We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to get to know life in Fairbanks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnie Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minnie Street Inn
Ranked #12 of 40 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, California
1 review
“Great way to get to know life in Fairbanks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

A group of 9 of us stayed and used Fairbanks as a base for sightseeing. Two couples were in traditional rooms. Those in the rooms had small rooms, but they also pretty much had the run of the house and a great breakfast to boot (there are larger rooms as well.) It was great!

Our family stayed in the small house. It was like visiting grandma's house. It is very dated, but immaculately kept. Instead of eating breakfast with everyone else, they generously stock the kitchen with breakfast foods. It worked great for us, because it allowed everyone to spread out and get out of each other's hair.

The best feature at Minnie Street B&B are the hosts. They are wonderfully warm and charming people. You learn so much about local life chatting with them.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — It was a little dated
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geekm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    32
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
102
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Van Wa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

On June 27 to June 30th we stayed at Minnie Street Bed * Breakfast. What a wonderful place to stay while your are in Fairbanks,Alaska. We had the most wonderful time and the best breakfast. Our host and hostess were so kind and interesting. We did enjoy visiting with them and also the many guests who stayed there too. Breakfast was served and everything presented to us was lovely. We would go back and stay there again when we are in Fairbanks . We recomend this place to anyone visiting Fairbanks.
Sincerely,
Jerry and Lois Muck
[--]
Vancouver, Wash 98664

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank tufVanWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights as part of a 3 week trip across Alaska.

Really nice place, v friendly. Great room, big bed, nice bathroom, tv, coffee, microwave and a good breakfast.

We took a trip to the Arctic Circle one day and had an early start, a really tasty bag breakfast was provided, much appreciated.

For some reason our room had a peculiar stale/musty odour but that's the only non positive comment I can think of.

Good location, downton is a short walk away

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jmpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

We were travelling with my family of 3 boys, my mom and dad, my sister and a Great Aunt - Minnie Street had a great house that we had all to ourselves! The house was clean and well stocked. It was so nice to totally relax. The boys had a great fenced yard to let go in! Our hosts and their staff were gracious and the breakfast was substantial and delicious.

If ever I am lucky enough to make it back to Fairbanks, Alaska, I know where I will be staying. I would recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Liked — The entire house to ourselves
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfdawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

Minnie Street B & B is my first foray into the Bed and Breakfast experience. I had always avoided it because I always felt like it would be "wierd" to stay at someone else's place. I couldn't have been more wrong! Minnie Street B & B consists of four houses (I believe) on a quiet block. Since they own all the houses, they have the yards connected and the yard is just beautifully done with flowers. Due to the short notice of my trip, I had one of the smaller rooms but it was so cute! The window opened out to the back yard, so it was very quiet at night. My room was very clean and had a private bath that was also spotless. The room included such amenities as an alarm clock, a sound machine, tv and cable. The bath had cups, bath gel, hair dryer and curling iron. There were sodas and water in a fridge on the back deck of the main house, on the honor system for $1. Breakfast was served in the main dining room and was wonderful! I only had the priviledge of staying for one night but the breakfast we had that morning was belgian waffles, watermelon, two kinds of sausage, orange juice and coffee. The B & B is within easy walking distance of downtown, just a couple of blocks, where there are lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Liked — Location, free no hassle internet, cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The shower was very small, but it was still big enough and had good water pressure.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DenaK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg, mb
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

We highly recommend Minnie St. Bed and Breakfast for a quiet, friendly and a very pretty place to stay. The breakfasts are incredible and every morning is such a treat to be served in a lovely setting by friendly staff and to chat with other guests and the hosts Marnie and Lambert. They are extremely helpful with their knowledge of places and things to do of interest in the area. We were there in mid June and are already trying to think of when we can return to see more of Alaska and of course to stay again at Minnie Street B and B.
There is a lovely deck on which to sit and enjoy your coffee or tea while relaxing or reading a book from their collection.
Minnie Street B and B is definitely a 5 out of 5 and so are Marnie and Lamber and their great staff.
Eleanor and Gord, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jennyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RockmartGA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

Hello Marnie, Lambert, Vicki and Jim,

This is Martha White and Sue Kellett who stayed in the Calle suite from June 14 thill June 22.

I, (Martha) is the one from Georgia, and Sue the one from South Carolina.

We truly want to commend you for such a nice stay at your facility. The trip was made more enjoyable by staying with you.
Neither if us had ever stayed at at Bed and Breakfast and from our experience at your location have decided this is the kind of place we always want to stay at when we are traveling.
Your accomodations were very clean and that is what we always look for.

The friendliness of your staff added so much to our trip. We felt like we were among "old" friends which made our experience even more enjoyable. We met some very interesting people during our breakfast sessions, that otherwise, we would not have encountered.

If we ever come to Alaska again, we certainly will make reservations to stay at your complex.

Keep up the good work and maybe we will see you again someday.

May God bless you in your efforts to accommodate travelers,
Martha White and Sue Kellett

  • Liked — Was so clean
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsMarthaRockmartGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.7 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnie Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnie Street Inn

Property: Minnie Street Inn
Address: 345 Minnie St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-2948
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnie Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minnie Street INN Largely Reduced Rates No longer Serving Breakfast Rooms sold with 2 day minimum You can still expect the same beautiful clean rooms and great downtown location. There is a wonderful restaurant across the street that serves great breakfasts. We will be renting rooms with a 2 day minimum at a discounted rate of $30 off of each room in each season from last year. To offer you this discount, we are no longer serving breakfast. The main kitchen will be available for anyone wanting to use it to cook, and there is coffee and tea available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Minnie Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnie Street Inn Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing