We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Traveling on Princess Cruise. This hotel appears attractive and has a number of amenities (good laundry facilities, nice lobby with a good choice of seating, tables, nice gift shop, choices of 3 restaurant areas)
We had the misfortune to be placed in a room where the A/C had broken @ they had placed a portable unit in the room, vented to the outside Via a tube & plexiglass window!! We spent 1 night in this room, very noisy, uncomfortable as it was inadequate to cool the room. You could not open the window as it had been sealed....unbelievable that they would try to keep this room in service! Upon checking with the front desk, the first woman was very reluctant to do anything about this, indicating she didn't feel it was a problem. Her comment "open the window"!! (Which we couldn't do even if we wanted to since it was sealed). A manager stepped in and gave us another room. Obviously this situation got us off to a bad start.
We found the rooms to be adequate but not very clean. We recently stayed at a Super 8 which was immaculate, so paying the price we did for this room was disappointing to say the least!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    201
    154
    56
    11
See reviews for
111
271
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed a few nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The room was large and had nice immenities. As we experienced with all Princess hotels in Alaska most of the staff were friendly and helpful.We began the land portion of a cruise tour here and came out a few days early to explore on our own. Fairbanks is an interesting - very walkable town. The hotel has a shuttle to town every half hour or so which is really helpful as taxis are not prevalent. The staff at the tour desk are very knowledgable and offer great advice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie007allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our first stop on the tour. Found it very clean and the staff were friendly. Stayed in July of this year. There was no air conditioning but we didn't need it. We ate at 2 different venues and had no problem with the food. We booked everything through Princess so had no problem with transportation or luggage. Entire trip was very well organized.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the river and at night we heard the motor boats going up and down the river. Did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Recently ate at restaurant. service was HORRENDOUS, Staff seemed disorganized and not exceptionally friendly!! The rooms nice but not worth the price!! Conference rooms status quo. Food very good but again overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. We were on a Princess excursion so did not spend a lot of time at the hotel. Buses seemed fairly organized as many people were on a variety of excursion. One day it rained and they had everyone load on the buses under the covered portico rather than out in the regular bus zone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LStrassner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Riverside Lodge three nights in July. Nice place, clean lobby, clean room. The restaurant has riverside outside seating which was nice as the sun doesn't really set here in the summer however the mosquitos don't rest either! Bring bug spray:) We were on a land tour for two of these days with Princess. We had a gathering in the room above the lobby. Our steaks were RAW and no one seemed concerned to correct the issue:( Transportation was convenient if you booked through Princess. You could take a nice walk around the property on the path. If this is your first stop on the land tour, buy a jacket in the gift shop if they are cheap...worth it. They have these jackets at every lodge I believe however you will need it. It can be quite chilly one minute and warm the next. NO AC in this hotel but it wasn't needed. We kept the window open the whole time we were there and it was comfortable. My children said there was wifi however it was only really available in the lobby area. This was the least impressive of the Princess Lodges we stayed at on our 7 day land tour.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. It was neat watching the boats go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first stop (for 2 nights) on our 7 day Alaska land tour. This lodge is an acquisition and conversion of a competitive lodge. The exterior and the interior don't have a lot of "character", and are somewhat austere in appearance. It is located right on the banks of the Chena river, so the outside view is great. Staff was pleasant and polite (excepting in the Riverview Deck). Buffet breakfasts were very good. Our room was on the lower level, which was below ground level, but had windows at ground level overlooking the river. The room was a bit small (reminded us of a Super 8), and somewhat dark. Cleaniness of the bathroom was questionable, with body hair on the floor next to the tub, and poorly cleaned counter surfaces on the vanity. The side trips arranged out of this location were excellent; a river cruise down the Chena river, and gold panning at "Dredge 8". Both were were extremely well done, and lots of fun for everyone. We made the unfortunate mistake of dining one evening on the Riverview Deck. We had a disinterested male server (who never came back to check on the meal until we were finished and had pushed back our plates). The entree was the worst of our 7 day trip; unimaginative, poorly prepared, and nearly cold when we got it. The bottle of white wine that we ordered was nearly room temperature when delivered. It actually cooled down a bit when placed in the chiller on the table. Our waiter seemed more focused on what was going on with the bar personnel than he was with his customers. The bartender seemed to think that he was primarily there to clown around and amuse himself and the help. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "river side" offer a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XScotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#12 of 23 in Fairbanks
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Property: Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4619
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing