We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great In-Fairbanks Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Groveland, California
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Great In-Fairbanks Stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I would definitely stay here again, and recommend to others!

Minutes from the airport, with a free shuttle service, located right on the Chena River. You can use the shuttle to get around town for a nominal fee, if you aren't renting a car. But be aware you need to get out of town to see the Northern Lights.

Excellent breakfast spread included in room price, and wonderful areas for sitting and looking at the river, reading, or watching TV, plus a nice little gift shop too. They have a restaurant right next door, seemed a bit pricey, but things in Alaska are more expensive in general. The gift shop doesn't sell much in the way of food, to get you to use the restaurant, but the food was very good and the serving staff were nice.

The decor in the hallways and lobby is great, my room was large and clean. Free computers for guest use in the business center, and an excercise area plus sauna/spa. Friendly, helpful staff, overall excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTBCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    353
    160
    68
    38
See reviews for
272
415
74
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Virtually at the airport, this hotel is unusually quiet . Out the back, is a bend in the river.. Bottom line: This doesn't feel like the typical airport hotel at all...just had an EXCELLENT hamburger at their restaurant, overlooking the half-frozen river, enjoying a beautiful sunset at 9;30 pm .Very serene and quiet .
(Note; go by the sports bar, into the non-smoking section with the beautiful view.

One of the best things about this hotel is their shuttle service- out side waiting for us at 1; 30 in the morning; it's also available for a $5 round-trip charge for trips into Fairbanks--they'll take you other nearby places (U of Alaska's Museum of the North for example) for the same charge as well. They will wake you up if you like, if they spot the Aurora Borealis (one of the nightwatchman's duties) . Good (free) wi-fi.;Great breakfast. One of the few hotels where you can also open the windows.!

Room Tip: Top floor, facng the river if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfmaria101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Pike's Waterfront Lodge is located next door to Pike's Landing and has something for everyone, especially if you enjoy the natural beauty of the Great Outdoors - but still want to be close enough to town or the airport, and get there quickly. The staff is helpful and very friendly and make you feel at home right away.The Guestrooms are quite cozy and comfortable. They have a great spot for enjoying food and drink in a casual atmosphere (indoor or outside) at Pike's Landing (on the Chena River), and they have a wonderful fine dining restaurant with an amazing selection on the menu. Absolutely delicious! We have eaten there on 3 occasions and have raved about the measl afterwards. We have never been disappointed and always order something different because we feel we're in for a special treat! What great spot for visiters and locals alike. Wow!

Room Tip: Free Breakfast, Airport Shuttle and Internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnElsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed at Pikes about 6 times in the last 2 years. I used to realy like staying here. I was there last week and there was a party going on in the loby right next to my room till past mid night I had to changes rooms no apology or care by the hotel. The time before the food was so bad I had to complain once again they did not care. There will not be a third time I will never stay here again. This is the first complaint I have ever written about any hotel!

Room Tip: If you want to stay close to the airport try the Alpine Lodge I have had good luck with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jen6645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello there-
We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing stay at Pike's and do assure you that we do care about our guests' comfort and well being; we are all Alaskans and have worked for the hotel many years, relying on repeat business. Unfortunately, since you gave so little information about your stay I am unable to check out your complaints. We did check our 24 hour security logs and don't see any parties or noise occurring late at night. We also have no front desk notes or management complaints regarding noise. Please contact our General Manager, Ms. Weaver, at gm@pikeslodge.com concerning your stay and we will surely make it right. Thank you, Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Pike's has a very efficient and helpful staff. We were checked in quickly after our long train trip. The next morning they stored our luggage until our flight so we could explore a little. We loved the riverside location. It was fun walking out onto the ice bridge. The lobby has a terrific ambience with some impressive artwork. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review of Pike's. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our owner, Jay, has hung his Alaska art collection in our lobby and added many touches that are designed to give you a feel for what Pike's has to offer in the summer and winter. He has a very fine native Alaska art collection as well as some commissioned pictures such as the one depicting the year that the Iditarod started in front of Pike's on the Chena River. We hope that you can come back to visit and enjoy our personalized service. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The rooms were nice and clean, but the walls are very thin and you could hear everything from upstairs and the hallway. Get a room on the top floor away from the lobby and you should have a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We've visited this place for 3 nights after taking the Aurora Winter Train from Anchorage (a definite must do!). The hotel offered a free pick-up from the train station, which was great since it was freezing minus 30 degrees. We had to pick-up our rental car at the airport, and they even brought us there, after we dropped luggage at the hotel. Great service! We stayed in the beautiful fireplace room, which had a great atmosphere and of course a (gas) fireplace. It kept us very warm and the room was really cozy. They offered Aveda bath products, which I didn't knew about until I stayed at Pikes. Since then I've started using them at home as well, fabulous bath products! The hotel itself has a great lobby and atmosphere as well, like a classic lodge. Our car could also be easily attached to electricity to get it started in the morning. Although Fairbanks itself is not the most beautiful place in the world, the cold weather and snow just made it perfect for us, as did the hotel and the staff. The hotel itself is not in a central location, but in a good location to navigate around town and get to Chena, but you will need a car to get anywhere on your own. Downtown Fairbanks ain't that inspiring, so we didn't care about the location at all. We didn't get the complimentary continental breakfast, since we wanted to get breakfast at some great diners in Fairbanks. So I can't review that, but I would definitely stay here again, if I would return to Fairbanks.

Room Tip: The fireplace room is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Codici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Property: Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms and cabins many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside decks, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and sleeping rooms. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves and are non smoking. We offer Aveda aromatherapy bathroom amenities. Our exercise room is open 24 hours. The gift shop with ATM machine and selling food items is open 24 hours. We have extensive interpretative sign display on Fairbanks history and ecology of the area. We have free Bocce Ball, golf putting and FoosBall in the game room. We have a coin operated laundry facility. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska International airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. We have free shuttle service to/from the airport and railroad station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing