We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The location is poor, no attractions within walking distance. Downtown is dead. You are captive of the hotel restaurant. For the price they ought to at least provide a free continental breakfast, but the cheapest you can get is one for $9. Rooms are dated. Wouldn't have chosen it on our own, but Holland America has a captive market.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mloborny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    307
    174
    61
    30
See reviews for
128
334
49
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Must have been in the new tower, our room was large, clean, new, great large shower and vanity. We were on a Holland Cruise, this was suppose to be our hotel. During cruise, Holland changed our entire group to the Regency (did the same in Denali) which is a dirty, old hotel. I went to Holland desk at Westmark and was switched. I was the only one on the bus who asked to be moved even though the other tourist were disappointed. Holland made a lot of money by switching hotels without notification to tourist. Holland claimed we were notified by email, but no one who looked on IPAD had such email. Bad way to end a perfectly nice vacation.

Room Tip: When hotels are switched after cruise is paid for, make Holland switch you back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harmon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This is a large building. Be sure to find the correct tower to get to your room. The staff nicely helped with this. The place appeared to run very efficiently. Our room and the breakfast were both fine. The place does not seem to be close to sites you may wish to visit. You will need your own transportation or use the taxis.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paramus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

As my final destination in Alaska, as part of a Holland America land tour, I stayed at this hotel with many other Holland American patrons. This is the worst hotel I have stayed in many, many years of traveling in the US. It is high priced, but the quality of the rooms and restaurants are worse than any typical budget Howard Johnson hotel. The restaurant management is very unaccomodating. The furnishings are horrible in the guest rooms. The rooms look dark and rugs appear dirty. Grouting needs to be replaced in the bathrooms. By the way I experienced the decor of two rooms after first being assigned to a room that smelled of smoke and was on the street level. I refused that room by insisting to talk to a manager. Another fellow tour passenger complained also about smoke, but did not insist on a room change, and hence was not provided with the option I was..

The restaurant served only a breakfast buffet and was much too expensive. It stopped serving food at 11 AM. I came to breakfast at 10:55 AM and was refused service and directed to the Bar and Grill where I could eat lunch. The chef in an empty resturant refused to serve me an omelette from their limited menu despite pleas from my waitresses.

The area where the hotel was located appeared not to be very busy or safe. Walking to other restaurants or stores was not a good option by oneself.

All in all, I would never go to any Westmark hotel again, after staying in this one. After a luxury cruise, I can not understand how Holland America Lines could provide such a poor quality accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simbacrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed as part of a Holland America Cruisetour. I worried a bit about the rest of the tour when staying here. The hotel was dated, old, and unimpressive. Our room in the old wing was from the 1960's, albeit clean. The bed was marginal in comfort. Fortunately for us, the overall trip was fabulous! I suppose there is not anywhere better in Fairbanks that can hold these numbers of tourists. Food was OK, no complaints there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
253 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a cruise land tour and it was the worst hotel of the trip and the worst luxury hotel of my traveling career. The pillows and beds were very old with lumps and springs, the shower was vintage and you could here the whoosh of the toilet every time that someone on the floor flushed. It is 6 blocks from downtown, but I would stick with the hotels closer to the airport for a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanfarmgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a really good tour, mostly as part of a Holland America cruise/land tour. It was really a disappointment. It is in a poor location with respect to restaurants or any city venues. You are almost captive to the hotel restaurant, which was mobbed for the breakfast buffet, but whose limited dinner menu was not too bad. Our primary complaint was with our room. There were problems with both the toilet and the bathtub drain, the first of which was repaired when we reported it after the first night. But we were not convinced that the room was really clean when we found a used tissue on the floor by the bed. And there were no available outlets to charge electronic equipment, despite the fact that there was a desk meant for working. We requested and got a power strip, but even the hotel employee had difficulty moving the furniture in order to find an outlet to use. If you are a captive audience as we were, you may not have any choice of a hotel, but if you do have a choice, I would not recommend this one!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank annesass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pioneer Park Inn
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 813 Noble Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing