We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a bit disappointing, overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first stop (for 2 nights) on our 7 day Alaska land tour. This lodge is an acquisition and conversion of a competitive lodge. The exterior and the interior don't have a lot of "character", and are somewhat austere in appearance. It is located right on the banks of the Chena river, so the outside view is great. Staff was pleasant and polite (excepting in the Riverview Deck). Buffet breakfasts were very good. Our room was on the lower level, which was below ground level, but had windows at ground level overlooking the river. The room was a bit small (reminded us of a Super 8), and somewhat dark. Cleaniness of the bathroom was questionable, with body hair on the floor next to the tub, and poorly cleaned counter surfaces on the vanity. The side trips arranged out of this location were excellent; a river cruise down the Chena river, and gold panning at "Dredge 8". Both were were extremely well done, and lots of fun for everyone. We made the unfortunate mistake of dining one evening on the Riverview Deck. We had a disinterested male server (who never came back to check on the meal until we were finished and had pushed back our plates). The entree was the worst of our 7 day trip; unimaginative, poorly prepared, and nearly cold when we got it. The bottle of white wine that we ordered was nearly room temperature when delivered. It actually cooled down a bit when placed in the chiller on the table. Our waiter seemed more focused on what was going on with the bar personnel than he was with his customers. The bartender seemed to think that he was primarily there to clown around and amuse himself and the help. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "river side" offer a much better view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank XScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was our first stop on the land portion of our Princess Land/Sea trip. The room was small, but clean with a comfortable bed. Staff members were polite and efficient. My only concern was the daylight that lit our room all night. Since many parts of Alaska experience 22 hours of sunlight during the summer months, I mistakenly expected room darkening window treatments that actually fit the window.

The lodge is five minutes from the airport and we arrived late at night so our dinning options were limited to pub food, which was expensive for what we received. We had an early start the next day so we grabbed a quick sandwich and coffee in the gift shop and we were whisked away to an enjoyable riverboat tour and then on to the second lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7traveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arrived to find that the heater / ac unit was broken - they must have known! Eventually given another room but the whole process took far too long. Dinner was so/so but my wife's meal was too not hot enough and had to be sent back - no excuse for serving warm food. Breakfast the next day was very good and reasonable value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BernardT492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Nothing fancy but no problems either. We would definitely go back! Food was expensive! Location was not great but since we were on a tour transportation was provided for us. Our room was on the 2nd floor front part of lodge so very convenient to everything. Friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mimiof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were provided a nice rustic room for our honeymoon we believe, but the other couples in our group had average rooms. It had a nice dining room with a great breakfast buffet as well as a restaurant on the back deck overlooking the river. Not much is around there, but it's a nice place to base yourself for excursions. Very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at a cabin, not first row by the river, but just behind. The room and bath were very clean, and comfortable. Front desk clercs friendly and helpful regarding local information.
We spend the 4th of July week end here, with great weather, so enjoyed the out doors and terrace dining. It is very reasonably priced also. Would definitly recommend it.

Room Tip: River front are the nicest.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ama1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this lodge as part of a Princess Cruise Tour. We arrived here after staying in 3 other lodges in much prettier parts of Alaska; so the surrounding just weren't that pretty in comparison to the other places. If we had started in Fairbanks, we would have been more impressed with it. The room was a size modern and clean room with a comfortable bed. The only negative to the room was that it was at the end of a very long hallway. The layout of the hotel is such that it is not easy to find your way around and it can be quite confusing. We only ate one breakfast there, since it was not good. My wife's pancakes were cold as was my oatmeal. Our friends ate dinner there one night and said it was terrible.

ON the plus side, we were able to do the airport check-in and check our luggage right at the hotel, so we were able to tour the Fairbanks area all day and not worry about our luggage. A real plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MVPinBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
393 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £74 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing