We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were on a gray line of Alaska tour and this is one of their hotels. Upon arrival hotel staff were in Lobby to greet arriving guests. Lobby open clean and spacious. Upon entering room noted cleanliness ,newer bedspreads and nice wood paneled wall with flat screen. Room had marble top desk area and mini fridge. Had dinner in hotel bar, which had same menu as restaurant. Waitstaff were polite and knowledgeable about menu items. Food was well prepared and delicious. Would recommended this hotel if your in fairbanks.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Smlny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

LOCATION - The Westmark is in a central location in downtown Fairbanks, the second largest city in Alaska, and only 6 miles to the Fairbanks Airport. It is two hours north of Denali. It is within walking distance to several restaurants, a few shops, the Visitor’s and Cultural Center, and the Chena River Riverwalk, a 3.5 mile walking and biking pathway along the river and through several parks and plazas, and the antler arch. It appears to be the main source of accommodations in downtown Fairbanks.

FACILITY/AMENITIES - The Hotel has 400 comfortable, very clean rooms of various types. We found the bathroom roomy and the sleeping arrangements most comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well. The lobby is very spacious with a variety of welcoming sitting areas. The hotel has two restaurants offering the same menu – The Northern Latitudes Restaurant which is more formal, and The Red Lantern Steaks and Spirits, which is more casual and pub like. The food and service offered were very good. We very much enjoyed our meal in the casual restaurant, along with the delicious Alaskan Amber beer. The hotel has a workout room, and a very nice gift shop where I purchased a number of gift items for friends and family. The gift shop also sells coffee and cold drinks. A great plus was a luggage scale located in the lobby to check the weight of suitcases when packing for the flights home. The hotel also has a tour desk.

SERVICE – All staff was most accommodating. An added bonus was being offered late check out for no extra charge.

ATTRACTIONS – Walking distance to the Chena River Riverwalk, The Morris Thompson Visitor’s and Cultural Center, the Golden Heart Plaza, Griffin Park, and the Antler Arch, made up of over 100 moose and caribou antlers found in the interior. The Riverboat Discovery and the Gold Dredge 8 Tour in Fairbanks are interesting and educational. We especially enjoyed the Gold Dredge 8 tour, learning about the Pipeline, gold rush days, and panning for gold. When in Fairbanks in the summer, be prepared for endless daylight – over 21 hours a day of daylight!

Our stay at the Westmark was pleasant and comfortable, and the facility offered all we needed, when concluding our cruise/land tour of beautiful Alaska.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank School's Out 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Westmark Fairbanks as part of a Holland America cruisetour. We previously stayed at Westmark Anchorage and McKinley Chalet Resort in Denali. This hotel was the best of the bunch. Very modern and the rooms appeared to be updated. When we arrived at the hotel around 5 p.m., there was a power outage in the area and we were supplied with glow sticks and escorted to our rooms. We went out of the hotel to have dinner, but I heard that they provided complimentary food to hotel guests who had stayed in. Power was restored when we got back to the hotel at almost 7 p.m.. Staff was very helpful and were apologetic about the inconvenience it had caused us. The room was nicely decorated. Our one complaint is that it was small and there was not much room between the beds and the credenza. We had a breakfast buffet in the morning at the hotel restaurant. We had many choices to choose -- from cold cereals, hot cereals, meats, eggs, juices, morning pastries and bread. Very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LindaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Conveniently located. Compared to other hotels in Alaska we were pleased. Room was clean; bed comfortable. 7th floor rooms had good layout with kitchenette, 2 TV's, sitting area, 2 queen beds and nicely sized bathroom. Noticed that photos on web site did not show anything that looked like our room - photos may be of rooms but I wouldn't recognize any of them - and I doubt most people would. Two restaurants compliment each other; one more of a bar atmosphere and one at a higher level. Good service in restaurants; interesting waitresses - often international. Pleasant, airy lobby and receiving area. Workout room! Yea! Nice sized laundry facility. Convenient to downtown Fairbanks. Nice gift shop. Even a shipping room if one's suitcase is getting a bit hefty. Highly recommended. We'll stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: Room 739 was good but next time I will request a room looking toward Denali - just in case Mt. McKin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank J D C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Upon check-in, we were told that our room was cheaper than when we booked it and we were given the cheaper rate. Large clean room, black-out drapes completely closed out the 24 hour sunlight. There is a laundry facility with several washers and dryers on the ground floor, very handy. It could have been better cleaned but overall not too bad. In the lobby area are several tables and if you ask at the front desk there are board games you can play to pass the time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ILTraveler1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were there in late May, so perhaps they hadn't yet gotten organized but things were just lacking, in general. The room was just okay ~ beds not terrific. Very dated.
The food left a LOT of room for improvement. Breakfast buffet was just okay............a bit disorganized but dinner was a fiasco. Servers were either over-worked or just not trained and the "service" was totally lacking; we had to flag down people all the time. Mussels were like eating rubber bands ~ SO overcooked ~ the only thing that looked decent was the fish and chips the people next to us ordered. Even our drinks tasted like the "virgin" style ~ not one of us could taste any alcohol. We were wishing we'd returned to the Thai Restaurant down the street that we'd researched before leaving home; we'd had lunch there.

Room Tip: I don't know. Everyone else in our Tour Group was in a complete other area/wing of the hotel; p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MONETTE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group (Not Holland America). The room was adequate but very cramped. We were in a room at the far end of the hotel hallway. There was barely enough room to walk between the end of the bed and the desk / counter which was built into the inside wall. There was no chair in the room and again, there was barely enough room to walk between the side of the bed and the window. Our room did not look like any of the rooms in the pictures on this site. When I found out the hotel was owned by Holland America, it made more sense as our room resembled the less expensive rooms on cruise ships.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before checking in, as there seem to be all different sizes and configurations, de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
0.2 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#15 of 23 in Fairbanks
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#3 of 23 in Fairbanks
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 813 Noble St, Fairbanks, AK 99701-4977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range: £59 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westmark Fairbanks Hotel & Conference Center is rising to new heights in Fairbanks and sets the standard for elegance, style and service in the Golden Heart City. With a convenient downtown location, the Westmark Fairbanks is prepared to meet your every need, whether business or leisure. Your hospitality needs are served with 400 guest rooms and more than 17,000 square feet of meeting space. Junior, executive and two room suites are available. Wi-Fi internet connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Hotel Fairbanks
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel And Conference Center Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing