We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will tell it like it is and then you can decide if it's worth staying there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
7 Gables Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We arrived late at night. Even though they were expecting us, they weren't expecting us. The inn keeper, I guess that's who it was, never introduced himself to us. The room that we booked was frozen. This was not their fault as it was -33. But....you would have thought that they would have checked it out before our arrival and before he charged our credit card. After inquiring as to breakfast the reply was: I don't know about it. My wife takes care of that. As it turns out I guess he did know about it because he signed us up for breakfast between 8 and 9 but failed to tell us. The next morning when we saw the wife, who also never introduced herself, she said something like: you were signed up and didn't show so I locked everything up. I guess they really don't place much stock in hospitality. We made sure to sign up that night but then the next morning we couldn't find anyone. Luckily the nameless wife walked by and asked us if we knew where the breakfast room was, which of course we didn't because no one ever bother to mention it to us. In any case the breakfast was not worth getting up early for so after missing the first breakfast, eating breakfast the second day, we decided that sleep was more important the third. On the positive side the room, not the original which we booked and was frozen, we stayed in was clean and very cozy. The price was also very reasonable. And the housekeeper was very friendly and helpful about restaurants and activities in the area.

Room Tip: If you travel in the winter be sure to ask if your room is in working order before you pay. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patricia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there from September to November for my husband's work and it was great! The people there are so nice. It's cute and quaint, one of our favorite places in Alaska! They have jetted tubs, big comfy beds and not far from many things to do. I highly recommend if traveling to Fairbanks, you stay there. It was cold so we didn't get to use them, but they have bicycles for you to use and it's close to the Chena River. Also in walking distance to almost anything you might want or need!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank AlindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night. The room was inside a private home. Given this, some may be uncomfortable, but it was actually a nice.
It was quiet. There was a 2 person Jacuzzi tub and it was very clean.
We left too early to have the breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yakimawinelovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were surprised to hear poor reviews. We stayed in the main building in two different private rooms, one with a queen and one with a king. We found the owners nice and really enjoyed the homey atmosphere. In-room jacuzzi tubs in the private rooms was crazy luxurious for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jktravelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked over the net. Bad decision! Checked in after our train trip, the carpets were filthy, kitchen was dirty and messy. The people that own it have so much work to do, they are in over their head. I don`t know who rates these places or if anyone actually visits to rate them. worst place we have ever stayed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank banff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Not a pleasant experience as we were at the efficiency building two blocks from the main inn and there was considerable construction going on. Room was shabby, carpet old and worn, bed and bedding old and rather uncomfortable, coffee pot not clean, no toilet roll hanger, thin and worn curtains which did not prevent anyone from looking in, wifi password did not work and there was no response from owners when they were informed of this. They do not respond very well to emails so phone them first to confirm price and dates. Overall, a funky experience that I will not repeat in the future when we are in Fairbanks to visit my son at UAF.

Room Tip: don't stay in the Abbey House which is a considerable distance from the main inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The room was small however it did have an ensuite bathroom which was a nice plus however I am under the impression that not all rooms do. The breakfast is only served from 7:00am-9:00am so those needing to head out before that do not get anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
404 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#15 of 23 in Fairbanks
308 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fairbanks Moose Manor Bed and Breakfast
3.2 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#2 of 40 in Fairbanks
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Gables Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Gables Inn & Suites

Address: 4312 Birch Ln, Fairbanks, AK 99709-3443
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range: £50 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 7 Gables Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 7 Gables Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn & Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing