We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine service but needs new mattresses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Charleston, wv
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine service but needs new mattresses”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a conference. The conference rooms were good. The service all through the weekend was good. Staff were nice everywhere from lobby to coffee/gift shop [good coffee!] to restaurant and cleaning staff. It is obvious that the hotel public areas have been refreshed and are pleasant. But for goodness sakes, what does a guest need most? A good night's sleep, of course. The hotel needs to invest in new mattresses. The mattresses remind me of state park cabins, circa 1960s.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LpfwvCharleston_wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    321
    186
    63
    31
See reviews for
134
353
50
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IF ID
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a nice moderately priced hotel whose rooms are nice but certainly not fancy. The room decor is a bit dated and quite modest. For example the tv was not a modern flat screen and the reception was okay. The work station area was sufficient and the complimentary wireless was reliable with decent speed. My only major complaint was the shower ran out of hot water although not completely cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 756brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel is very easy to find, check in was quick and staff were very helpful. The room was adequate; clean and quiet which is important to us!. We didn't use the restaurant but bar service was friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 'budget' area and it was perfectly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Check in was smooth, the attitude of the attendant was cool. I was not thrilled with my room though. The space it self was big but there was dust on all surfaces, the remote did not work for the TV and the sheets and blankets are scratchy. The bathroom counters are about the only updated thing in the room. The iron had years of build up on it so I wouldn't use it to press my clothes for fear of staining them.
The shower alternated between very hot and very cold.
The conference room was fine although it could use some sprucing up. The restroom that is is located close to the conference room could use some attention. There are tiles missing from the wall and the waste basket in the stall was on the floor. I don't think maintenance is high on their list of to do here.
I do have to mention the server at dinner on Wednesday night. He was fantastic! Friendly and went out of his way to get what was needed for our large group. Great job!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowshunakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairbanks hotels

Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed ( 8/2012) in several Westmark Hotels and all were clean and comfortable. The hotel in Fairbanks was busy but that was okay. The food was good. They had a wake up service for the Northern Lights but the Lights never came out while we were there. The gift shop had a coffee shop that was convenient for us for breakfast. They had bagels, cereal and coffee. I wouldn't hesistate to stay at a Westmark hotel. I used the self service laundry in Fairbanks. They had six washers which were used quite a bit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulab354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here as part of Holland America Cruise tour for two nights and thought this was the least impressive of the five hotels we stayed in.

It was extremely busy with several tour groups staying, so reception always looked like a busy railway station with people hanging about waiting for coaches etc. Accomodation is in two towers with no access by stairs. When asked, a member of staff curtly informed us that stairs were for emergency use only and were all alarmed. We like to use the stairs if we're not too high up in a hotel. The room was fine, no cleanliness issues, just thought it was a bit dated and could do with redecorating. The window was broken - stuck open and we found the air con to be very noisy. We were on the fourth floor overlooking the car park and thought that it would be relatively quiet, but boy, the walls are very thin, you could hear every word from next doors TV. I was glad I had my earplugs with me!

We ate in the bar on the first night, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food OK. The restaurant looked very nice but expensive. It was OK for a two night stay, but I didn't think it was the best location in town and it's busy with tours which needs to be borne in mind if you are an independent traveller.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Top
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

On an Holland America Tour and ate here one night. The halibut here had the best taste of any I have ever had. This was the best meal of our 14 days in Alaska. The Bulgarian waiter was excellent. The restaurant manager spent alot of time talking iwth our group of 8. Do not remember the name of the restaurant but we all commented on how great the food was there. The Westmark was overbooked so we were staying at The Regency down the street. We were on the Holland America tour meal plan so everything on any menu was covered except alcohol. I would reccommend the meal plan as we saved 100's of dollars. All of our group of 8 had the meal plan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
275 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,098 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing