We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern facility; but bad restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
South Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Modern facility; but bad restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this lodge as part of a Princess Cruise Tour. We arrived here after staying in 3 other lodges in much prettier parts of Alaska; so the surrounding just weren't that pretty in comparison to the other places. If we had started in Fairbanks, we would have been more impressed with it. The room was a size modern and clean room with a comfortable bed. The only negative to the room was that it was at the end of a very long hallway. The layout of the hotel is such that it is not easy to find your way around and it can be quite confusing. We only ate one breakfast there, since it was not good. My wife's pancakes were cold as was my oatmeal. Our friends ate dinner there one night and said it was terrible.

ON the plus side, we were able to do the airport check-in and check our luggage right at the hotel, so we were able to tour the Fairbanks area all day and not worry about our luggage. A real plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MVPinBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    174
    141
    55
    10
See reviews for
103
239
17
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. Nice rooms. Just ordinary. Could use more easily accessible outlets. Clean. Nice front desk person (Jack) who gave good advice. Very friendly. Close to airport. We went in town on shuttle. Should have stayed at hotel to enjoyed the river. Sketchy downtown. Drunks and addicts on street. Almost hit by drugged drivers who caused a bad power outage by hitting pole. Breakfast buffet was good but pricey.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Seems we were not alone in thinking this was the best of our 3 Princess lodge stops in Alaska. We had 2 nights here before heading home. Room was comfortable and relatively clean. We ate on the decking area both evenings and really enjoyed the food. Service was a little slow as it was very busy and staff were new (early season visit) but sitting in the sun, taking in the beautiful setting and chatting with new friends passed the time perfectly. The lobby area was pleasant although we didn't spend much time there; the walk in the grounds could have done to be longer.
Overall, a pleasant end to our 3 week visit to Canada and Alaska.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newlyretired644363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in a river cottage 2 nights and found it to be great for our needs. The room was very clean and staff were very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay! The restaurant next door was very handy and had the best clam chowder!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 759DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltspring Is.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The food in the restaurants was good, and there were at least 3 places to eat as a group or individually, the bedrooms were comfortable, the WiFi worked in our room. No complaints. A gift shop with a few snacks was on the premises and a large fireplace was situated in the front lobby. There were comfy sofas and chairs scattered around the lobby area. A nice start to a very nice Princess holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

When we got off the plane we headed to the baggage claim and saw a desk that said "Princess" and as the luggage had not started to come down we went to the desk. The girls asked our name and said "I just knew it was you" and handed us an envelope with our room keys, luggage tags etc. She was so delightful.
We got our luggage were escorted out to a waiting Princess bus and whisked off the the hotel. It was strange because it was around midnight and still full daylight!!
At the hotel we headed to our room first passing through a very nice lobby with comfy seating and lots of it.
Our room was very clean and though not elaborate it was very comfortable and inviting. The daylight thing was a bit of a challenge but they had very dark drapes that took care of the problem.
Unfortunately the air was not working and it was pretty hot in the room for the rest of the stay but we did not really have time to report it as we were always flitting off somewhere.
We did tell them the morning we were leaving and they were really sorry and said had we mentioned it sooner could have taken care of it. We said it was our fault.
I have not idea if you can stay at this Lodge if you are not on a Princess cruise but if I could I would. We did eat on meal there which was fine but a little expensive for what we got but then its Alaska. We got muffins and coffee for breakfast from little cafe.
All in all we were very pleased. The staff were very polite and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetD710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the end of our Alaska vacation. This is the most hotel like of the Princess lodges. The rooms were fine, although I thought the pillows left something to be desired. I liked the trails around the property. We had pretty rough service in the restaurant. I wish all the lodges could be like Kenai Princess!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Abakinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing