to check out but had to wait 2 hours for our transportation. That should have been better coordinated. People were everywhere waiting.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Elkton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Well we were on the Cruisetour with Princess and stayed here for two nights. I found it very small and closed in. The lobby was always full and you could not find a seat anywhere. We ate in the Tracker Bar and Grill it was ok, serves was good. With all the excusions leaving at the same time in the am, it was hard to get breakfast. The Edgewater Dining room only had a buffet until 10:00 for like $14.95 a person. So we would go to the gift shop where they had muffins, yogart, fruit, coffees and teas. Sometimes you just don't need a big breakfast. But everywhere was crowded in the am. I also thought it was not the cleanest lodge. We also had dinner next store at the Pikes Landing. It was close enough to walk to and the food was good, a little pricey but everything is in AK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Only minutes from the airport and on the banks of the Chena river. You will need transport to go into town. The tour desk has a good selection of tours to suit everybodys taste and they are very helpfull. There are some lovely walks round the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This lodge run by Princess Cruises is located right on the river with beautiful views and only a 5-10 minute drive from the airport. Rooms were beautifully decorated and spacious. The property is not large. We did not eat at the restaurants at this property - one was basically a bar and the other looked much like a cafeteria. We chose instead to walk a half mile each evening to two nearby restaurants that were excellent. The gift shop had a small coffee bar where you could purchase coffee and pastries in the morning. There was a large deck overlooking the river where you could sit and relax. Call the front desk and put your name on the list to be called to view the aurora borealis. We got a call at 2 AM and it was pretty spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoekahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
354 reviews
4.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing