We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good Anymore”

College Town Pizzeria
Ranked #68 of 243 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not Good Anymore”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We used to love the pizzas but since the restaurant changed owners it's nothing special and we don't go there any more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    13
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, AK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Trip home with pizza in back”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

These folks make pizza I like. It isn't a large place, but is packed with good food, well made, with plenty of variety and the freedom to choose what you want done with it. My favorite is called Finlandia, just one of many pre-designed combinations. I order it "double cut", which means more slices, narrower than the usual. That keeps less pizza on the shirt and pizza into the mouth. A jumbo fees two of us with leftovers, even after a 10 mile ride home in a car full of mouth watering fragrances. There are side dishes, gelato, and calzone, but I'm pretty well stuck on the pizza.

It's pretty much a local Fairbanks place. Not fancy, popular with locals, comfortable and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Boston Pizza”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Very good pizza. Small place, maybe 40 seats in all, but super friendly service. Had a med size pizza ask for additional sauce and more cheese and got exactly what I ordered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pizza and selections”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was above average pizza and the fact that they served gelato, with lots of unique flavors made it that much better. Good meal.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cybeamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Now just a ripoff.”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I used to love the pizzas under the old management. Thicker crust, generous toppings, think Papa Johns.

Now under new owners the pizza is more like a NY style pizza with thin crust and toppings that barely cover the crust. The crust was so dry and toppings so sparse you needed sauce to finish it.

I tolerated the $26 price for a large cause the pizza was good and IT IS Alaska. But the pizza has lightened up considerably with the new ownership, and now it's just a ripoff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adoannie614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed College Town Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to College Town Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing