We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great rate, with everything you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, great rate, with everything you need.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

found the 3 night internet rate on their site, which beat every deal in town. The rooms were very clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the rooms have everything you need. A real bathtub, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free wireless, free Breakfast... I believe they also offered airport shuttles. Although close to airport, did not hear a thing. They also offered free green tea already brewed in the lobby along with coffee. I would definitely stay there again. Didn't try their restaurant, but did try the next one down the road called Pikes Landing, The food and view were incredible! The King Crab Bisque was one of the most wonderful soups I have ever tasted... wanted to take an order to go all the way back to New Orleans!

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a good view facing north so I would have a chance to see the aurora. They g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajunangelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    102
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
71
96
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buena Vista
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have stayed at the Alpine Lodge several times over the past few years, most recently in late February, 2012, when we brought friends along. The Alpine is clean, spacious, well located and has friendly, helpful staff. Their prices are reasonable, so it will continue to be our choice for our visits to Fairbanks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredprofsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
375 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed at the Alpine during the recent Yukon Quest 2012. If you want to be near the airport, it's only a 5 minute drive. You can literally walk to the Riverboat Discovery on the road that runs along the hotel. Facility has a wide, Alaska themed lobby with three floors of standard hotel rooms with typical room types. The room furnishings were standard but showing their age a little (no flat screen TV). While I've seen it before, it feels cheap when hotel beds have no bedspreads - only a sheet, blanket and sheet. Most likely a significant cost saving move but with the room being plenty warm, don't let this deter you from staying here. I've seen other posters comment how thrilled they were about a frig. in the room but I expect that in today's hotels. The buttons on the phone - voicemail, housekeeping, front desk - didn't work and the alarm clock I found on the floor behind the nightstand. Even after I retrieved it and put it on the nightstand, housekeeping didn't bother to plug it in - odd. The room was kept very clean during my entire 10 day stay.

While the rooms are very clean but average, the Alpine misses on its ammenities. The continental breakfast consists only of pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit from a can, yogurt, cold cereal, all kinds of bread & bagels and coffee, milk, water and juices. Unlike what you'll find standard at Hampton Inns, Holiday Inns or a slew of other chains, no fresh fruit or hot food items were offered - not even oatmeal. This is substandard. In addition, free 'snacks' were not offered in the lobby - cookies, ice cream - as even one of the Alpine's neighboring competitors do. They did offer some hot green tea when the hotel had a high occupancy of oriental guests but that's not my cup of tea (no pun intended). The on site Finish Line Restaurant is very good but check their hours as they are limited in the winter. The vending machines are limited, expensive with some of the items I purchased - food and soda - out of code.

The staff was pleasant enough but not particularly engaging when in the lobby or passing in the hallways. They could benefit from some customer service training. The hotel's shuttle is inconsistently available - even to the airport - if insufficient staff is available to drive - check ahead.

Summary: if clean rooms at a competitive rate, conveniently located to the airport but where you need to drive to most attractions/restaurants and with minimal ammenities works for you, certainly stay here or consider the highly rated Pike's Waterfront Lodge right down the road. If you seek a more full service hotel and plan to spend more time in the downtown area where you can walk to a wider variety of restaurants/shops, then consider a Trip Advisor highly rated hotel downtown. For me, next time I'll look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta Junction, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have stayed at the Alpine Lodge a half dozen times over the past year. The rooms are clean and have a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. They provide great shuttle service to the airport and parking for guest when you travel out of state. When I was working in Fairbanks for a couple of weeks; they made sure that I could extend my stay and keep the same room. When our medical appointment was postponed to later in the day; they allowed us to check out late. The morning breakfast is adequate and the attached restaurant has great food and good service. The Alpine has become our place to stay in Fairbanks.

Room Tip: Laundry room and exercise room are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nome, AK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The Alpine Lodge supported Alaska's most beloved public radio station by donating me a room for the two nights I was in town to help select the next year's KUAC poster artist. Thank you, Alpine Lodge! My biggest concern when traveling is a quiet room and comfortable bed - and I found both of these at the Alpine Lodge. I was given one of the suites and was so grateful to have a small fridge! I found the front desk and shuttle folks very accommodating, and appreciated them arranging for a prompt, free cab when the shuttle wasn't running. (I was there in January which is the very off season for Fairbanks!) I found the Alpine tries to offer all the amenities of the bigger hotels (I wish I'd had time to try out the big jetted tub!) but at a lower cost. In some cases it appears they may have cut a few corners in quality, but unless you're a stickler for details this shouldn't matter. For someone flying in and picking up a rental car the location is excellent because of its convenience to the airport. However, if you were on foot you would be too far from services and sites for walking. But for me - it was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesteinacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nulato, AK
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was my 2nd time staying at Alpine Lodge in Fairbanks, this time for pleasure. Everything was great, but our King room (205), had some cracked tile between the bathroom and carpet, and the shower curtain was hung almost too high for the tub. There was also a coffee stain on one of the cabinets. I know that this is not typical, having stayed there last April on school business for YKSD. It is an otherwise excellent place to stay in Fairbanks.

My in-laws stayed there in October after visiting us, and prior to their flight back to Colorado, and thoroughly enjoyed their stay as well. You were able to give them Senior discounts, and provide them transportation to FAI at no charge the next morning. You also have their endorsement.

Room Tip: Make sure to always politely inform the front desk of any issues. The staff is very courteous, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here over my Thanksgiving break with a friend and I was quite impressed with the service provided by all of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms. A very quiet place not far from the airport. There was no shuttle running while I was there, but the hotel did pay for a taxi to and from the airport which is under a five minute ride. Very reasonable rates during the winter also. The food at the restaurant was not cheap, but it was tasty. This place is a great example of Alaskan hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tptraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
1.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
367 reviews
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 4920 Dale Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4409 (Formerly Alpine Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located near the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad Depot. Complimentary shuttle offered to both locations. La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport is also convenient to Riverboat Discovery, Pioneer Park, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Ft Wainwright and downtown Fairbanks. Open year-round, the hotel offers an Alaska-themed spacious lobby, 113 deluxe guest rooms and suites, and a full-service restaurant and lounge- The Finish Line. Settle in with a local restaurant and lounge before enjoying the cuisine in the restaurant. No matter how long your stay- you're sure to enjoy Northern Lights wake-up calls and complimentary WIFI. Your stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport in Fairbanks is sure to be one you'll write home about. We look forward to sharing the spirit of Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Fairbanks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing