We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take this Road trip up to Coldfoot and the Arctic Circle then fly back”

Northern Alaska Tour Company
Book In Advance
More Info
US$219.00*
and up
Arctic Circle Drive Adventure
More Info
US$449.00*
and up
Morning Arctic Circle Fly Drive Adventure
More Info
US$459.00*
and up
Journey Above the Arctic Circle - Fort Yukon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience Alaska’s Arctic! Northern Alaska Tour Company pioneered Arctic Circle touring on Alaska’s Dalton Highway. We invite you to experience for yourself the legendary hospitality and authentic interpretation that made our Arctic Circle Adventures famous. During the Summer we are open 6:00 AM to Midnight 7 days a week, during the Winter we are open 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM Monday - Friday.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Redington Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Take this Road trip up to Coldfoot and the Arctic Circle then fly back”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The tour starts really early at 5.30am, but you soon realize just how much there is to see.
Our guide, Michael Dean, was great, he knew every inch of the road and explained every mile and answered every question we had.
They use a large van which comfortably seated 8 people and made us swap positions in the van at every stop, which was usually every hour and half. We followed the dalton highway along the pipeline all the way past the Arctic Circle into Coldfoot.
We stopped for lunch at the Yukon River.
On the way back, we took a Chieftan plane back..
The tour was great and we saw so much stuff...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    63
    21
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a MUST do if you are in the Fairbanks Area. We did the early morning flight over the Arctic Circle, landing in Coldfoot then drove over to Wiseman, a self sustaining town of 17 people, including one 21month old child. Jack, who lives in Wiseman gave a very informative talk about what it is like living there. The plane ride was awesome, with 5 passengers, plus the pilot. The weather was great so we were able to get incredible views of the scenery. The pilot was also very informative and gave wonderful descriptions of what we were flying over. This is a don't miss attraction.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank spoiledrotten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour Company”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Did the Arctic Circle air adventure. Did not have a clue what to expect or how to dress. (Perhaps more info available on that would be helpful.). Wow. How unique. The employees and guides were all so pleasant and efficient. Nick, the pilot, was great. I sort of wish he had been allowed to explain more of the area as we flew over. Also, since the passengers did not have microphones on their headset, we could not communicate with each other which would have made the trip more interesting. The guide/van driver, Jen, was just the opposite - full of knowledge and facts. It went so quick. Would have loved to have had more time to ask questions and look around. Another plus for the tour company is that everyone loved their jobs!! Great job.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelerVaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great trip and tour”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We did the 7am flight to Coldfoot and the drive north to Wiseman, pop 12. One of the locals, Jack, then spoke to us about life in the area which was really interesting. This tour was fantastic from start to finish, very well run and very informative. It certainly makes you realise how hard some people live and how good we have it. Good flight on the way there and the pilot flew low enough for us to get a good chance to see a whole range of things. We flew a bit higher on the ay back because of the weather but that's how it goes sometimes. Very glad we did it and we would highly recommend doing this trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arctic Circle Air Adventure---quite the adventure”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This tour started in Fairbanks and flew up to Coldfoot in the Arctic Circle. We then drove to Wiseman and met a man who lives in the town of 13. Quite interesting to hear him talk about living in a "town" with so few people and how he lives. Then went back to Coldfoot located on the Dalton Highway. This is not a tour for someone scared to fly in small airplanes! It was great fun, though, to fly over miles and miles of wilderness.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank moosedawgmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Alaska Tour Company also viewed

 

Been to Northern Alaska Tour Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing