We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away with restaurant.”
Review of Lavelle's Bistro

Lavelle's Bistro
Ranked #6 of 241 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the ground floor of Mariott Springhill Suites, Lavelle’s is a unique fine dining restaurant in Fairbanks serving delicious food and an astounding selection of fine wine in a warm, refined atmosphere. In a place where casual restaurants dominate the culinary landscape, Lavelle’s offers a much-needed touch of elegance. Perfect for a romantic date or a fun night out with friends, Lavelle’s provides a sophisticated backdrop for any occasion.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Blown away with restaurant.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place is fantastic! We were in Fairbanks overnight and wanted a nice meal. We gotmore than a nice meal. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Drinks and wine were perfect. We ordered off the daily special menu. Both entrees were perfect. Service was also very good. The only bad thing was that we probably won't ever be in Fairbanks again to enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jsgelardi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your five-star experience with others! It's gratifying to know that you were "blown away" by our food and service -- that means a lot to us. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon but until then, take care.

Best regards,

Kathy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    198
    60
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise In Fairbanks”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We enjoyed a very casual meal at the bar in Lavelle's, I'm not sure how there could be a better rated restaurant in Fairbanks. The service was great, the food was awesome, and we enjoyed watching most of it being prepared right next to us in the open kitchen. When I asked our bar tender for a fish recommendation for dinner, he was quick to point out that the halibut was very fresh and he would highly recommend it. Done and Done - it was terrific. Dinner was a trifecta; very friendly staff, nice atmosphere and great food. As a bonus, we struck a conversation with a "local" sitting next to us that gave us great recommendations on things to do and see in Fairbanks, it added a nice touch to our trip around Alaska. We stayed overnight in the Springhill Suites and was surprised to see such a high quality restaurant attached to it, don't let the location fool you, it's worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timmy178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Happy to see you enjoyed your visit here! Awesome food, great service, nice atmosphere -- it's gratifying to hear we could provide the perfect dinner "trifecta." Thank you so much for sharing this with us and come back again soon.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food & service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

From the drinks and fresh bread through the dessert we couldn't even order because we were so pleasantly stuffed...awesome experience! Servers were very attentive and friendly. The meal was prepared exactly as requested. A seriously tasty filet mignon! We'll be back, as we always are when we go to Fairbanks!

Helpful?
Thank Inbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Consistency is important in our book, so it's great to see that you're always impressed with the food and service alike. Thanks for sharing! It means a lot to us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing Better in Fairbanks”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lavelle's is fine dining with an upscale, urban atmosphere. They have an interesting menu, uniquely seasoned dishes, and an excellent selection of fine wine and beer. Its the best restaurant in Fairbanks, hands down.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VKNance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Flattered you think we're the best restaurant in town! Thanks so much for sharing this with others -- it means a lot to us. Hopefully we'll get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal and delightful atmosphere!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very smart to call for a reservation with this place...especially on the weekends. It is always full for special holidays...PLAN AHEAD! I absolutely LOVE the Ahi appetizer!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank E, Kathy, Owner at Lavelle's Bistro, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Happy to see you loved the Ahi, Colleen. Also, good call encouraging others to make a reservation -- that's a good tip for newcomers! Thanks so much for the great review and come back soon.

Take care,

Kathy, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavelle's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lavelle's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing