We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See huge numbers of Sandhill Cranes.”

Creamer's Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge
Ranked #9 of 95 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Creamer's Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge is a 2,000 acre refuge on the site of the historic Creamer's Dairy in Fairbanks, Alaska. The refuge has miles of multi-use trails that are open year round and it is an excellent location for bird watching and wildlife viewing. The Farmhouse Visitor Center is open daily in the summer from 10 - 5 and on Saturdays in the winter from Noon - 4.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“See huge numbers of Sandhill Cranes.”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

What a wonderful place to see huge numbers of Sandhill cranes, Canada Geese and many ducks all feeding while you watch from nearby. There are binoculars for one's use. Great Place!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosamund W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    115
    45
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always Good for a Stop”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stop here every year when visiting Fairbanks and every year we learn and find something new. This year we went to the bird banding program. When here in fall the arrival of large number of sandhills is amazing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting remains of a rare dairy farm in Alaska!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We hiked over to the farm from the weekly market and encountered one of the refuge's guides who filled us in with interesting information on the Creamer dairy and how it became a migratory waterfowl refuge. Spend some time there to hike the many paths.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lalafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Go at sunset and see the loons”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We rode our bikes over from the Wedgewood Resort, where we were staying. We've also hiked over on the trails that run from Wedgewood to the Refuge. Go at sunset and you may see the loons collecting in the fields off to the right as you enter the property. This former dairy farm is well maintained and has a small visitor's center. The trails are nice, with lots of bird observation opportunities. If you are hiking the trails, be SURE to bring mosquito repellant and a camera.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
857 reviews
503 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Bird Sanctuary and Pleasant Walk”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Who would have imagined cows and a dairy in Fairbanks but Creamer did it successfully. His legacy is the bird sanctuary, small homestead museum and displays, walking paths and children's learning center. This is an inspiring break from the norm and we hope it grows in use and facility.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Knox10SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creamer's Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Creamer's Field Migratory Waterfowl Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing