We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to see Musk Oxen!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Large Animal Research Station

Large Animal Research Station
Ranked #29 of 95 things to do in Fairbanks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thousands of visitors each year get a chance to see muskoxen, caribou and domestic reindeer on summer tours of this 134-acre site set up for nutritional, behavioral and physiological study by the University of Alaska.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to see Musk Oxen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Even though these awesome animals were behind two sets of chain link fence, it was amazing to see them (less than100 feet away from us). They are free to roam a large natural area, but the fence protects them from predators. We got wondeful pix of them!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomkbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    23
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cool Musk oxen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

It is informative, and great, something you won't normally see - is lots of fun, do put on your list of stops while in Fairbanks

Helpful?
Thank Sewonforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Not hard to find, especially if you get the map of Fairbanks from the tourist bureau. We were lucky enough to see the muskoxen and caribou rather closely.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank drawknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“interesting but check times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We could see the animals thru the fence, but tour times were very limited and we couldn't do more than try to take photos thru breaks in the fences. Would have been better to have gone inside and spoken to someone about what we were seeing

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank octobersky1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun place for family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We loved it because we got to see Musk Ox and other large Tundra mammals at close range.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Large Animal Research Station also viewed

 

Been to Large Animal Research Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing