We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 7 Gables Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
7 Gables Inn & Suites
Ranked #25 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
yakima
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night. The room was inside a private home. Given this, some may be uncomfortable, but it was actually a nice change from a hotel- give it a chance.
We found the room immaculate, comfortable and inviting. The bathroom had a huge, 2 person jacuzzi tub with a large bottle if bubble bath. There was a large, flat screen TV.
During check in I was told that if we wanted the gourmet breakfast we would put out name on a note pad, if unable there would be coffee, waffles available in the kitchen.
There are bikes and canoes available.
This is in a residential area near the college and airport. We needed a taxi to take us to the train and this was a quick ride.
Very quiet and beautiful flowers all around!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakimawinelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    17
    15
    37
See reviews for
16
47
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The male owner showed us all the rooms and gave us a tour. At the time i was very sick and going up and down all the stair was making me breathless and uncomfortable. We saw a room we liked and I asked to end the tour. He was bery rude and said this is how we do it. I was very embarrassed and uncomfortable.

The building we went with has a small sketchy stairway which would have been quaint and give it an apartment like feature if we had felt safe. A door led to a 6x4 hallway that had two doors to two rooms.

My husband and i are a young couple so we thought the room was nice and enjoyed the jacuzzi tub. We also loved the kitchenette with doshes and plates.

The neighbors that we shared the small hallway with were in my opinion drug dealers. They had high traffic of differet people coming in and out. We could smell weed being smoked and a strange chemical smell that made me sick. I would guess they were cooking some type of drug. My husband was there and we had paid for a week so we put up with it.

My husband went to the male owner and told him all this. he replied they pay cash and good for business. what an idiot. i am glad he is ok with providing people housing to make and sell drugs.

My active duty army husband had to go the field and i no longer wanted to stay in the room. the female owner understood and changed my room. she also convinced me I should be the one to call the cops on the drug dealers. i almost did but decided not to because its her damn hotel. I didnt want drug dealers coming after me. the lady did seemed concerned and said her husband wasnt doing anything about it. i felt bad for her because her husband is a jerk.

I changed rooms to one down the road in a shady looking area. I moved in and found used needles in a drawer. I started loosing it crying. I had just moved from florida and felt scared out of my mind. I moved my stuff out went back crying and she gave me some of my money back. The owner was shocked because she said her employees stay in that room. First off i was annoyed i got put in an employee room and they have drugees working there.

This place has he potential to be very enjoyable. I found it very quaint. The wife should not let her husband around guests. Stop employing and renting to drugees. It would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jray1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Silver Salmon Creek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was excited that $85 got us a place that would take dogs and have a kitchenette and free breakfast. But the breakfast was in the main building, which I was aware we wouldn't be at, but not aware I wasn't even in the same city block. So if I wanted it, I would have to drive over at 7:30am. And we had to let them know ahead of time if we were coming. The room was like a college dorm. The door opened to the hall where the main door outside was. There was a gap under the door where the light and noise from the hall came in, right at the foot of our bed. We heard the people all coming and going all night.

There was a jacuzzi tub, cable, and wifi. There was a big fridge and a kitchen with a table. The oven was broken, and they did send someone over to fix it. Thing is, they did not tell us they were coming. We had been out, and walked in to two strangers in the kitchen. They were nice, and had fixed the stove, but did not make themselves known while we were talking and unpacking our things. I just would have liked to be informed when they were coming and that they were there.

The whole experience was just kind of disappointing and uncomfortable. I highly recommend this for a college students long term housing. Or as a cheap alternative to a hotel room. But it is not the big fancy layouts listed on their websites. One small full sized bed, in a tight space and a kitchen squished into a hallway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyhilterbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Grove, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood in the university area. We got a room with a jacuzzi and a "fireplace" for under $100 on Valentine's weekend which I feel is a great deal. The staff was genuinely friendly as opposed to the usual false saccharine sweet you typically see in a service environment. The room was smaller than I expected but not uncomfortably so. The decor was reminiscent of my grandmother's house in the early 90's, and may have actually been that old, but it was well cared for and in decent condition. Initially the decor was a little off-putting for a romantic getaway but we were able to laugh about it and it was easily overlooked. The jacuzzi worked great and the false electric fireplace was surprisingly pleasant. Everything seemed clean except for the faint hand-print on the ceiling over the bed (someone had a better time that we did I guess). I'm pretty sure the person in the room next to us was going deaf since I could hear his TV everywhere (down the hall, in our room, etc.). The internet was slow and would disconnect intermittently but most hotels have issues with that on a regular basis so nothing out of the norm. I really liked the house and the grounds and after a few minutes of the tour we were given at check-in I felt very at home. All in all we had a great time, I would have no problem recommending others stay here as well.

Room Tip: This is a B&B style hotel, don't expect it to look or feel like a radisson, it is a personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed here in high summer because all of the major hotels in the area were full. The price was right, the food delicious, the decor beautiful, and the flowers glorious. The rooms were clean and we had internet. We had the run of the house -- able to fully enjoy the living room, books galore, and an assortment of coffees and teas. There was adequate parking with plug-ins for winter. The location was spendid for us. We liked it so well, we stayed there again in November without even bothering to check the availability anywhere else. What's not to like? We liked it all!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed our stay. Inside, the place is a bit of a maze and every room is different. So make sure you take a look around. The room we stayed in had a kind of seventies feel, but was comfortable enough. We enjoyed the breakfasts -- each day, something different, hearty and homemade. The owner graciously allowed us to use the kitchen to cook our own steak dinner one night. The inn is in a quiet location, very convent to the University of Alaska and its wonderful museum. The water wasn't that great -- if it sat, some sediment appeared. All in all, we felt we got good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyLC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Large home with acceptable to nice rooms in the inn portion. Housekeeper had to be invited to make bed, clean toilet & failed to replace tissues. Breakfasts were fine. Be sure to drink filtered water or bring bottled water. Wireless internet available, but not secure. Flowers and gardens nice. Laundry facilities available. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the Aurora from your room in the inn, ask for room in the back of the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.2 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#5 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fairbanks
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
0.7 mi away
Golden North Motel
Golden North Motel
#16 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Gables Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Gables Inn & Suites

Property: 7 Gables Inn & Suites
Address: 4312 Birch Ln, Fairbanks, AK 99709-3443
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 7 Gables Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your 7 Gables Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn & Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing