We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We encountered the CONS before we experienced PROS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We encountered the CONS before we experienced PROS”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had reservations...we are "Diamond" members of BestWestern Reward program...but that did not carry any recognition at this location. I had injured my ankle and had hobbled to the counter for check in. We were assigned a room on the 3rd floor. But once we loaded up the luggage cart with 6 suitcases and 1 portable refrigerator (loaded with medical supplies) and made our way to the elevator we encountered a sign that stated "Out of Order". The front desk did not have much to say when we inquired as to the inconvenience. We had a large suite but the layout was very awkward. Most suites this large offer a television in the sitting area as well as the bedroom area. We could not sit on the sofa and watch television comfortably. Unfortunately for me, with the extent of my injury that was all I could do!!
Housekeeping came after 3pm our entire stay. This facility has door hangers for housekeeping requests. I liked that the bathroom vanity was in the "bedroom area" allowing for more than one at a time to prepare for the day. Breakfast was the average fare. The hotel location is off the beaten path and appears as a retreat. The room was quiet for the most part. BestWestern Pioneer Park will not be my choice for a hotel on my return visits. My husband was so dissatisfied with our stay at the BW Pioneer Park hotel that for ANY & ALL furture vacation lodgings he does NOT want to stay any BestWestern hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChenaRivergm, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We do extend our sincerest apologies for not being able to exceed your expectation. Here at the Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn strive to make your stay as welcoming and as pleasant as possible. Clearly we did not accomplish that task during your stay.
However we do appreciate you informing us of these problems so we can improve our property and help make future stays more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    141
    50
    16
    8
See reviews for
122
133
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel before and after the Labor Day holiday weekend. Upon my arrival late, I was given a room that had some issues. It was clean but had some maintenance issues. In the morning I spoke with the desk manager and he was very apologetic and moved me into a suite for the remainder of my stay. Now that is old fashioned customer service. Thank you!
In addition, I drive a mobile showroom truck and ideally I need 4 parking spaces and electricity.
The general manager accommodated me by placing 4 street cones out to save a space for my truck right next to an outlet. Again, thank you!
This is the only place to stay in Fairbanks, AK...newly refurbished, quiet and comfortable after a long days work!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kernvilledaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
I apologize again for the maintenance issues you experienced on your first night and I am grateful you allowed us to move you to a different room and upgrade you in the process. We strive to provide our guests outstanding customer service and accommodate the individual needs of our guests whenever possible.

We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

New hotel in very convenient location. Every amenity, including indoor pool. perfect for Alaska! Everyone was most helpful giving directions for my planned activities. Another great Best Western Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank AKLady469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
The hotel was recently remodeled and has that brand new feel. I am very happy we were able to help getting you to your activities while here in fairbanks. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Best Western Pioneer Inn in Fairbanks, Alaska was terrific! The staff was helpful, friendly and efficient. Our room was beautiful and updated with an extremely comfortable bed. We highly recommend this particular Best Western to travelers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
I am so glad you had a great stay and posting your review for others. Thank you and I hope you get to come back to Fairbanks and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Overall this was a good place to stay. It is nestled in a wooded area that is very quiet. There were no major streets around. The staff was helpful and accomodating. The rooms were clean and tidy. The cleaning staff did not mess with any of my personal gear. The only issue I had was there was no water pressure which made showering a timely thing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you had an issue with water pressure. I would appreciate you contacting us so we could look into this issue so it does not reoccur. We hope you get to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The location of this hotel is a little out of the way, but the appears to be completely remodeled and was very nice. The rooms were very spacious and was very comfortable for sleeping. The large breakfast selection was a bonus we didn't count on. Overall a great experience and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gswets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review, is certainly is very helpful to us when guests post their comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed in hotels/B&B's in Ketchikan, Juneau, Soldotna, Anchorage, Danali, and Copper Center over an 18 day period. The room was the nicest of the group, including rooms in 3 hotels that cost (at least) twice as much. And the staff was wonderful, too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank BWS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am extremely happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope you are able to return and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
2.4 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Address: 1908 Chena Landing Loop, Fairbanks, AK 99701-2704 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether guests are here for an event at Pioneer Park, Growden Memorial Park or The Carlson Center , our Fairbanks hotel is conveniently located close to all. Newly remodeled and nestled in a quiet wooded area, within the Fairbanks city limits guests at our Fairbanks hotel can easily get away from it all. Enjoy splendid, spacious rooms designed with comfort in mind. Luxury bedding is featured in each room, and our friendly staff members are committed to making guests as comfortable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Fairbanks
Fairbanks Comfort Inn
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing