We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget and Brilliant”
Review of 9th Ave Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
9th Ave Hostel
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I was rather new to the hostel type of accommodation but found it delightful. The place is squeaky clean and Cho is a great host, helpful and friendly. I met many interesting travelers passing through during the week I stayed there. The price is right, the location is convenient and I would definitely stay there again if I return to Fairbanks at some future date. The back yard is a serene little oasis to R&R after a day of sight seeing, too.

Room Tip: There are only two dorm style rooms and if you are lucky you may get a bottom bunk but it was awesom...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for 9th Ave Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The owner was very helpful and friendly. The rate was cheap. The location was good, close to downtown and the airport. The place was clean and cozy. This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskaisamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here 3 nights, 2 of them in my tent in the backyard. The place is clean and comfortable. Is close to the airport and city. So a perfekt place to stay. I'll definitely come back in a few weeks!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tobiaufreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was probably the most comfortable hostel I've ever stayed in. The beds were really comfortable, the towels provided were good quality ones, the place is very clean. The common area had a really cosy feel. Cho, the owner, was one of the friendliest host I've ever met.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yij47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a really nice place to stay, good location, clean and tidy, tea and coffee in the kitchen. All you would want. There was a good garage to work on the bicycles and a great host who could not be more helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is the best hostel I've ever stayed. The owner Cho helped me a lot. The hostel is clean and the location is great. I will definitely stay in this hostel again if I ever go back to Fairbanks. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ximeng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Thks is my first time staying at a hostel, I can't imagine they are all this clean and friendly. 9th ave is more on the B&B side but at an incredible price. Close to downtown and on a bus route. Thanks Cho!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnwgpaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#11 of 23 in Fairbanks
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#14 of 23 in Fairbanks
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
3.4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,206 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9th Ave Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9th Ave Hostel

Address: 905 9th Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4302
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range: £22 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — 9th Ave Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top rated hostels in Fairbanks! Located only few blocks from heart of downtown Fairbanks, 9th Ave Hostel provides a perfect base for sightseeing and adventure. Meet new people from all over the world, explore great nature and enjoy Fairbanks from convenient location. Friendly and experienced staff will help you to have the best experience in Fairbanks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your 9th Ave Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
9th Ave Hostel Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing