We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Found by accident as all hotels in town booked, got the last 2 rooms here. Really nice, very accommodating staff, very attentive and friendly . AAA discount made it even better. Comfy beds, spacious rooms, good bar with great nachos, beautiful grounds and the added bonus of an outstanding antique car collection on the property! Tucked away from the main drag. The next door Wedgewood suites are ok if you need to sleep more people or need a kitchen, but Bear lodge much nicer and comfortable. Were here for several days. We were hunting and we were able to keep our meat in the walk In freezer !! A lifesaver! Also picking us up at 5 am to take to airport! Just ask, they will do!

Room Tip: Some are a LONG way from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unclegrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
41
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. We were on the third floor and had a small private veranda with a screened sliding door. Fairbanks is known for its beautiful summers, and because the outdoor temperature got to almost 80 degrees on the day of our stay, we chose to leave the veranda door open all evening to let in the cool evening air. I loved waking up to the sounds of birds. The bed was quite very comfortable, and the bathroom was large and modern.

The Bear Lodge is part of a complex that includes a world-class auto museum (yes, in Fairbanks), and the grounds are beautifully maintained.

The Bear Lodge was very competitively priced, but be aware that the hotel does not offer a complimentary breakfast. I am not sure if there is a restaurant on the premises. The hotel is near a residential area and an elementary school, but not much else. There is a free shuttle to take guests to downtown Fairbanks, so the remoteness of the location isn't too much of a problem even if you don't have a vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskaAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Bear Lodge this past weekend with my family. We rented two rooms and were charged $80 more than we agreed to written we booked the rooms ($20 per night per room). I spoke with the manager about the discrepancy and he said that the fine print allowed him to charge us a higher rate. I told him I felt this was dishonest and asked to see the fine print that allowed him to do this. He spent nearly thirty minutes trying to find it, but was unable to produce it. I asked if he had the authority to correct the rate. He said he did, but then said he refused to change it.
Unless they decide to change the management, I wouldn't trust this hotel and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went to the Lodge as part of our Princess Sea/Land Cruise. It was our last stop with the vacation, and the best of the places we stayed as part of the trip. The rooms were clean, and spacious. There is really nothing else in the area. they do have a nice little trail that wraps around a little lake, wildlife refuge. And there is a GREAT Antique Car Museum, that is a Must to see. I'm not a car guy, but these were the most beautiful, rare cars I've every seen. Can't imagine they are in a parking lot/museum in Alaska.
We went to an Italian restaurant across the street from the hotel, was pretty good.
They also had a shuttle to Fairbanks town, but really not much there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNICKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very spacious, well appointed rooms. Location is great with nice trail in the back of the resort. However the mosquitoes were in full force during our stay and we had to return not able to complete the trail. The hotel is located in a area that looks a bit run-down with not many restaurant choices nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaiFHMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Best bed and pillows I have had in two weeks! Rooms are huge with lots of room. Free wifi. Would recommend Bear Lodge to others.

Service in the bar, lounge was very slow. The male Bartender had a bit of an attitude, as though we were disturbing him by coming in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jo ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying here. We usually stay at the sister lodging the Wedgewood, but wanted to give this one a try as we were very satisfied with our Wedgewood stays. HOWEVER, we are very dissatisfied with our stay here. When we came back to our room after a long day, we were greeted with a room that looked thrown together. Bedding not changed. Blankets pulled up and partially tucked. Bedspreads either on floor or tossed on end of bed. Only one bath towel left and set on counter behind toilet. We are checking out of here 2 days early. Will not stay another night nor recommend this place. I took pics but cannot attach here. mor

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
3.3 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#11 of 23 in Fairbanks
188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort

Property: Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort
Address: 325 Wedgewood Dr, Fairbanks, AK 99701-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal resort hotel at Wedgewood Resort. Open mid-May through mid-September. Relax in comfort! Enjoy a spacious guest room and indulge in the quiet surroundings of 30 beautifully landscaped acres of flowers. The Bear Lodge experience is worth sharing. From the on-site Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum to the 75 acre wildlife sanctuary to the fully-equipped fitness center. Don't missed the grilled salmon from the Golden Bear Restaurant or the juicy sirloin cheese burgers at the Bear's Tale Lounge. Print out your boarding pass in the Internet Espresso Bar or select a Alaska-made product from the Bear Essentials Gift Shop.The Bear Lodge will fill your Alaskan experience with memorable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bear Lodge at Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Lodge At Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing