We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little coffee shop”

Sam's Sourdough Cafe
Ranked #3 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Fairbanks
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Orange County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little coffee shop”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This place is perfect for breakfast. I tried reindeer sausage and sourdough pancakes for the first time. Pretty good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enviroguy93063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    77
    47
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff were perhaps not the most friendly we have ever encountered but they were efficient and helpful in their way and served excellent quality basic American food. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnfaeHuntly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“When you want a home cooked meal.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After eating high priced foods for 2 weeks, I was just wanting something normal. Sam's provided a great distraction from everything I have had in the past. I had a simple corned beef hash and eggs and was very happy with the flavor. All of the members in our party were able to eat well and most everyone was full before our plates were empty. Alaska is on the expensive side, but I would consider this a great value for what we had on the other parts of our trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Sam's offers the best breakfast in town, all day long. In addition, meals other than breakfast are tasty and prompt. The place is clean and filled with friendly people, including the crew who constantly patrol the tables with coffeepots in hand and a ready greeting. This is not a fancy restaurant. Sam's serves home-style food in a relaxed, casual, and comfortable environment.

This morning, it was time again to let someone else do the cooking and cleanup for us. We went to Sam's. I had coffee and two huge sourdough pancakes (~$5). The fairest of the fair, seated across from me, devoured the poached special with English muffin substituted for toast (~$10). Patty appeared magically beside the table whenever our cups hinted at being low. Empty plates were cleared quickly and we lingered over coffee and watched a group of BMW motorcycle riders, obviously on tour, prepare for their next leg.

Breakfasts are not fancy; they are well prepared basic breakfasts, served in quantity. Omelets are generally more than we can eat at one sitting. We take home leftovers, but not today. We ate the whole thing. The sourdough, in particular, is particularly good, with its own unique flavor from years of maturing.

Sam's is a long time fixture in Fairbanks. It is one of the few restaurants that could come back after a devastating fire a few years ago, and come back even better. Back then, some brave soul dashed back inside to rescue the sourdough pot from the flames. We all waited for the reopening. Even the waitstaff waited it out and many familiar faces were present at the reopening. Some are still with Sam's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
813 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
“Friendly Cafe”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stopped for breakfast. Food came out as ordered, friendly waitress, food was good and filling. Not outstanding but hot and tasty. Prices in line with the servings for Fairbanks. Varied menu and non-smoking so two positives for us. Would have come again to try lunch if we were not leaving the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Sourdough Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Sourdough Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing