We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff~ Comfortable rooms~ airport shuttle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sophie Station Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I have stayed here several times this winter for business and personal... It is a wonderful Hotel!
They are fairly close to the airport and within walking distance of Safeway and Fred Meyer. If you don't have to go downtown for anything, this is the place to stay! (In the summer they run a free shuttle downtown and back, so that is something important to know as well.)
The staff is outstanding! Everyone is helpful and friendly.
The rooms are spacious and I appreciate a kitchen as opposed to "More restaurant food" sometimes. But, the restaurant within the hotel has been very good each time I have eaten there. There are other food options close by.
There are complimentary hot drinks in the lobby~
Parking is free and the lots are quickly cleared of winter snow.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerminationDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

I've been there before and always a very pleasant stay. Not every place is nice when its 40 below, but I reminded time again that service and comfort can't be beat when staying with the great folks at Shopies in Fairbanks!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennallenBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

As a local Fairbanksan, I always recommend Sophie's to our business travelers. Clean, comfortable and spacious accommodations with a friendly staff make a stay at Sophie's very pleasant. The recent addition of 'chain' hotels is just a reminder that Sophie's is a jewel in Fairbanks. Guests and locals create a friendly blend of patrons in the bar and restaurant, which both serve a variety of delicious and unique dishes. The waitstaff and bartenders are friendly and helpful as well as knowledgeable about Fairbanks making conversation interesting and easy. AND... don't forget to check out the Auto Museum! Even those people that are not car enthusiasts will completely enjoy the museum. Beautiful period cars and clothing that you will not find anywhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RanchodelNorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We hosted a class group for an intensive week of study at the university, with accommodation at Sophie Station. I heard compliments all week about the peace and quiet, comfortable, spacious rooms, great fitness center, and helpful, courteous and professional staff. It was truly a pleasure working with Sophie Station Hotel as they provided an outstanding environment for students to get their homework done in peace, and have a relaxing night's sleep. A cozy place to stay warm when it was -20 outside! Thank you, Sophie Station - we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssm99708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Try the bar. Great place to visit with the bartender and enjoy a tasty dinner and a few cocktails. The bartender treated me like an old friend. Great place to go if you are away from home.
Room was clean and the mini kitchen was great for my Stouffer Weight watcher dinner warm-up when not eating in the lounge I might add.
Don't remember the blond women behind the reception desk in the morning but she should get a prize for always saying good morning with a smile and wishing you a great day. That itself makes it all!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

From TripAdvisor comments we thought Sophie Station sounded right for our two nights in Fairbanks. And it was an excellent choice: welcoming and comfortable, with the unexpected bonus of its beautiful flower gardens. The suite, with two rooms and a full kitchen, offered far more than we needed for a short stay. It was a little dated in terms of furnishings and décor but it was clean, had good beds, an en suite bathroom, plenty of space and a balcony overlooking lawns and trees. We ate at the hotel on both nights, not in the restaurant but in the Express Room bar where there was a lively mix of guests and local people, simple but tasty food, and friendly staff. Breakfast, served in the restaurant, provided a rather limited choice and was certainly not a high point.
The hotel is outside the downtown area but, as well as providing a shuttle to/from airport and train station, it offers a free trolley service to various downtown and other locations – like a hop-on hop-off tour bus. Overall a very pleasant experience and we’d give this hotel a high recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed here over 10 different times this summer & they are wonderful. The staff is so accommodating, which can be tough to find in Fairbanks. Our rooms are always ready EARLY & thoroughly cleaned. I have stayed at Pikes & always have a problem at check-in, either a dirty or occupied room. Sophie's room are very spacious & love the kitchen and walking distance to 2 groceries store that make it easy to eat healthy on the road. But don't miss Zac's, their restaurant for dinner - everything I have tried is delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dewilltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Address: 1717 University Ave S, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £68 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sophie Station Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with a separate bedroom and private balcony. Beautifully landscaped with flower gardens surrounding the hotel facade. Luggage handlers and elevators available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelClick and HotelsClick so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing