We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our trip, mainly because it is near the airport. The hotel is a good average hotel. The website led me to believe it may be a bit nicer than it is, but still we had a nice stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. They arranged a free cab to the airport as well. Breakfast was ok but things seemed to have run out and were not replaced but being able to make waffles was great. The easy access to the airport met our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

We choose to stay at the Alpine because of the park and fly option they offer. We are able to park our vehicle and they will plug it in for us before we get back. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Only a couple of requests: a clip to keep the curtains closed, and a protein choice for the free breakfast. I miss the hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenbillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsickels, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We value the time you took to write a review and that we are “Your Regular Choice” when traveling to Fairbanks. We are pleased to hear you enjoy the Park n Fly service we provide and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I was very pleased with my stay. I stayed there on two different occasions on my last trip. Comfortable, quiet, clean, staff was helpful and I really enjoyed the restaurant there, great food for a good price. Breakfast was great, love the waffles. I will stay there again when I go back to Fairbanks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsickels, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Alpine Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed our restaurant the Finish Line and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I give it a 3.5 for price(off-season), cleanliness, and comfort. We recently stayed here for a short overnight visit to Fairbanks. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room offered enough space for 3 adults. Refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot was useful. We looked in the hotel guest services book and it stated that breakfast was $3, but our reservation and the front desk indicated it was free and thank goodness it was. I'm not sure if there is a fee in the summer, but even at $3 it is not worth it, unless they offer more when charging a fee. There were the typical waffle makers, some pineapple chunks, yogurt to scoop out of a bowl, a few muffins, 4 choices of cereal, OJ, and white bread for toast, but no jelly or peanut butter. The hotel has radiant heat, which was set for 73 degrees and the only way to turn it down or cool it off, was to run the air conditioner! I have to say in 31 years of living in Alaska, that was the first time I ran an air conditioner in the middle of winter! Maybe at normal winter Fairbanks temperatures below zero it isn't a problem, but at 19 degrees above zero the room was hot & cold all night.
They advertise an excercise room...there was 2 pieces of equipment, a treadmill, a bike and some dumbbells. The TV didn't work in the workout room and there is a sauna, but we didn't use it. For the price I would probably stay there again, but not plan on their breakfast to start my day.

Room Tip: We were on the back side, so our room was very quiet. Restaurant at hotel was very good for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorningStarAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsickels, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Alpine Lodge. We are happy you had an enjoyable experience. We do charge for breakfast during the summer months when we add fresh fruit and proteins to our breakfast menu along with our year round selections. Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

It was -40 out when we checked into the hotel. The hotel room was freezing. Front desk lady said that the lower level has heating issues. We were offered extra blankets, as the higher rooms were all booked. The breakfast was all out of food 30 minutes into it. I would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsickels, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Alpine Lodge. We have looked into the room temperature and the thermostat shows 72 degrees however when the temperature is -40 or lower outside the room may feel colder. Our staff does it best to make each guest comfortable, we apologize for your chilly room. As for the complimentary continental breakfast our staff replenishes the product as quickly as possible, but there may be a delay when busy. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Hotel was good - close to airport and not fair from shops or anything. We would recommend hiring a car to get you around as it makes things much easier.
Rooms were clean, beds comfy.
Surprisingly our clothes(nothing too thick, thermals, shirts & underwear etc) dried over night hung up in our rooms, so we did not need to use the dryer. We did one load in the dryer and it took 3 runs($6) to dry them.
Hotel should not advertise free shuttle to the airport as we requested its services 4 times during our stay, and it was only available/operational one time. We paid for our own taxi's 2 out of the other 3 times.
However we were able to be checked into our room early on arrival, so it wasn't so bad.
The college Ice Hockey team was in town whilst we were here, and we were given 2 complimentary tickets from the front desk - so we enjoyed a lovely night out.
Bar fridges in rooms were great - although run very loud, so may keep light sleeper awake.
heating in room was great - thank goodness as it was -34deg outside.
We missed breakfast most mornings as it finishes at 9.30am, which is before the sun comes up in winter! We spent most nights out trying to catch a glimpse of the Aurora Borealis, so missed it.
Food was basic, cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruit salad and make your own waffle station which was fun!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I stay at this hotel every few months when I fly into or out of Fairbanks. It's close to the airport and they have a great "park and fly" rate that is a great deal for anyone needing to park a vehicle for more than a few days. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. They even have several pet friendly rooms which is a big plus for me. Staff is always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley M, Director of Sales at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback.
We are so happy that you continue to stay at the Alpine Lodge; Thank you, we appreciate your business.
We are proud to offer the Park and Fly to our guests; it's very convenient if you're traveling out of the area, especially early in the morning or late at night.
Once again, we thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,242 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport

Address: 4920 Dale Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4409 (Formerly Alpine Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is conveniently located near the Fairbanks International Airport and Alaska Railroad Depot. Complimentary shuttle offered to both locations. La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport is also convenient to Riverboat Discovery, Pioneer Park, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Ft Wainwright and downtown Fairbanks. Open year-round, the hotel offers an Alaska-themed spacious lobby, 113 deluxe guest rooms and suites, and a full-service restaurant and lounge- The Finish Line. Settle in with a local restaurant and lounge before enjoying the cuisine in the restaurant. No matter how long your stay- you're sure to enjoy Northern Lights wake-up calls and complimentary WIFI. Your stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport in Fairbanks is sure to be one you'll write home about. We look forward to sharing the spirit of Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Fairbanks
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks Airport Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing