We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but better sound insulation needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but better sound insulation needed”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The staff was pleasant and the cookies were delicious. The walls seemed thin and I could hear the people next door. I didn't like that at all and I am sure they wouldn't have like that if they knew.

Room Tip: Call ahead and state that you would like a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Hello-
we are sorry that you did not have a more restful night's sleep. I have spent many nights at Pike's (over 120) and have not experienced a thin wall problem. However, you were in one of our connecting rooms that unfortunately does not have as much sound proofing due to the connecting door. Thanks for letting us know about this problem and we will see if we can do anything about it.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    353
    161
    68
    38
See reviews for
273
415
74
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The kids (2 older teenagers) went to Fairbanks as an 'end of summer' trip. It was quite enjoyable overall. Pike's Waterfront Lodge definitely met our needs. The grounds were well kept. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. We also enjoyed the unique flavors of complimentary ice cream. We enjoyed that overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel before and stayed in the rooms, but this time we stayed in one of the cabins. Quaint, clean, well decorated and private. The cabins are somewhat small if you are staying for more than two or three days but everything you need is right there. Beautiful veiw of the river, nice grassy area with lots of flowers. This hotel has a very friendly staff, helpful and accomodateing in all aspects.. Beautiful dining area with a superb breakfast. We even had a wake up call to see the aurora sighting. Great place to stay when in Fairbanks.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed on the first floor of both buildings. If you love pets that would be your place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janella22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantwell, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Great location near the airport and on the Chena River. Allows dogs and first floor rooms have door to exterior which is great. Breakfast was good. Cool place and good value.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Syringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

After getting up at 5am and riding on the Denali bus for 6 hours, then on a train for 4 hours, we were really looking forward to bedding down when we arrived at Pike’s Waterfront Lodge at 8:30pm. But instead, we were told that they had overbooked and could not honor our reservation, which was made and paid for SIX MONTHS before our arrival. The overbooking was only for the first night – they would honor our reservation for the second and third nights. It was obvious a cruise ship tour had come to town and they needed our room, although no one ever admitted that to me - instead they suggested the tour company I used hadn't made the reservation until recently I checked with the tour company - they made the reservation in March). And no one could tell me why I wasn't contacted before I got to the hotel. The clerk handed me an envelope that contained a short letter from the Assistant General Manager along with a voucher for breakfast and dinner – oh, and a token for a scoop of ice cream. Nice to know my inconvenience is worth a scoop of ice cream. They shuttled us over to a nearby Best Western, and when we arrived at the Best Western we were told that Pike’s had called a couple of hours earlier to say the room would have to be charged to our credit card – even though we paid for our room at Pike’s six months earlier. I called the Asst. GM the next morning and in her defense she explained that the Best Western clerk had misunderstood, and that my credit card would not be charged. I then met her when we got back to Pike’s the next morning and after I expressed my displeasure with how the whole situation was handled she offered a second voucher for breakfast and dinner (no apology, and not even ice cream this time). But I discovered later that the vouchers were for the in-house restaurant, not the nice restaurant next door. The morning we left they called a shuttle to take us to the airport. The shuttle driver loaded our bags in the back of the van, then went inside while we sat in the van listening to his VERY loud rap music on the radio. After a few minutes he returned and said his relief was there and would take us to the airport. We sat in the van over ten minutes (we turned the radio off after a couple of minutes) – I was going to give them another couple minutes before going back inside, when someone came out and got into the driver’s seat. He about jumped out of his skin when we spoke – he didn’t know anyone was in the van. He had come out just to move the van from the hotel entrance. Apparently the first driver didn’t bother to tell him he had passengers waiting to go to the airport. The hotel itself is average. The rooms were no better than the Best Western, which was $50 a night cheaper. We had a room facing the river, but we could not appreciate the view because it was blocked by trees. The front desk staff was disinterested and merely going through the motions. And the Asst. GM seemed to be tolerating my displeasure because it was part of the job, not because she really cared that a customer felt unappreciated. The exception was the wait staff in the in-house restaurant. They were very friendly and service-minded, and our waitress was the only person who seemed sincerely upset that we had had a bad experience in the hotel. Suffice it to say, I will not stay there again and I would caution others that having a reservation doesn’t mean you have a room – particularly if a more lucrative client such as a cruise ship tour comes to town.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river but the view of the river was completely blocked by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gleno51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Please accept my apology for overbooking the hotel and moving you to the Best Western. You probably know that hotels overbook and sometimes move people or “walk” them as if it called. We overbook because we want to have a full hotel and people cancel. I overbook Pike’s based on statistics and how a particular summer is going. This summer we had a number of oversold days that worked out because more people than usual cancelled their rooms. The night that you were walked, we had the unusual experience that no one cancelled. Christena, our Assistant General Manager, did try to work with you but had a difficult time with you when you raised your voice and walked away from her. We are also sorry about the shuttle driver and the rap music. That is not supposed to happen, needless to say. We could find out who did it; the driver on the night shift does not play music and the two morning drivers that come on at 7:00 AM do not play music. We did clarify the no music policy; and we do check the vans. We are sorry that we dropped the ball on getting you to the airport. I do not know what happened. Christena the Assistant General Manager was very sorry that whole service lapse happened to you and would have been happy to give you a voucher to Pike’s Landing; she said she just thought of the hotel restaurant and if you had told her, she would have switched them. We think that the food the PWLodge is great. We are happy that you like the service and appreciate your telling us about your experience. We dislike walking our clients and try our best to not do it. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The staff at Pike's was very friendly and accommodating for my 4th of July weekend visit. They were even able to book me in to a room on the ground floor, which was perfect for my dog. Loved that they had pet-friendly accommodations and the setting on the lake was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

As Alaska residents we particularly enjoy staying at accommodations owned by fellow Alaskans and this is certainly one of the more upscale and very friendly ones. Having lived ourselves in Fairbanks, we expected the warm hospitality, but Pike's is the next best thing to coming home. Staff are very pleasant.
Our room was so comfortable, I wanted to pack up the bed and take it home, but instead we will just stay here every time we came to Fairbanks. Obvious care was taken in selection of furnishings, including curtains that really black out the midnight sun so guests can sleep until they really want to get up. Bathroom shower curtain ensemble was a little overwhelming. One curtain would be better! Internet connection was fine, as was cell phone connection. Parking was plentiful and convenient, a real plus for independent travelers. We also appreciate the lower prices for rooms after Labor Day so we can visit Fairbanks in winter.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the Chena River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hookedonBristolBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thanks for your kind comments; the reason for the bathroom curtains was to dress up the bathroom a bit. I think that they look pretty. Please come back and visit. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
386 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Property: Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms and cabins many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside decks, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and sleeping rooms. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves and are non smoking. We offer Aveda aromatherapy bathroom amenities. Our exercise room is open 24 hours. The gift shop with ATM machine and selling food items is open 24 hours. We have extensive interpretative sign display on Fairbanks history and ecology of the area. We have free Bocce Ball, golf putting and FoosBall in the game room. We have a coin operated laundry facility. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska International airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. We have free shuttle service to/from the airport and railroad station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing