We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved Our Day”

Greatland Taxi and Tours Service
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our local taxi service is not just a Fairbanks International Airport shuttle and transportation service. We have a little bit of everything to keep you exploring the Alaskan Greatland and enjoying your Alaska vacation. For those who have small Alaska vacations on a budget check out our City Tour this could be a great way you get your monies worth. This is where our tour agency comes in to give you the best sights and things to do in Fairbanks and North Pole Alaska Greatland Taxi and Tours Service offers: * Fairbanks City Tours *Chena Hot Springs Tour *Alaska wildlife guide viewing tours *Fairbanks fishing *Ice fishing guide *North Pole Santa Clause House *Denali National Park winter tours *Arctic Circle *Northern Lights and Aurora viewing If you are interested in witnessing the magical Aurora Borealis (aka Northernlights) our Fairbanks best tour guide will assist you in the chase of a lifetime! The best of Interior Alaska awaits you! We are dedicated to customer satisfaction.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked transportation from Fairbanks to Denali with another company. We ran into an issue with the vehicle while in route to Denali. We called Greatland taxi tours and Steve was there to pick us within minutes. He was professional, friendly and went out of his way to make us comfortable. We look forward to booking northern lights tour with Steve the next time we visit Fairbanks AK.

Thank justus705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wild animals"
in 3 reviews
"denali national park"
in 3 reviews
"northern lights"
in 4 reviews
"visit fairbanks"
in 2 reviews
"gringo"
in 4 reviews
"chihuahua"
in 3 reviews
"moose"
in 3 reviews
"chaser"
in 2 reviews
"rick"
in 2 reviews
"aurora"
in 6 reviews
"alaska"
in 7 reviews
"dog"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018

We used Greatland Taxi for a transfer from Fairbanks Airport to Denali for our teenage son who was traveling alone up to Denali after missing the start of a school trip - so precious cargo indeed. We called the chambers of commerce in both Denali and Fairbanks to investigate transfer options, spoke to several destination specialists here from TripAdvisor and I checked trip advisor reviews (am writing to have a different voice from some these reviews), looked at Yellowpages which has 35 5 star reviews and Yelp and ultimately picked Greatland after reading all the sites and hearing from destination experts that he was a good guy. And I can confirm, he is a good guy. I read all the reviews and got a real sense of the owner, Steve. Our experience with Greatland Taxi and Tours was outstanding from start to finish. Steve was super ethical with us and had great communication with us. He did ask if he could bring a dog (Gringo) along on the trip and we immediately said yes as we love dogs. If you aren't a dog person - let him know as he gave us the option. He texted us before, during and after the drive. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. He also pointed out all sorts of interesting information to our son on the drive - and they saw a Moose!

Thank 4familySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Had a confirmed scheduled pick up to go to the airport. Ten minutes after the driver should have arrived we called to find out where they were. Took three tries before we were able to leave a message. Steve called back and asked if his driver hadn’t arrived. He had not. Steve offered to “be there in 10 minutes”. Ummmm. Well, since we were now way behind schedule we couldn’t risk waiting for him and had to take our own car to park in long term parking. With barely a mumbled apology. Thanks a lot. How about paying our parking fee?

1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We paid the man steve through PayPal on his personal account which should have set out alarms off first.
We didn’t even go on a tour he was rude not helpful in wanting to get our money’s worth. He told us on the last day when we were leaving that we can’t get a refund. This information should have been notified upon our first phone call.
He blamed us that we did not give him an early enough call to go on a tour. Then proceeded to ask us what we want to do, as not being local by any sort of means coming from Australia we have zero knowledge.
Not even an email confirmation with the company and policies regarding cancellation polices or refunds.
Even the hotel we were staying at encountered many bad experiences with him.
Trip advisor should reconsider advertising his business that is disappointing and ripping people off both young, old and disabled.

Thank jessicabello17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve S, Owner at Greatland Taxi and Tours Service, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

You booked an Aurora (northern lights) viewing tour which is weather permitting & 100% non refundable as stated clearly on the website. Tour days were extended for free. Other tour activities were offered but you didn't respond until late the following day. You chose not to participate in any tours and there was no way to provide a tour to Denali National Park so late in the day with you needing to catch a late night flight. We work together with hotels and have no complaints. Please be accurate on your review information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We booked the half day fishing trip...I knew it was going to be a "FUN" trip when I called to confirm the day before and was told "I know nothing about it, let me call you back". Maybe if the owner was our tour guide it would have been better but the lady (I use the term LOOSELY) guide did not want to be there. The equipment was a joke..she only brought 4 rods, one of which had a broken reel. We caught a fish but she didn't know what kind it was. A rag patch outfit at most. Do not waste your money or time.

Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greatland Taxi and Tours Service also viewed

 

Been to Greatland Taxi and Tours Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing