We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Value in Brooklyn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sofia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sofia Inn
Ranked #12 of 55 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice Value in Brooklyn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Sofia Inn in Brooklyn. Our daughter lives in Ditmas Park (about 3.5 miles away) and was graduating NYU Polytechnic at the Barclays Center (less than a mile away). The Inn is conveniently located withing easy walking distance to Prospect Park, the Barclays Center (where the Nets play), plenty of great restaurants (we recommend Tom's restaurant just 3 blocks away) and bars,the subway, the museum,the Botanical Gardens and countless other city attractions and had available street parking. We did have to move our car on Friday morning because they sweep the city streets at certain times on certain days and if you park there during that time, you will get a ticket or be towed. The innkeeper failed to mention this to us but our daughter reminded us and we read the signs, noted the times and complied.

The Inn was very tidy and comfortable and our room (West room, 2nd floor) was artfully furnished with nice antiques and a great queen bed (nice linens & mattress, plenty of pillows). Except for the typical steep stairs of a 3-story NY city brownstone (which are not well suited for the feeble or elderly) and the creaky noises from other guests throughout the house, it was perfect. We had a microwave, mini fridge, coffeemaker (tea and coffee supplied), TV, free wi-fi and a desk and we never met another guest in the shared bathroom. The innkeeper was very accommodating and always answered my questions and responded to my emails and phone calls promptly. He also recommended a very nice car service in lieu of taxis that picked us at The Inn within five minutes of our call and drove us into Manhattan during rush hour on Thursday for only $30. All in all, it was a great value for Brooklyn/Prospect Park and I would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoochtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    27
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Sofia Inn, a well maintained brownstone with lots of character. We're a family of 3 and rented the north and south rooms. The rooms were spacious, comfortable & spotlessly clean. We loved the cozy and charming feel. The south room has an quipped kitchen if you want to cook. We were in Brooklyn for a family wedding and were conveniently close to family as well as the subway, shopping and restaurants. Billy the owner was always helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fwilansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent the 2013 Xmas week staying in this charming B abd B in Brooklyn. There were 6 of us and we rented the north and south room which gave us a shared bathroom and kitchen. It was a challenge to get all our luggage to the top floor with skis etc but well worth the climb. The owner was most helpful always but unobtrusive. We spent everyday on Manhattan Island which was a 20 minute subway ride4 away and this mode of transport was so easy and reasonable. It gave us some great interactions with the community. We also felt safe at all times in New York. Fantastic and we recommend to people who are looking for an affordable family week in NY.

Room Tip: North and South rooms were lovely just a climb of 3 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozfoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just a great little brownstone to stay in. We shared a bathroom and never saw another guest. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great value in New York. The Inn is close to a subway stop and close to the Brooklyn museum. We even went jogging in Prospect Park. Just a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this location looking for an affordable place to stay in NY, for a Brooklyn Wedding we were attending. This place was that, prob one of the better priced accommodations in the area. It was a good value for NY standards. The neighborhood, had a lot of foot traffic and felt very safe. Also, convenient places to dine. There is street parking, earlier on in evening, but a little harder to procure after 9-10pm. The accommodations were comfy, it felt like we were guest staying at someone else's house. The bed was nice, the room was spacious. It had AC and heat. It also had coffee maker and microwave. We had the one of the rooms that shared a bathroom with another room. The idea of this, at first annoyed my husband, but we really never saw the other guests. So in the end it didn't really effect our stay. We were at the top, very steep stairs, no elevator-it is just a brownstone-so, if you are not traveling light or are very mobile, I would suggest you ask for a room on another floor. Overall, nice stay and good value.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank joejoema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

There aren't enough options if you want to stay in Brooklyn so I was very happy to find the Sofia Inn. It's on a quiet, attractive block of brownstones but so convenient to museums, park, restaurants etc (and my son's apartment). My room was on the top floor, a little funky, but spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom is in a corridor between the two rooms making it more private. The stairs are steep so the upstairs may not be ideal for someone with a disability.
I will definitely be back. Good location, good value - plus I felt comfortable there traveling alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
287 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This isn't a B&B. Neither is it some pristine designer place. It is an old building with a lot of character. There is no breakfast. Our room had a small kitchen and fridge. However we chose to eat out. The local bagel shop is great.

There is also no reception as such. You will catch Billy the owner when he is about. You have no problem getting in though. Everything is well organised.

The local area has loads of decent bars and places to eat. We had been travelling and found having a local, cheap laundry and dry cleaners really helpful. Why wouldn't you travel light when you can get a big bag of washing done for about 7 dollars.

The local area isn't too yuppy. It feels like a decent community. The are great subway connections within 5 minutes walk.

Our one crticism is that it needs a later check out on a Sunday 10 am is too early, especially if you have a flight at night.

We will definitely stay here again. I really liked this part of Brooklyn.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#11 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#17 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.4 mi away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Inn

Property: The Sofia Inn
Address: 288 Park Pl, Brooklyn, NY 11238-3906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sofia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Sofia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sofia Hotel Brooklyn
The Sofia Inn Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing