We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel on the outskirts of town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Ia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel on the outskirts of town.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was a very nice hotel with a beautiful lobby. The food in the restaurant was very good and the front desk people were very helpful. It isn't too close to anything, except a large grocery store, which the hotel would shuttle you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWLOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience and we are very happy that you had a positive experience - That is our goal; that from the moment you check into our hotel, you feel comfortable and are welcomed as our guest.
If your travels bring you back to Fairbanks in the future, we hope that you will once again consider the Alpine Lodge! Again, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    105
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
78
98
32
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Can't believe what some of the reviews are saying about this hotel. They must not know Fairbanks and they are use to staying at 5 star hotels. We (70 people which is 35 couples) just stayed there for one night before we moved to Princess lodge to go on land and cruise package and everyone was very impressed with the Fairbanks Hotel. Reason we didn't go direct to Princess Lodge was because we were arriving late at night and couldn't justify paying high price for one more night at Princess Lodge just to lay your head down so choose this hotel for a one night and then for a $3.00 cab pp, we moved the next day to Princess Lodge where our package started. If we were going back to Alaska , we would probably stay here and skip the Princess Lodge completely. A lot cheaper and didn't gain a lot but moving to Princess Lodges. While in Fairbanks, I checked out other cruise line hotels and Princess was the best amongst them but Alpine was perfect for our needs. Clean; efficient, fabulous breakfast for $3.00 (we got it free due to the number of rooms I booked); very close to airport, shuttle service , refrigerators and coffee makers in rooms, very comfortable king size beds, rooms were very quiet as was area around it, front desk very helpful; very close to River Discover cruise tour which is a must; close to Princess lodge if you were transferring there for a package deal like we were; Alpine allowed people to leave their luggage in a locked room after check out time for those with morning tours; very clean rooms with bathroom toiletries and hair dryers, it's a little hike but could walk or take cheap cab to nearby dept. grocery store like Wallmart/Meijers (forget what it's called in Alaska) or take reasonable all day shuttle downtown and to see the highlights of Fairbanks. Shelley McCool whom I worked with for this group booking was fabulous to deal with and excellent and quick to respond to my many emails. Only negative, I think hotel could have supplied shuttle service for all my people who were arriving together but their van only held about 10 at a time but not a big deal; cost $3.00 per person for taxi to their hotel; restaurant on site and they even stayed open late for us as they were to closing shortly after we arrived.
Had two sicknesses just the week before we were to arrive and they had to cancel out of the trip; Shelley was fabulous not to charge them any cancellation fee plus even give me a gift to give them as she felt bad they were struck with cancer and had to cancel their trip. All round and I have stayed at many hotels, I was very impressed with this hotel and would recommend it to others, whether you are travelling by yourself or in a group.

Give Shelley McCool; Director of Sales a call: 907 328-6375 . I'm sure you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words and for your feedback!
We are continually striving to improve our hotel and to also improve our Guests' experience; it makes us very happy that you had such a positive experience!
It was a pleasure working with you and your group and I truly hope that your travels will bring you back to Fairbanks. From the entire staff of the Alpine Lodge - Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

While in fairbanks our plans changed and we had to add a few more nights. We called one evening, and arrived about 5 minutes later, and the room was ready. Rooms were clean, bright, bathrooms were basic but lovely. Front desk staff were helpful, informative and nice. We were picked up and taken to both Airport and Train Station without any difficulties. The Avis/National car rental is right next door to the hotel which we used to get around the Fairbanks area. I would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for a night to recover from a red-eye flight before heading down to Denali National Park. The hotel has a shuttle that runs to and from the airport which is really helpful - all you have to do is dial them from the airport (there's a courtesy phone) and they're at the door within 5 minutes.

The check-in staff were competent but brusque - they did let us into our room super early though which was fabulous because we were desperate to sleep. The foyer is covered with real bear pelts and heads. They offer a very basic (kind of unappealing) continental breakfast for $3 per person, which is basically just cereals, pastries, juice and toast. The room was small and clean - king-sized bed, small dining table and chairs, decent-sized bathroom, and microwave/coffee machine.

Our only significant complaint (other than the unfriendly service staff) was that we requested a wakeup call to get us up in time to meet the train in the morning, as we were so jetlagged we were sure we wouldn't wake in time. However, the wakeup call never eventuated (although they said it was a computer malfunction, it seemed like someone just forgot to put it in). The hotel staff called the train and had it held for us, then drove us to the station quickly, so we still made it, but were displeased at not being able to count on them.

The hotel performed most of its functions well, but based on the location (quite out of town) and its staff performance, I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ses_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback; we really appreciate it.
I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience.
We are continually striving to improve the Hotel as well as staffing and could not do so with out feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I picked this motel because they had an airport shuttle and we arrived late. Had no problem checking in. The next morning we took the shuttle back to the airport to pick up the rental car. Then we went about our activities and stayed at a B&B the next 3 nites. Alpine charges $3 for a breakfast that doesn't have any hot food. Just hard boiled eggs and the normal starchy foods. We passed on that and ate some left over snacks from our flight. Map at the front desk turned out to be the best for Fairbanks (yellow map).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback; we really appreciate it.
We are striving to continually improve our services and our guest rooms.
Although we do charge $3.00 for our Breakfast, we have the following items daily: Fruit, Breads for toasting, yogurt, Hot Cereal & Cold Cereal, Either Hard boiled eggs or scrambled, Biscuits and Gravy and we also just recently added Waffles. I hope that if you have lodging needs in the future, you will once again consider the Alpine Lodge. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Unfriendly
Sterile
Punitive
Too far from the action.....impossible without car
We were upgraded to a jacuzzi room where the room stank of mould and the carpet was stained
Kitchenette without cutlery, cloth etc
Not recommended under any circumstances

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnFaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience.
Regarding the transportation from the Alpine Lodge - we have a city transit bus stop here at the Lodge as well as taxi service that could transport you to/from hotel to wherever you'd like to go.
We are looking into the Jacuzzi room items that you described as we are continually striving to improve our service standards and maintenance to our guest rooms. Guest satisfaction is our number one concern.
If any of our guests give feedback during their stay, we have a 100% commitment to making their stay more enjoyable.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My room is very spacious and clean the front desk are very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast have a lot to choose from fresh fruits, biscuit and gravy, toast, cereal, muffin, fresh coffee, and eggs. Also the best part is the Wifi is faster than most chain hotel.

Room Tip: Save money in Rent a car airport tax by renting it next door I think it's National Rent a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,167 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
384 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Address: 4920 Dale Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4409 (Formerly Alpine Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located near the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad Depot. Complimentary shuttle offered to both locations. La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport is also convenient to Riverboat Discovery, Pioneer Park, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Ft Wainwright and downtown Fairbanks. Open year-round, the hotel offers an Alaska-themed spacious lobby, 113 deluxe guest rooms and suites, and a full-service restaurant and lounge- The Finish Line. Settle in with a local restaurant and lounge before enjoying the cuisine in the restaurant. No matter how long your stay- you're sure to enjoy Northern Lights wake-up calls and complimentary WIFI. Your stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport in Fairbanks is sure to be one you'll write home about. We look forward to sharing the spirit of Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Fairbanks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing