We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique and Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Review of The Aurora Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Aurora Express
Ranked #5 of 41 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The Aurora Express is a truly unique experience in Fairbanks, Alaska. Located slightly out of town, this bed and breakfast is made up of seven train cars, located on a piece of track. Sue, the owner, had a dream where her grandmother told her to buy the train cars, once Sue followed her Grandmother's other-worldly suggestion, she decided to make each train car into rooms for a b & b. There is a locomotive in the front that everyone can explore. followed by a genuine Pullman car that Sue has outfitted for families. The next couple of cars each have two individual rooms, outfitted with queen beds. We stayed in the "Immaculate Conception" room, which was decorated with angels, stained glass, two church chairs, etc. There is a bordello room that is decorated ala Gold Rush bordello days. The dining car is where breakfast is served, Sue and Mike are extremely cordial hosts, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone! If you are looking for T.V. and internet then stay in a motel down in town, it you want an unusual and enjoyable experience, then this is the place to stay in Fairbanks! We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Thanks so much, Sue and Mike, and give LaRue (the resident dog) some belly rubs for us!

Room Tip: The caboose is suppose to be especially for couples, but all the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lwithaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I spent the night in a caboose! Mike and Sue Wilson have converted an entire train to the most amazing B&B. On a high mountain overlooking Fairbanks with an amazing view, this B&B is like no other. They transported train cars to their 16 acres and have transformed each car to unique rooms to spend the night. Mike and Sue are warm and friendly hosts who have so many stories about the area. After a delicious breakfast in the dining car, we regretfully had to continue on our way - knowing we'd never find accommodations like The Aurora Express. (1-800-221-0073 - www.aurora-express.com)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We came back to the Aurora Express B&B this June-July (2013) after having first stayed there in 2008. It was better this time than the first time. Since your "lodging" is a train car (or portion thereof), TripAdvisor apparently wants to call this a "specialty" lodging. That classification may cause people to miss out on this unique opportunity but it certainly is a "special" place with very-special people. The rooms are just as nice and comfortable as they were five years ago (we got the "Bordello" room this time; what's not to like about that "theme"?) Mike and Susan are very gracious and informative hosts and are just fun to be around. The dining car where breakfast is served is just as attractive and interesting as it's always been and their breakfast is one of the best we've encountered. Mike built a new home just above the train using logs from the trees below the train and it's opened up the great view a bit. They invited us for a "BBQ" (of fresh salmon from the Copper River area) on their new deck and we had a great time. Just remember to check in at the house (with the copper-colored roof) at the first drive on the right before going down to the train at the second sharp-right turn! (Missed that first part when we got there.) We've read about other nice B&B places in the Fairbanks area and they're probably as good as people say, but we'd likely always stay at the Aurora Express if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prisofazban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

What a hoot!! A great way to start our Alaskan vacation!
When we found this quirky B&B in a book, we just knew it was so "us".
we made our reservations early so we could stay in the coveted caboose--The Golden Nelly"! The experience was more that we thought.... quirky, fun, good food, and most of all, wonderful hosts, Susan and Mike. Our "room" was comfortalble, clean and fun. In the "cat bird seat", the view of the river and surroundings were awesome, only 1 glass of wine reccommended!! I think anyone who wants a true adventure and different from the norm would just love this place, as we did. Just answer this question---- do you know anyone who has been attacked by a polar bear, her friend killed by this bear, and then shot said bear 6 times? Check out Susan's living room to see a huge STUFFED polar bear!!!--- true story-- needless to say we highly reccommend Aurora Express and the only bad thing to say is that Susan and I were deprived of furthering our friendship----we bonded . Thanks for the memories!! Cissy and Yogi

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ky2onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I stumbled across a blog post which included the Aurora Express. Once I saw what it was, we cancelled a downtown hotel and made reservations with Sue. She recommended we stay in the Caboose, as it's a private car and were were on our honeymoon.

Sue allowed up to check in early after sleeping half the night in the WalMart parking lot (after returning from midnight visit to the Arctic Circle). She was a real life-saver. She even packed us a to-go breakfast for the second morning as we had a train to catch.

Our car was a sitting room with sink, hallway back to the bathroom with shower on one side and water closet on the other. A wonderful feature of this room is the crow's nest. Sue has a seat on each side, and opening the windows allows a nice country breeze and a beautiful view of the river below.

I have no need to go back to Fairbanks, but if I ever do, I WILL stay at the Aurora Express!

Room Tip: Let Sue know what you're looking for and when you want to stay, and she'll make a recommenda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Susan and Mike are so much fun and their wonderful train cars really match their enthusiasm for quirky. The cars aren't 5 star but that wasn't why we went. We went because we were curious and wanting to be off the "Princess Hotel" type of tour. We won. The view was terrific out over the river, the suites were totally different than anywhere we'd stayed and breakfast was excellent. (think we got hungry again about midnight) Susan and Mike showed us their home too and talked a little about their lives. A neighbour dropped in and added to our morning entertainment. This B&B type accommodation would be a bit better when the weather was warm but we were grateful to Susan for keeping it open so we could have the experience. Thumbs up from everyone in our group.

Room Tip: Try the caboose if you want a little more privacy (no attached rooms) and best view from your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Most Amazing place in Fairbanks and maybe Alaska. The Owner is a real kick.
We will be back and tell all our friends.

The train cars are so cool. A must Stay. Food was great and scenery great.

They took really good care of us, my wife has special needs and Mike and Susan took great care to meet our needs.

Thanks so much

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
4.8 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Fairbanks
1,245 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sophie Station Suites
Sophie Station Suites
#4 of 24 in Fairbanks
410 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
11.5 mi away
Fairbanks Moose Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aurora Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aurora Express

Address: 1550 Chena Ridge Rd, P.O. Box 80128, Fairbanks, AK 99709-2609 (Formerly Forget-Me-Not Lodge)
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range: £124 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aurora Express is a bed and breakfast nestled amongst towering spruce in the western hills of Fairbanks, Alaska. Overlooking the mighty Tanana River and the Alaska Range, this unique property has a panoramic view of the city and its surroundings. Sleep in authenic Alaska Railroad trains that have been renovated to reflect the gold rush era of the north. Join hosts Susan and Michael Wilson for Copper River smoked salmon, wild alaskan blueberry jam, fresh fruit, hot coffee and eggs every morning while you hear their stories about life in territorial Alaska and working the pipeline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Aurora Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forget-Me-Not Lodge And The Aurora Express Hotel Fairbanks
The Aurora Express Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing