We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So nice that it is way beyond words!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Taste of Alaska Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The lodge is fantastic! It feels very Alaskan and homely, just the type of accommodation we were looking for. The interiors were really cool, as they were decorated with all kinds of vintage collectibles. There is even a soda vending machine in the basement with ice supplies!

We got a cosy and comfortable room in the main lodge that has a private back entrance that leads to this open compound where you get excellent views of the Aurora lights. We were the only ones during our one day/night stay in the main lodge and it was a very nice experience as we get the entire lodge to ourselves. Feels like we owned the place for that one night. We ate at the dining area that overlooks a stunning piece of landscape and roamed around the hall as if it's our living room at home.

Kory is the owner of the lodge and he is amazing! We kinda troubled him with several booking issues, and he had been so helpful and gracious with our requests. He was flexible, helped us with our departure transportation upon arrival, and made us feel really at home. We enjoyed chatting with him too.

We had a wonderful experience and will definitely return again one day. Thanks Kory!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank HunniiY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a fabulous place to see the Aurora. The accommodations are outstanding and Corey and the rest of the staff do a great job of making you feel at home. We were very impressed at how hard everyone worked to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. We were especially thrilled with the setting for pictures of the Aurora and the Alaska Range. We could even see Denali every morning. What a view for breakfast! We highly recommend the lodge if you are going to the Fairbanks area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are great if you want to get out easily to take photos of the Aurora
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1earlybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife, and avid photographer, and I visited Fairbanks for three days in mid March to view and photographr the Aurora. We wanted a lodge near Fairbanks, so that we could take advantage of the dining and other activities going on (International Ice Carving Competition and Winter Games) in the area. We were also going to visit the outdoor author, John Hewitt, who for many years wrote for Gray's Sporting Journal, and who has just published his first book, "The Model 12 Winchester as a Way of Life." Taste of Alaska put us in the right location.

We were met by Cory and given a tour of the lodge, before we went to our room on the ground floor of the main lodge building - there are also cabins available. Upstairs is a spacious dining area and communal room, where breakfast is served (don't miss Cory's homemade muffins) and where, by giving notice to Cory, you can enjoy a delcious halibut, salmon, or steak meal. Cory made sure we were comforably settled in, provided us with a map of the area, and gave us some advice on restaurants in the area.

Taste of Alaska is perched on a south facing slope, but has a flat north facing viewing area just outside our door for observing the Aurora. Since the best viewing times are from 11 pm to 3 am in the morning, once the camera was set up, we could periodically take refuge in our nearby room to warm up. The lodge and the surrounding woods make a perfect foreground for photography.

Room Tip: We liked room #3 on the ground floor of the lodge, but any of the rooms in the main lodge would be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We visited this lodge in March of 2014.... attempting to see Aurora Borealis. We were greeted by owner/operator Kory and his beautiful dog Dawson!!! This place is hard to describe!! Beautiful... Rustic... Cozy.... It is nestled about 45 minutes north of Fairbanks... away from the ambient light so you have a greater chance of viewing the Aurora. The main lodge has large viewing windows facing south. For a better view... each room/cabin has an easy access door to walk out onto a snow covered meadow for a better look to the north. The breakfasts are fantastic.... get Kory to make the muffins in a cup..... Mmmmm Mmmmm!!! Lunchtime is on your won but there are great places to eat close by and soooo worth the drive...it is sooo pretty up there!!! Kory or his mom Deb will prepare a scrumptious supper to remember if you make a reservation in the morning!!! You can smell the smoke house when you arrive... get the supper!!!

Room Tip: If you can book the separate cabin... do so... but the main lodge is also very nice. I would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you are looking for a lodge or B&B experience in the Fairbanks area, I highly suggest you take a look at this place. For a few more bucks than a regular hotel room you can get a rustic Alaskan experience that you will be thrilled about! Kory and the staff are great and really take care of you. The lodge is in a great location just outside Fairbanks and located off the same road where the Chena Hot Springs facility is (Chena Hot Springs is about 55 miles down the road from there). The lodge is comfortable and the decor is really nice also...the women will appreciate the decor much more than us men do and will probably be taking pictures of everything!

A nice complimentary breakfast is served in the main lodge dining room at 9:00 am and its a great way to kick off your day. They have everything from bacon and French toast to yogurt, fruit and cereal. Something for everyone.

The lodge is located about .5 miles back from the highway on a private road, which was covered in snow at the time. We were a little worried at first that our 2WD Corolla rental car may get stuck in the snow but fortunately we did not have a problem at all getting in and out of there. There were no overly steep hills or inclines on the driveway that the car had trouble with. Just build up a little speed before you reach the inclines and you will be ok.

We stayed in the downstairs part of the main lodge. This was convenient since our back door opened right up to the back part of the property. This was especially helpful when we were watching for auroras and needed to go back inside and warm up our camera and ourselves! I was able to warm up the camera pretty quick using the hairdryer provided in the bathroom...this process would have taken a lot longer if we were out on the road somewhere. The aurora activity was low that night but we still got a little glimpse of the lights at the lodge.

It is a peaceful and beautiful place that you should experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotts_Travel_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

In September 2013, we visited Fairbanks in hopes of seeing the auroras. We didn't have any luck so decided to try again in March 2014. We stayed at A Taste of Alaska Lodge and truly enjoyed our experience. Upon arrival, we were unable to reach Kory to check in but were able to get to our room with the help of a very kind gentleman. The lodge itself is very nice with a ton of antiques, pictures and memorabilia. Our room was very comfortable and located in the main lodge. We had a door with easy access to the outside area of the lodge. This made it very convenient to the outdoors without having to go through the front door of the lodge. The lodge is located in a nice, wooded area and the open field behind he lodge makes it easy to sit outside and watch for auroras. We did get to see a few lights but had much more luck when we traveled North of Fairbanks. We also enjoyed the use of the outdoor chairs and snow shoes which you can borrow. Kory and his staff made us feel very comfortable. There is a delicious breakfast buffet included in the price. At one point, Kory went out of his way to prepare more food for us after we missed out on one of the food items. All in all, I would recommend staying at this lodge. It was like home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonnes_Travel_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Large clean room with 2 queen beds and homey touches making the place inviting/cozy. Far enough out from the city to view aurora. Separate outside entrance made it easy to warm up between viewings. Breakfast buffet with some homemade items. Kory was very nice/helpful and gave us good tips on how to anticipate when the aurora would be viewable. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
11.1 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
416 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
12.1 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
11.1 mi away
Mount Aurora Lodge
Mount Aurora Lodge
#3 of 25 in Fairbanks
109 reviews
8.6 mi away
Alaska Heritage House
Alaska Heritage House
#2 of 41 in Fairbanks
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Taste of Alaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Taste of Alaska Lodge

Address: 551 Eberhardt Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99712-2944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range: £76 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Taste of Alaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your A Taste of Alaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Taste Of Alaska Hotel Fairbanks
A Taste Of Alaska Lodge Fairbanks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing