We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grizzly Lodge Fairbanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B
Ranked #10 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grizzly Lodge Fairbanks”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Although the place is older, it is neat and nice. Once again we had the entire inn to ourselves and no complaints from the owner or her other 2 permanent renters even with the all the noise from our large party of 14. We had not signed up for breakfast, yet we had a nice spread each day with special attention to the vegetarian requirements of our party. Anita is very friendly and nice and provided some great tips for local sight seeing and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janii_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. Anita is a marvelous host. She cooks a wonderful breakfast each morning. Our room was large and comfy. Felt free to come and go. We had trouble with our truck. Anita went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of, even running my husband places to get parts.
Great place, great hostess, great food.
I definitely would recommend to all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights in March. It was an excellent place to wait for and see the aurora! We were able to see the aurora for all 4 nights from the balcony which was facing north. It was much better to wait inside on the balcony! We had to wait outside and stand on the ice for 1 night as the shooting places on the balcony were fully occupied - it was much colder to stand outside on the ice! Highly recommended if you want to wait for the aurora. The room was clean too. The only downside was the water - there was a rusty/sulphorous smell which was the same smell as the hotspring water in Chena hotspring. We were told it was due to the minerals. Think it was a tradeoff for seeing aurora easily by staying outside city center. We would definitely choose the same if we went there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLittleCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pingtung County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is my first time to united States. I am happy to live in Alaska Grizzly Lodge. It is a great place. We were lucky to see the Aurora there, and we needn't drive to wild. We could see the Aurora through the windows. It was dancing in the sky. Anita was kind to everyone,and prepare delicious breakfast everyday. Although the water have a particular smell, just like the hot spring water, but it is a great place,I recommend it to you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyHsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We traveled here in early March with 2 couples. We shared a room with 2 queen beds on the second floor. We had our own bathroom and a shared balcony that we could access directly from our room. We were able to see the aurora right from our balcony! Our room was about $160 a night (including taxes and whatnot) which is a fairly competitive price. We're really glad we chose to stay here and not Chena Hot Springs which is a 1.5 hour drive out of town.

Some things I want to mention that I haven't seen in other reviews:
There is a walking trail (accessible only in the winter) that takes you to the Alaskan oil pipeline, which is an easy hour-round-trip walk for some cool photos.
The lodge is setup so that you don't interfere with the host's private living areas at all.
There is a guest kitchen with a full fridge, stove, oven and pots and pans etc for guests to use. They also have extra winter gear for people to borrow if you didn't bring enough (but you should still plan on bringing your own).
There are 2 very chill, very friendly dogs that also live here - they left you alone if you don't acknowledge them, but were happy to get attention if you wanted to give it to them.
Parking was easy even in the snow, and they had plugs for the cars' engine block heaters, but it was warm enough when we were there that we didn't need them.

One and only downside: I doubt that they're the only place in the area that has this problem, but the water that came out of the taps had a little bit of a sulfurous smell to it. I think this is because the water is coming from the same spring that the hot springs comes from. We were told it was fine to drink if we REALLY wanted to, but tasted funny - they had plenty of non-smelly water to drink instead tho.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Anita, who I found out may be a distant Swedish relative, provides a rustic, comfortable stay. Fantastic breakfast, and started early enough so I could get away to the Arctic Ocean that morning. Room was great, Satellite TV and WiFi for those of us who find it important. And good Swedish pastries with breakfast like my grandmother made. Best place I stayed on my trip to Alaska.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moody, AL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Grizzly Lodge in early September. Anita, the hostess is a super nice person and cooks a very good Alaskan breakfast. Location is very good and about 15 minutes from downtown Fairbanks. The rental price was great for such a nice place. Thanks Anita!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
11.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,098 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
367 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mount Aurora Lodge
Mount Aurora Lodge
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
94 reviews
7.5 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#1 of 40 in Fairbanks
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B

Property: Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B
Address: 1470 Westmoreland Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99712-2822
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Grizzly Lodge B&B Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing