We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - pet friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - pet friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Nice clean quiet hotel and the staff was very friendly. The wifi was very weak in our room and I had to go to the lobby to use my laptop. Although they are pet friendly, I found the $25.00 per night a little cheap.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, get a room in the main lodge close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hello-
Thanks for the feed back on the internet; we had ordered more access points for our wireless internet and will install them soon. We face the challenge of our internet increasing by three fold in one year and our guests using multiple devices. To keep the internet reasonably fast, it costs us more in access fees and hardware. The $25 pet fee is used for extra cleaning of the pet rooms. They really do take longer to clean.
Sincerely,
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    314
    136
    59
    31
See reviews for
231
353
68
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was the last hotel we stayed at during our Alaska visit. The hotel was rather busy with large numbers of tourists milling around. It has a pleasant setting and we had little difficulty to check in. Due to the many tourists, we felt a bit cramped in. The hotel offers a shuttle service to a nearby shopping complex. Although we made use of it to get to the stores, getting back was a bit more difficult having to wait a fair bit of time on the pickup. The cost is $5 (return trip) and it is something they can improve on.
The room was of a reasonable size with two double beds. The bathroom can be a bit bigger but had everything we required.
We left to an adjacent restaurant on the side of the river running pass the hotel. We did not make use of any of the services offered by the hotel and can therefore not comment.
Our early departure the next morning was smooth.
Good hotel but one must be careful during the high holiday season.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franzdorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you for your comments; the hotel has looked very busy this year because more guests had flights leaving later in the day. Once they checked out of their room at 11:00 AM, many of them stayed in the hotel lobby. We are considering offering them another space in which to wait for their flights. This will make the lobby less chaotic feeling. We are scheduling shuttles next year so that it will be more dependable in terms of pick up and drop off. Thanks again for commenting; it helps us improve service.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

14 of us stayed here at Pike's Waterfront Lodge for 3 nights. We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable with a great views of the river from our balconies. The Pikes Landing restaurant was excellent! Enjoyed!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursemanager9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We arrived for our confirmed reservation before the 3pm allowed check in. We had been traveling from the Yukon and you never know when you will get someplace.
In an very rude manner, we were told that our room was not ready and to check back around 2pm. Well, I understand that and that was ok, but her behavior was very disrespectful to us. There was no eye contact and she kept focused on her computer. So, we left and came back at 2pm. The room was still not ready, although people all around us were checking into their rooms.. All the employees were laughing and having a great time and were ingored.
We came back at 3pm and our room was ready. How amazing! Our room was on the ground floor next to a very loud road. The room was clean, but very standard and nothing special. We woke up early the next morning and were happy to leave.
Its hard for me to write a negative review because the property is actuallly very nice and its on the river.. However, I do feel that there are be much better places to stay that are more inviting and focused on customer service.............On a postive note, they do take dogs and our dog had a good stay........................................

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAHOEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hello-
We are sorry that you did not have a more positive experience with your check in at Pike’s. Although I do not know the specifics of why your room was not ready early, I thought it would be useful to know why rooms aren’t ready early when someone arrives early and requests a room. Room availability is a mix of previous room assignments, when the previous guest checks out of a room and when housekeeping cleans and inspects it. This means that your room probably won’t be ready early in the summer. We are happy that your dog did enjoy its stay. We do focus on customer service and have added a position to do more training with our staff. We do try our best and sorry that we did not provide your with the best service. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The people were very nice and friendly but the rooms were a little tired and the buffet breakfast was nothing special, not to mention some hot dishes were cold. The place is located right across the street from the airport which is convenient at the price of being somewhat noisy. The fitness center is tiny and hot with 3 pieces of equipment. If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the back, there is a very nice river view:). They do offer a free shuttle to just about anywhere you want to go which was very nice.
Great ice cream on premises.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trekfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hello-
Thanks for your kind comments on the shuttle and ice cream.The shuttle is supposed to cost $5 per round trip, free to the airport or train station. When we remodeled the rooms two years ago, we choose a style of furniture for the main lodge of “shabby chic”; some of our guests think that the rooms looks worn. I did notice when I was doing room inspections last week that we are accumulating dings and wear spots on the furniture and trim at a faster than normal rate. All this maintenance will be done this winter. The fitness room is small but does include an elliptical, treadmill and bicycle and a free weight set. There is also easy and safe walking and running opportunities out our front door. I am sorry that you did not like the breakfast buffet; I think that it is very good. Ursula, our Food Services and Catering Manager, makes all the items in our kitchen with her staff. I think that the biscuits with bacon are particularly good. Thanks for writing. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We spent 2 night at Pike's. The room was on the Chena River side and was quiet & clean. Those were the only good things I can say about the hotel. On the down side - the room did not have a closet. Instead there was a box that served as a closet for short items. Unfortunately it was not tall enough to hang dress, slacks or coat. The dresser only had 2 drawers. The bed was not comfortable - rather lumpy. The sauna and steam room were not working - the lobby was so small and crowded with racks of items for sale - it was difficult to get around the area. The soda machine on our floor was not working and the machine on the lower floor served warm drinks. There was not an employee in the gift shop so if you wanted to purchase something you needed to wait in the hotel registration line along with everyone trying to check in or ask questions. The person that checked us in wa very unwelcoming and bordered on being rude.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenaliGirl1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Hello-
I am sorry that you did not have a better experience staying with us. I thought that I would explain a couple of things so at least you would realize that we did them to improve service. The armoire that we use for clothing storage was designed deliberately without doors and painted white so that our guests would remember to take their things along. Since we switched to the new armoire, the number of leave behind items has drastically fallen. The sauna and steam rooms were working; I wish that you had called for assistance. Our gift shop manager does get enthusiastic about putting her racks in the lobby. We have spoken to her about this issue. We have gotten the soda machines fixed. We have reconfigured our front desk staff and we believe that everyone is cheerful and helpful. Thanks for sharing. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Pike's Waterfront Lodge has a beautiful location right on Chena River and has a nice wooden deck from which you can watch paddle wheelers like the "Discovery" river boat pass by. Our (double queen bed) room as well as our bathroom were lovingly furnished and decorated. We had dinner in their restaurant. It wasn't cheap but the food and service were excellent and the restaurant was also beautifully decorated. It had a terrace looking out onto the river. Breakfast was not complimentary. We chose their continental/cold breakfast option. Service as well as the food were great again and the restaurant staff were very accommodating when we said we were in a hurry as we had to get to the airport. We asked for their shuttle bus to the airport at the front desk and it was ready to take us there within 10min. The only bits of criticism are that first, the front desk staff seemed to be tired and grumpy at any time of the day, and second, that they only had central heating in the rooms and it was switched off while I was still finding it a bit cold. They do have individual cooling systems in each room in case it gets too warm though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiuluzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
4.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Property: Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Address: 1850 Hoselton Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Our friendly staff await you! How can we help you today? Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside deck, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and most sleeping rooms. We offer Aveda aromatherapy room amenities. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing