We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to up their game”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Needs to up their game”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I've been staying at Pikes on my way in and out of Fairbanks for years, and for a while they were head and shoulders above the competition. But now with the addition of a Spring Hill and Hampton Inns as well as Princess Cruise Lines lodge, Pikes is in danger of being surpassed. What it does have going for it is its great location, across from the airport but also next to a scenic river. Additionally the rooms are more rustic and Alaskan looking then the sterile feel of the competitors. Still, the workout room is weak, the business center small and the other amenities nothing special. The on-site dining options are great with a nice bar for casual dining and a formal dining room. Yet I never got my wake up call, the airport shuttle wasn't available when I landed and their overall check-in/out process slow to say the least. Don't get me wrong, I like Pikes, its a nice place to stay but with many other options, it is nothing special.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge as the "other" building has no gym or business center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    341
    157
    65
    37
See reviews for
265
400
73
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This rated to be one of the worst places we stayed on our trip to Prudhoe Bay and back. Sad to say it is worse than Coldfoot camp when it comes to food, shower and beds. The beds are so lumpy you just as well sleep on the floor. The Breakfast buffet was poor and the restaurant next door was OVER priced. The location is nice and atmosphere with the river along side is nice. we had booked two nights but cancelled the second and stayed at the Bridgewater downtown which was better.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed 2nights while exploring the area. Rooms were small, and a little dated, but had character. Didn't eat in the restaurant, my son liked the ice crem bar off lounge in the afternoon, location right on the river. Staff was superb. My husband forgot his hat, and they found it and mailed it home to us. Shuttle to train station a plus!

Room Tip: Back for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quitman, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Wonderful hotel and staff plus hotel shuttles which took us to town/shopping for round trip of 5.00. Great way to go. Food was great as service.

Room Tip: Balcony in room which have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cew501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmons, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed in cabin 2 after driving to Fairbanks from Anchorage. The cabin was super cute, very clean, and had a small fridge, microwave, and sink. There was no silverware or plates/cups to use so we found that to be a little confusing because on the website they lead you to think you have a small kitchen but say nothing about bringing your own kitchenware. Went to the reataurant which is just a short walk away. We figure someone must have quit or not showed up to work. Went to the main nicer dining room and there were at least 15 people standing in line, almost every table was open. Husband went to bar to get himself a beer to have while standing in line. Waitress finally told us bar had same menu, so we went to sit in the bar. Took 2 hours from the time we sat down in the bar to get 2 orders of halibut and fries. Would stay at Pikes again but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesspigfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugosarose, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Hello - thanks for letting us know about your experience at Pike's we are glad that you enjoyed the room and sorry for that you had a bad experience at Pike's Landing. I am not quite sure what happened but think it atypical of dining there. Thanks for staying with us.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Huge hotel that caters to Tour Groups. It was an OK room but very expensive. The service was not so good. We had made reservations to be picked up at the train station and when we arrived immediately went out to confirm with the driver our arrival as we waited for our luggage. We returned with our luggage and he said we had to wait because there was a family of four who was not there yet who he had given our seats to. We did everything right and were made to feel as if were were an imposition on the driver who was clearly over his capabilities. He indicated they had no idea how many people were going to be at the train station - so apparently we made reservations for nothing and those who did not got on the van. We had to wait another half hour for a pick up by someone else. No apologies. By the time we got to the hotel they had just closed the kitchen. Breakfast was for a high fee and the cabin had no wifi. I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We arrived on an evening flight at 9 PM and left early, so for us this was basically a place to get a good night's sleep after a full day of travel. Our room and bed were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was well kept and clean and breakfast was very good with a good choice of hot and cold offerings. We selected this hotel because it seemed it had a little more character than the chain hotels in town and because it is only 5 minutes from the airport and we didn't want to have to travel when we got off the plane. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is I would like to reserve 5 stars for places that are truly exceptional. All in all there was nothing exceptional but they did fulfill our needs and we have no complaints. We would definitely return there and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We paid additional for a Riverview King. My opinion of the Riverview is that compared to views throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
4.0 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Property: Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Our friendly staff await you! How can we help you today? Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside deck, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and most sleeping rooms. We offer Aveda aromatherapy room amenities. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing