We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot by the Chena River”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice spot by the Chena River”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Land Tour prior to a cruise. The first day there was a musty odor in the room and we think it was from the air conditioner that had been left on. We turned it off as it wasn't necessary and opened the sliding glass door. It helped a great deal. This hotel could use some sprucing up but all in all it wasn't too bad considering it is in such a remote location. Each morning there is a brunch which is adequate but is not complimentary. If you wanted coffee in the morning you had to pay $1 for it in the lobby. The little coffee maker in the room had not been cleaned and it not appear to be fit to use so I went to the lobby each morning for my coffee.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding coffee service and your room condition. Fortunately, given the other information you were able to give me, we tracked down exactly what happened to your coffee maker and have corrected the problem. Thanks for staying with us and we hope that you someday return. Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    331
    150
    62
    35
See reviews for
251
387
72
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pikes lodge is right on the river in Fairbanks, AK, and has both rooms and cabins. Both are really nice, but we chose the cabin for our 5 day trip to Fairbanks because it afforded more privacy. The cabin is located with the rear facing the River and Bocce Ball court, is quite and very comfortable. The bed was perfect and we were able to sleep well (when the drapes are closed because the sun is out all day). The grounds are landscaped with beautiful flowers and are well maintained. The staff are very friendly and courteous, and made sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Although the weather was cool and raining, the experience at Pikes Lodge made up for the weather.

Room Tip: I recommend the Cabin instead of the hotel room because they are newer and you have much more privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for writing. I agree with you that the cabins are better for privacy and they are very quiet. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your compliments to the staff.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Pikes as part of our Cruise/tour package with Royal Caribbean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room which was in the Copper Lodge section was roomy, very clean and comfortable. My husband and I loved walking around the beautiful grounds and seeing all the lovely flowers that were in bloom. We also ate several meals at the restaurant next to the lodge which is located on the Chena River. The food was excellent and the bar drinks were very good. We liked it so much we are talking about going back, but flying into Fairbanks, staying at Pikes and renting a car to do our sightseeing. Wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalot077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello-
Thank you so much for writing. It makes us really happy to see such a positive review and also happy that you noted many of the characteristics that makes Pike's unique and a fun place. We do hope that you return!
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arlington heights, illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Okay so this was the last nite of our land tour from our cruise - after being on a 5 star cruise and seeing this hotel it was quite disappointing. Our room faced the parking lot and the cruise buses in front of the hotel. The room are VERY old and dated, the air conditioning units are noisy (our friends room heard continual dripping from them all night).
If you took the stairs down the hand rails were sticky and the carpet dirty. The only option for food in the hotel is a buffet for breakfast or dinner (otherwise there is Pikes Restaurant next door which was good). We were supposed to stay here 2 nites but fortunately were only here 1 nite and headed home.

Room Tip: I don't know what the cabins are like but they have to be better then the rooms in the lodge - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSS811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for writing and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your room and it's location. While we do freshen all the rooms in a fairly continuous cycle, we did go with a "shabby chic" look that appears to not age well. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Pikes the night before our trip to the Arctic Ocean and two nights after returning. Both stays were pleasant. The staff was courteous. They have a baggage storage room where we could store our luggage since we could only take a limited amount with us on the Arctic tour.The rooms were large and comfortable. The ice machine on our floor wasn't working on the Monday we stayed there and it still wasn't working on Thurs or Friday when we stayed again. There is no free breakfast, but there is a nice buffet style available in the restaurant. They seemed to have no set system for their shuttle service. I called from the train station when we arrived and was told someone was already there to pick us up. That seemed nice until I went outside to see the van pulling away and keep going. Apparently he was full of other guests which I understand but we, as well as a group of 7 others were in the dark as to whether or not someone was coming back. Strike one for the shuttle. Strike two came the next morning when we arranged a 6:45 am pickup to take us to our tour departure point. At 6:45 am I inquired at the desk as to whether the shuttle was there and was told it was outside. We went outside to see, once again, the shuttle pulling out of the parking lot. Fortunately, he must have looked in his rearview mirror to see my wife and me standing in the middle of the lot. If you need to schedule a pick up time for a shuttle, I would expect the shuttle person to know how many people he has to pick up....as well as their names. Everything worked out, but confidence was shaken. Keep an eye out in the Northern Lights Discount Book or the Toursaver Booklet. Since one of the nights we stayed was a Friday it was discounted by 50%.

Room Tip: Pikes also has cabins for a little more privacy but not much for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thanks for your overall positive comments. We appreciate your comments on your shuttle experience. We need to improve communication. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of our Royal Caribbean cruise tour and just loved the hotel. The rooms were excellent, bed very comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right on the Chena river with a great outside deck and next two a fantastic restaurant...where you can get the best Sunday brunch in all of Fairbanks. Location is very convenient to the airport and they offer a complimentary airport shuttle which will also take you to downtown Fairbanks and local attractions for a modest fee ($5/pp RT).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDU-Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Hello-
Thanks for writing! Your comment made our staff very happy. Not only do we read all the guest comments, we have a yearly meeting in September to review what went wrong and what went right so it is good to add yours to the what went well pile! We try very hard to be the best in Fairbanks; thank you so much.
Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a wonderful visit, enjoyed walking the grounds, and seeing all the beautiful flowers and the mounted animals. The restaurant was very good and the staff was extremely helpful. We stayed in the motel itself, not the cabins and got the rate for the Friday special which was a wonderful surprise.

Room Tip: Our room faced the river, nice; but the service building was fairly close and the help was chatting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redfoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLHAlaska, Director of Sales at Pike's Waterfront Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for writing; we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do run Friday specials from time to time. Due to the tour patterns that many guests are on, summer Fridays are frequently a slow day in Fairbanks so it's a good day to snag a low rate.
Thanks again, Deborah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
4.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
277 reviews
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pike's Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pike's Waterfront Lodge

Property: Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Address: 1850 Hoselton Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4675
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pike's Waterfront Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Fairbanks hotel on the Chena River, Pike's Waterfront Lodge. Our friendly staff await you! How can we help you today? Pike's Waterfront Lodge offers comfortable rooms many with scenic views, a steam room, riverside deck, restaurant, a comfortable lounge, and wireless Internet in the public areas and most sleeping rooms. We offer Aveda aromatherapy room amenities. Our hotel is minutes from the Fairbanks Alaska airport, next door to famous Pike's Landing restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pike's Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pike`s Waterfront Hotel Fairbanks
Pikes Waterfront Hotel
Pikes Waterfront Fairbanks
Pike's Waterfront Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing