We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Critique”
Review of Hotel Le Jolie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Jolie
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is just beside the Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE) and our GPS informed us "you have arrived" while we were sitting in traffic on the highway. Meeker Ave runs just below the BQE and there are numerous intersecting and angular roads around here making it difficult to find even with the best navigation system.

A big plus for this one is that parking is free. There are six to eight premium spaces in front, two very tight spaces in back of the hotel, and city parking under the BQE just across Meeker Ave. All appear relatively safe but access to the rear two spaces involves a fire escape like staircase leading to the first floor with a flight down to the lobby.

This is called a "Boutique Hotel" which I would interpret as "small." Everything about this hotel is small. The lobby, the breakfast area, the room and the bathroom are all small. The lobby was antiseptic and set up for security. That being said, the staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast room was of course small, but the 24 hour available fruit was appreciated when we arrived. The small room was well appointed with a very nice TV and cable system but when the A/C kicked on you had to turn up the TV volume and then down again when it turned off. This cycle occurred every five minutes or so but might be better in the winter. The bathroom was attractive, clean and functional but the shower (no tub) was odd. The water ran under the shower door and pretty much flooded the floor. The shower head was one these large ceiling mounted fixtures that rained straight down on you. Being accustomed to an angular adjustable spray, this was at best inconvenient. Keep in mind that all was very clean and comfortable. Even with the A/C drone, my wife and I both slept well.

Morning coffee from the breakfast room was just awful. I walked under the BQE to a bodega, picked up coffee and brought it back to the room.

In conclusion, I felt a bit claustrophobic in the place. Yes it's NY and if you have business or family nearby, the convenience cannot be overlooked. But the total cost at $343 for one weeknight seemed high compared to more spacious accommodations available not to far away. I will not stay there again, but my wife very well might.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sefcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2014

Dear sefcpa,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Le Jolie during your recent trip to Brooklyn, New York! Many of our guests enjoy our complimentary limited on-site parking and I'm happy that you were able to find a spot for your car. Being a small boutique hotel has its special merits such as top notch cleanliness and attention to details. All our Team Members strive to provide an individualized attention to each and every guest making them feel at home. I'm pleased to inform you that we will soon start much anticipated renovations that will add more charm and functionality to our hotel. In our expanded breakfast area we will be serving hot eggs & sausages and our Lobby will be redesigned as well. There will be an on-site fitness center at lower level and all guest rooms will have brand new decor. We hope you decide to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Urszula R, Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is very modern and clean; the bathroom has a great walk-in "rain" shower. Coming from the Midwest, we are not used to the tiny hotel rooms in NYC...this one was 175 SQ...really small for us but I guess it's the norm in NY where space is at a premium. It had a huge flatscreen TV and a really comfortable bed/duvet. The breakfast is very nice with lots of choices and is included in the room rate. If I had to find something to complain about, I'd say it's a pretty good walk (to a Midwesterner) to the restaurants in Williamsburg, although the subway is VERY close if you want to go into Manhattan or other places. Some parking spots available on site -- no charge -- a rarity in NYC -- and a big plus for us. I'd DEFINITELY use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Dear Judy V,

Thank you for sharing your great review with fellow travelers! I'm happy to hear that you found our complimentary parking convenient during your stay. All the best restaurants and cafes are few blocks away, however the closest place to grab a bite would be the family owned Italian restaurant "Bamonte's" which is located in the building next to us. Please visit us soon as we have so many exciting upgrades planned for Hotel Le Jolie : expansion of the Lobby and Breakfast area, an on-site fitness center and a brand new décor in all guest rooms !

Sincerely,
Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel Le Jolie was perfect for us for our stay in Williamburg, Brooklyn. Other hotels nearby were much more expensive. It was a comfortable stay and a simple breakfast was included. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear CathyM234,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Le Jolie during your trip to Brooklyn, New York ! I'm glad that you had a wonderful stay and are planning to visit us again! I am pleased to inform you that we have many exciting improvements planned for the upcoming months - the expansion of Lobby and Breakfast area, an on-site fitness center and newly renovated guest rooms ! See you next time !

Sincerely,
Urszula R, Guest Service Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. The location is ideal for walking around Williamsburg and the subways are close if you want to go into Manhattan. Breakfast is offered in the morning-nothing fancy but gives you a good start for the day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ladyshopteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Ladyshopteacher,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor ! I'm happy that you found Hotel Le Jolie within an easy walk to major Williamsburg attractions. I will pass on your great comments to all our Team Members. We will soon offer hot breakfast items, as we plan to expand Breakfast and Lobby area, which will also add more seating arrangements for our guests. This will be followed by the addition of an on-site fitness center and newly renovated guests rooms!

Best Regards,
Urszula R, Guest Service Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Clean, small, friendly and efficient, good linens and bathroom finishes, no hairdryer in bathroom, comfortable bed, nothing special about breakfast, and sadly no European coffee, but overall a great value for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lanimadellacasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear Lanimadellacasa,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. Taking the time to write a review never goes unnoticed and is much appreciated. I would like to correct the location of our hotel mentioned by you in the title of the review - Hotel Le Jolie is located in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York.

Best Regards
Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from another weekend in the Big Apple. As usual, stopped at Le Jolie where we greeted by a very friendly, courteous and caring Front Desk staff. All was as reserved. A clean comfortable room was ready for occupancy. The new bathrooms are very attractive with a great rainwater showerhead. Amenities quite "high end." As always, room was immaculate, quiet and comfortable. With free parking, DirectTV, easy subway access and a well-run customer friendly operation, Le Jolie remains a terrific NYC hotel deal.

Room Tip: May want to consider Manhattan-facing rooms, though all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear Coby72,

Thank you for your continuous patronage and loyalty towards Hotel Le Jolie! It is always a true pleasure to see you returning to us when in Brooklyn. I'm pleased to inform you that we have so many exciting upgrades planned for Hotel Le Jolie : expansion of the Lobby and Breakfast area, an on-site fitness center and a brand new decor in all guest rooms !

Best Regards
Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a wonderful find! We stayed at the LeJolie Hotel in Brooklyn for four nights and I can't say enough about this hotel. It was perfect. Great location if you are looking for Brooklyn. Less than two blocks from the subway that got us all around NYC. Clean,modern and fabulous staff. We had a room with a beautiful Manhattan view. Great neighborhood. Loved this hotel and would only stay here the next time I visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula1, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Jolie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear Tellpie,

We couldn't have said it better! I'm so happy that you had the most amazing stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again ! Please feel free to reach me directly when planning your next trip!

Sincerely,
Urszula R,
Assistant General Manager
Hotel Le Jolie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.9 mi away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 75 in Brooklyn
706 reviews
2.6 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 75 in Brooklyn
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 75 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 75 in Brooklyn
1,101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.4 mi away
McCarren Hotel & Pool
McCarren Hotel & Pool
#13 of 75 in Brooklyn
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Jolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Jolie

Address: 235 Meeker Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11211-1244
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#7 Best Value Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £99 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Le Jolie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Jolie is a boutique hotel in Brooklyn featuring free, limited parking, free Wi-Fi & great rates in the Williamsburg neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Jolie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jolie Hotel
Le Jolie Brooklyn
Hotel Le Jolie Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing