We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant time at Coney island”
Review of Coney Island USA

Coney Island USA
Book In Advance
More Info
US$190.53*
and up
Coney Island Ocean Jet Ski Tour
More Info
US$389.00*
and up
New York Helicopter Tour: Manhattan, Brooklyn and Staten Island
More Info
US$382.00*
and up
New York Harbor Jet Ski Tour
Ranked #1 of 34 Fun & Games in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to famous rides like the Cyclone Roller Coaster, the Wonder Wheel and the Parachute Jump, this historic seaside section of Broooklyn is about an hour by train from Manhattan and still boasts a lively boardwalk, beach, and the best hot dogs around.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant time at Coney island”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Fantastic atmosphere while we were there. The boardwalk is all brand new, the sand was free from debri while we were there and the sea seemed clean. There are many shops and restaurants/bars along the sea front with hotdogs, burgers, milkshakes at reasonable prices. There is no fee for using the beach. Toilet and changing facilities are provided, and life guards were on duty while we were there. We only went on one ride at the fair ground, so cannot really comment on that section of the area. It was easily accessible from Manhattan by one train journey, which has its last station a five minute walk away from the beach front.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatnMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,501
    1,265
    529
    141
    88
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the trip to Coney Island!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We'd never been and on this visit to New York we decided to go. Truly loved it. Went to Nathan's, walked the boardwalk, rode the Cyclone (FANTASTIC), saw a "freak" show (TOTALLY FUN) and then went to a baseball game. Was one of our best days in New York and I would do it again in a heartbeat. (Don't expect Disney or an "amusement park" - it's really unique and different from that)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing trip”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It was nice to visit Coney Island. Relaxing trip. People were having a lot of fun. Subway station 1 block away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not much different than any other boardwalk, but the history is relevant!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Worth checking out if your nearby. The Ferris wheel was the highlight of our trip. Built in 1918 and it still doesn't disappoint. The beach is pretty from a distant, but dirty up close. Nathan's hot dog is a must. Games are fun and rides are a thrill. Nice family spot or romantic for a couple at night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldb4ureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“About what I expected”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have been to NYC several times but never made it out to Coney Island. My husband and I were in town for Labor Day weekend and we decided to make the trip. The freak show was fun for $10 a ticket and the Nathan's hot dogs were good! The rest was the beach and boardwalk with rides and food stands/souvenir shops. It's worth a trip out to explore at least once but since we don't have kids and we weren't into the rides or beach I don't know that we'd make a trip out there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank loveshak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coney Island USA also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island USA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing