We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2011

14 of us stayed here at Pike's Waterfront Lodge for 3 nights. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable with a great views of the river from our balconies. The Pikes Landing restaurant was excellent! Enjoyed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nursemanager9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We arrived for our confirmed reservation before the 3pm allowed check in. We had been traveling from the Yukon and you never know when you will get someplace.
In an very rude manner, we were told that our room was not ready and to check back around 2pm. Well, I understand that and that was ok, but her behavior was very disrespectful to us. There was no eye contact and she kept focused on her computer. So, we left and came back at 2pm. The room was still not ready, although people all around us were checking into their rooms.. All the employees were laughing and having a great time and were ingored.
We came back at 3pm and our room was ready. How amazing! Our room was on the ground floor next to a very loud road. The room was clean, but very standard and nothing special. We woke up early the next morning and were happy to leave.
Its hard for me to write a negative review because the property is actuallly very nice and its on the river.. However, I do feel that there are be much better places to stay that are more inviting and focused on customer service.............On a postive note, they do take dogs and our dog had a good stay........................................

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAHOEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Hello-
We are sorry that you did not have a more positive experience with your check in at Pike’s. Although I do not know the specifics of why your room was not ready early, I thought it would be useful to know why rooms aren’t ready early when someone arrives early and requests a room. Room availability is a mix of previous room assignments, when the previous guest checks out of a room and when housekeeping cleans and inspects it. This means that your room probably won’t be ready early in the summer. We are happy that your dog did enjoy its stay. We do focus on customer service and have added a position to do more training with our staff. We do try our best and sorry that we did not provide your with the best service. Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The people were very nice and friendly but the rooms were a little tired and the buffet breakfast was nothing special, not to mention some hot dishes were cold. The place is located right across the street from the airport which is convenient at the price of being somewhat noisy. The fitness center is tiny and hot with 3 pieces of equipment. If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the back, there is a very nice river view:). They do offer a free shuttle to just about anywhere you want to go which was very nice.
Great ice cream on premises.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Hello-
Thanks for your kind comments on the shuttle and ice cream.The shuttle is supposed to cost $5 per round trip, free to the airport or train station. When we remodeled the rooms two years ago, we choose a style of furniture for the main lodge of “shabby chic”; some of our guests think that the rooms looks worn. I did notice when I was doing room inspections last week that we are accumulating dings and wear spots on the furniture and trim at a faster than normal rate. All this maintenance will be done this winter. The fitness room is small but does include an elliptical, treadmill and bicycle and a free weight set. There is also easy and safe walking and running opportunities out our front door. I am sorry that you did not like the breakfast buffet; I think that it is very good. Ursula, our Food Services and Catering Manager, makes all the items in our kitchen with her staff. I think that the biscuits with bacon are particularly good. Thanks for writing. Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent 2 night at Pike's. The room was on the Chena River side and was quiet & clean. Those were the only good things I can say about the hotel. On the down side - the room did not have a closet. Instead there was a box that served as a closet for short items. Unfortunately it was not tall enough to hang dress, slacks or coat. The dresser only had 2 drawers. The bed was not comfortable - rather lumpy. The sauna and steam room were not working - the lobby was so small and crowded with racks of items for sale - it was difficult to get around the area. The soda machine on our floor was not working and the machine on the lower floor served warm drinks. There was not an employee in the gift shop so if you wanted to purchase something you needed to wait in the hotel registration line along with everyone trying to check in or ask questions. The person that checked us in wa very unwelcoming and bordered on being rude.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenaliGirl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Hello-
I am sorry that you did not have a better experience staying with us. I thought that I would explain a couple of things so at least you would realize that we did them to improve service. The armoire that we use for clothing storage was designed deliberately without doors and painted white so that our guests would remember to take their things along. Since we switched to the new armoire, the number of leave behind items has drastically fallen. The sauna and steam rooms were working; I wish that you had called for assistance. Our gift shop manager does get enthusiastic about putting her racks in the lobby. We have spoken to her about this issue. We have gotten the soda machines fixed. We have reconfigured our front desk staff and we believe that everyone is cheerful and helpful. Thanks for sharing. Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Pike's Waterfront Lodge has a beautiful location right on Chena River and has a nice wooden deck from which you can watch paddle wheelers like the "Discovery" river boat pass by. Our (double queen bed) room as well as our bathroom were lovingly furnished and decorated. We had dinner in their restaurant. It wasn't cheap but the food and service were excellent and the restaurant was also beautifully decorated. It had a terrace looking out onto the river. Breakfast was not complimentary. We chose their continental/cold breakfast option. Service as well as the food were great again and the restaurant staff were very accommodating when we said we were in a hurry as we had to get to the airport. We asked for their shuttle bus to the airport at the front desk and it was ready to take us there within 10min. The only bits of criticism are that first, the front desk staff seemed to be tired and grumpy at any time of the day, and second, that they only had central heating in the rooms and it was switched off while I was still finding it a bit cold. They do have individual cooling systems in each room in case it gets too warm though.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiuluzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Pike's is a great place to eat, sleep and be happy! During the summer months you can enjoy their beautiful flowers planted in several garden areas all over the property. We dined at the restaurant on the deck on a beautiful sunny day overlooking the Chena River. The Chef prepares food using the Pike's famous tomatoes and cucumbers grown right in their greenhouse-very fresh and delicious! The halibut chowder and wrap delighted my taste buds! Our room, to accomodate our dog too was great and had a little deck for her to enjoy the outdoors. The room was fresh and clean without any evidence that another pet had previously occupied it. If you travel with pets, you know what I mean! Pike's is also very accomodating to get you around with their complimentary shuttle service from the airport and in and around town for a mere $5.00 round trip fee. Can't even get a gallon of gas for that today! Take time to walk this beautiful property and take in the sites, visit the Pike's ducks, sit on the wooden swing or just enter the zen zone relaxing by the river. Staff is friendly and helpful too!

Room Tip: Just be sure to make reservations in advance for summer visits so you are not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaskaishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Only 1 night stay. My room had sink incorporated into the room, with a very small toilet/bath/shower room. It was clean AND Aveda brand shampoo/conditioner (a plus in my book), but ...I guess it's designed for older touristy folks. Kinda kitchy. WiFi wasn't working well. Front desk staff seemed a little dim, meaning unable to provide any info about area/hotel aside from "bar/restaurant opens at 5pm, breakfast -- not included--starts at 6am ..." etc. Soda dispensing machine was "sold out" of many choices, and no complementary coffee -- pay $1 to get a cup. A little nickel-and-diming. Thought it odd that envelope for housecleaning tip instructed to bring to front desk, but I did so. Shuttle services were excellent -- to/from airport and to/from "downtown" Fairbanks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidwDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Hello- We are glad that you like the Aveda amenities and appreciate the comment about the wireless service. On the coffee, I would like to note that we offer free coffee with a coffee maker in your room. We also remodel/refresh our rooms every year. The furniture is designed to look lived in and homey, the style called shabby chic so the paint is rubbed off on the corners and is scratched and dented. The owner Jay has his art collection and his collectibles throughout the hotel to give a sense of being in Fairibanks. We think that our hotel looks comfortable and welcoming and definitely unique. I believe that the pictures on the web site fairly represent the rooms and public areas.
Deborah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
La Quinta Inn & Suites
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
397 reviews
4 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range: £67 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms and cabins many with scenic views, an aromatherapy steam room, riverside decks, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and sleeping rooms. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves and are non smoking. We offer Aveda aromatherapy bathroom amenities. Our free exercise room is open 24 hours. The 24 hour gift shop with ATM machine and food items. We have an extensive interpretative sign display on Fairbanks history and ecology of the area. We have firepits, free Bocce Ball, mini miniature golf outside and FoosBall in the game room. We have a 24 hour coin operated laundry facility. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska International airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. We have free shuttle service to/from the airport and railroad station. Northern Lights wake up call available in winter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing