We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of Minnie Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minnie Street Inn
Ranked #11 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

On my way to moving into my dorm, my dad came to assist me. We had to book at a short notice because I couldn't move in at the time. The place was very clean and very homey!

We stayed in one room with twin beds and or own bathroom. It was very comfortable and quiet. We greatly enjoyed the room! The best part of the stay was the breakfast! We all sat at a big table and met new people while we were served amazing French toast with all the fixings!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asockpick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    33
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
102
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Staying at the Minnie Street B & B was a delightful experience. My room was comfy, cozy and very clean. The owners have given a lot of thought to making the B & B as nice as possible. Bathrobes and slippers, tourist information, a pleasant dining room area, good and plentiful breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
245 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Our room had a private bath and a comfy bed. It was a little tight going around the chair to the bathroom in the middle of the night, but I judge how good a vacation is on how many bruises I get (bruise easily). We stayed 3 nites. They were very helpful in telling us how to avoid the road destruction/construction near their place. We went to Bobby's on their recommedation and enjoyed it. They called for a cab the day we left and packed us a great cold breakfast. The hot ones were even better!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Positives:
• Our room was clean, bright and airy.
• There was a fridge in the room.
• We enjoyed our morning walk along the river.
Negatives:
• A gruff greeting from the owner, whose wife was away visiting relatives. We did not feel welcomed, nor were we offered assistance carrying our luggage to our room, which we hadn’t been told would be on the second floor.
• No AC and it was over 80 degrees in Fairbanks that late July day. In order to keep the upstairs room almost cool enough, we had to open the windows and blinds and keep the fan on. This meant that the brightness of Alaska’s midnight sun was on our faces all night, and the noise from the rattling of the blinds made us wake up from our uneasy sleep.
• No coffee maker in the room.
• There is a shoes-off policy in the rooms, but the carpet didn’t look like it.
• We had to sign up for breakfast at a certain time, which was inconvenient for us.
• The hot breakfast served was a quiche with meat in it and we are vegetarian, which the owners had been told by our travel agent. The coffee was too weak to drink. The potato pancakes were from a box.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goggirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkeepers, Owner at Minnie Street Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
My wife's Mother was dying so she had to be away for 6 weeks. I was carrying her part of this business as well as my own and I was quite tired. I'm 67 years old and carrying everyone's bags for them is not what we do here, however I will do it when someone simply cannot do it themselves, and asks if I would be kind enough to do it.
In Alaska, everyone takes their shoes off in their homes, just as they do in Japan. As far as the breakfast having meat in it and these folks were vegetarians, I apologize. I'm not quite sure if anything would make these folks happy. Perhaps they would be better off in hotel instead of a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft. lauderdale FL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Nice Host, nice crowd to meet at breakfast, though that would depend on occupancy.They have several seating times, at one big table... Nice folks making the breakfast which was excellent. Room was very nice. THE place to stay if you want a B&B in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrowephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I'm from Anchorage and had a business meeting at the University in Fairbanks. I looked for a B&B because I just didn't want to stay at a blah hotel. Minnie St. is wonderful! My room was very pretty, spacious, and the bed was oh so comfy. The owners were quite friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was great (we had crustless quiche, berrys, and pastries). The other guest were fun, and I'll definitely stay there again when I return.

Oh, about the need to take your shoes off- that's true all over Alaska, in private homes and B&Bs, just as it is in Japan. When we moved up here 10 years ago, we found out the hard way not to wear socks with holes in them to a party at someone's house... :)

Room Tip: I got a premium queen room, it was quite spacious and had a really nice private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayjayay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and stayed here for one night in August 2012. The bed and breakfast is very close to downtown Fairbanks within walking distance. We found the owner, Lambert very helpful and even met some of his extended family. The room was excellent with a very comfortable bed. This bed and breakfast has lovely gardens with outdoor seating.We were recommended to go here by the Fairbanks tourist office and we were not disappointed. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer.Breakfast was good with convivial company.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnie Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnie Street Inn

Property: Minnie Street Inn
Address: 345 Minnie St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-2948
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnie Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minnie Street INN Largely Reduced Rates No longer Serving Breakfast Rooms sold with 2 day minimum You can still expect the same beautiful clean rooms and great downtown location. There is a wonderful restaurant across the street that serves great breakfasts. We will be renting rooms with a 2 day minimum at a discounted rate of $30 off of each room in each season from last year. To offer you this discount, we are no longer serving breakfast. The main kitchen will be available for anyone wanting to use it to cook, and there is coffee and tea available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Minnie Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnie Street Inn Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing