We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Alaskan Cruise with Holland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“First Alaskan Cruise with Holland”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I and 11 of our friends booked an Alaskan Land/Cruise Trip, and this hotel was our first stop. It is a very nice hotel, and they are very accommodating. We were on the obviously newer side of the hotel. Our room was very big with a queen size bed, a sitting area with a desk and two chairs, and a small kitchen area with a table and two chairs. We had two flat screen tv's - one in the bedroom and one in the sitting area. Very comfortable and fun. My brother and his wife, however, were on the older side of the property, and they had an older room, no sitting area and no kitchen area. Their room was not as nice.

There is a nice dining room with a breakfast buffet...either alacarte or full. Prices were reasonable for what you were offered. The lobby is always full because they run many cruisetours through this hotel.

The gift shop is fabulous...lots of fun gifts, and there is a coffee shop if you don't want to have breakfast.

We would stay at this hotel again...it is within walking distance to the Cultural Center and downtown Fairbanks. We would definately ask for the rooms on the newer side.

Room Tip: As I said in my review, ask for the newer section with the kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    328
    199
    64
    34
See reviews for
142
370
52
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures on internet. We paid $99 per night which was a great price. Pictures of the room on internet are of the "new" tower. Seems that the $99 gives you a room in the older north tower. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bed was great and the sink part in the room has been upgraded. Bathroom and rest of the room are a bit dated but again for $99 it was a great stay. The hotel is located in "downtown" Fairbanks and there are some nice restaurants on walkable distance. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpfull. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unique_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

A three star hotel owned by Holland America cruise lines. This hotel was a five-minute walk from the Fairbanks city center which was very small. We were surprised to find out all but two or three diner type restaurants opened on Labor Day when we tried to find a place for dinner, other than the restaurants at our hotel. There were a few other places away from the city center where one had to take a taxi cab which the meter seemed to jumped 20 cents every block. Adding a two-way trip to a meal made it that much more expensive.
The hotel itself was slightly below the standards of those in the lower 48 with the same star ratings, such as Hampton Inn or Residence Inn. However, the convenience of having Holland America's service desk right inside the hotel proper made up some of the less desirable aspects.
We stayed in this hotel for two nights. Our room was on the top floor in the North Tower, had a relatively good view of the city center from the distance, and free, though weak WIFI. The room itself was of sufficient size with a good size desk. The TV was an old tube type with fuzzy receptions on all stations. Furniture were worn out, and the bathroom functioned adequately with a yucky shower head. The worse thing was the roaring (vacuum actuated) toilet flushing system that would wake the deepest sleeper up at night. The walls and door were so thin that we could hear the other guests talking outside in normal tone, and the next door guests flushing their toilets or turning on their bathroom fixtures. We understood from talking to our fellow travelers and from reading other TripAdisor comments that the rooms in the South Tower were in even worse shape, and also without WIFI access. We did not eat in either restaurants on the premises for we thought the offerings were pricey for the level of the settings. The in room coffee was weak and tasteless. According to the room service person, each room was only "allowed" one regular coffee package each day. When my wife asked her for more packages because I wanted one more cup of coffee, she was told to buy it downstairs either at the restaurant or at the coffee stand inside the gift shop! (For some reasons, the maid was more generous on decaf's which I did not want.)
Note: In retrospect, we were kind of in sticker shock with prices while in Alaska, and Fairbanks happened to be the first place we started on that trip. After we stayed in three more locations in Alaska before we board the cruise ship, we found the prices in Fairbanks were about par with other cities in that state.

Room Tip: Ask for North Tower rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolivitaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherd, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We've stayed at the Westmark twice now in Fairbanks and feel we will be back without hesitation. The hotel has two different towers- an older one and a newer one. In our first stay we were in the older tower. This wasn't really a problem as the room was quite nice and spacious, and very clean. We were there a total of four nights.
Our second stay was for seven nights in the newer tower. Our room was equally as nice, just newer. If you prefer more updated furniture, do request the newer rooms. If it doesn't matter, then rest assured whichever place they put you, you will be fine!
Downstairs they have the Northern Latitudes Restaurant as well as the Red Lantern Steakhouse. My husband and I prefer the atmosphere of the Red Lantern if we are looking to get an appetizer and a few drinks. They have a wonderful selection of fun drinks made from local liquors, such as blueberry or rhubarb vodka. I'm not a drinker normally, so it really has to look enticing for me to dive in and try one!
You are also located right near downtown, so if you like to wander and check out some different restaurants or be near the river, this can be a good option if you don't mind walking a few blocks.
All in all, a good experience. Customer service is great, very friendly staff, and very fair prices. Only downside for long-term stays like us is a lack of a refridgerator and a microwave. But it surely didn't ruin our experience!

Room Tip: North tower has the newer rooms, while South Tower is older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDTrpQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, wv
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a conference. The conference rooms were good. The service all through the weekend was good. Staff were nice everywhere from lobby to coffee/gift shop [good coffee!] to restaurant and cleaning staff. It is obvious that the hotel public areas have been refreshed and are pleasant. But for goodness sakes, what does a guest need most? A good night's sleep, of course. The hotel needs to invest in new mattresses. The mattresses remind me of state park cabins, circa 1960s.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LpfwvCharleston_wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IF ID
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is a nice moderately priced hotel whose rooms are nice but certainly not fancy. The room decor is a bit dated and quite modest. For example the tv was not a modern flat screen and the reception was okay. The work station area was sufficient and the complimentary wireless was reliable with decent speed. My only major complaint was the shower ran out of hot water although not completely cold.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 756brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The hotel is very easy to find, check in was quick and staff were very helpful. The room was adequate; clean and quiet which is important to us!. We didn't use the restaurant but bar service was friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the 'budget' area and it was perfectly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#12 of 23 in Fairbanks
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing