We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh. Old and worn-out.”
Review of The Sofia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sofia Inn
Ranked #13 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh. Old and worn-out.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here three nights as a less-costly alternative to staying in Manhattan. Great location, close to the bus line and the subway, and walking distance to the park and to a few good breakfast joints. However, the accommodates were very mediocre. The hotel itself has potential to be very charming and beautiful but inside it is worn-out, old, dusty, and in need of a good refreshing. The bed was not very comfortable. The shared bath was clean enough. The innkeeper responded promptly when I called to tell him the blow-dryer was not working, and he immediately brought me another. However, his attitude seemed as worn as the hotel itself. It was worth the price but next time we will pay more for a place with more spit-and-polish.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelloc7183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thesofiainn, Owner at The Sofia Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
To quote the reviewer: we are "a less-costly alternative to staying in Manhattan. Great location, close to bus line and the subway, and walking distance to the park and a few good breakfast joints."
We agree with all of that, except to add that there are literally dozens of great breakfast joints within a few blocks, as well as restaurants, bars, the world-famous Barclay's Arena (home to the New York Nets, future home to The New York Islands, scores of world-class concerts), Prospect Park, The Brooklyn Botanic Gardens, and The Brooklyn Museum (second largest art museum in America). We are definitely not worn-out, old and dusty. All rooms and public areas and bathrooms are cleaned each day. We buy new bedding and supplies as needed. We make capital improvements as needed. Our staff is friendly and attentive. Our establishment is located in a century-old brownstone in a charming tree-lined neighborhood, so it's unfair to compare us to the cookie-cutter glass and metal hotels in Manhattan (that often charge four times what we charge). The reviewer also states that the owner (me) "responded promptly" when told of a broken hairdryer, and that I immediately brought her another. Then states--without any supportive example--that my attitude was "worn." We are always open to suggestions and constructive criticism, because we strive to continue to offer a great hotel experience at budget prices, which is another way of saying I cannot tell from this review what exactly went wrong. That said, I encourage her to return, and we will strive to offer a better hosting experience in fabulous Brooklyn in Brooklyn's hottest neighborhood at fabulous budget rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    27
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nokesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the Sofia Inn in Brooklyn. Our daughter lives in Ditmas Park (about 3.5 miles away) and was graduating NYU Polytechnic at the Barclays Center (less than a mile away). The Inn is conveniently located withing easy walking distance to Prospect Park, the Barclays Center (where the Nets play), plenty of great restaurants (we recommend Tom's restaurant just 3 blocks away) and bars,the subway, the museum,the Botanical Gardens and countless other city attractions and had available street parking. We did have to move our car on Friday morning because they sweep the city streets at certain times on certain days and if you park there during that time, you will get a ticket or be towed. The innkeeper failed to mention this to us but our daughter reminded us and we read the signs, noted the times and complied.

The Inn was very tidy and comfortable and our room (West room, 2nd floor) was artfully furnished with nice antiques and a great queen bed (nice linens & mattress, plenty of pillows). Except for the typical steep stairs of a 3-story NY city brownstone (which are not well suited for the feeble or elderly) and the creaky noises from other guests throughout the house, it was perfect. We had a microwave, mini fridge, coffeemaker (tea and coffee supplied), TV, free wi-fi and a desk and we never met another guest in the shared bathroom. The innkeeper was very accommodating and always answered my questions and responded to my emails and phone calls promptly. He also recommended a very nice car service in lieu of taxis that picked us at The Inn within five minutes of our call and drove us into Manhattan during rush hour on Thursday for only $30. All in all, it was a great value for Brooklyn/Prospect Park and I would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoochtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Sofia Inn, a well maintained brownstone with lots of character. We're a family of 3 and rented the north and south rooms. The rooms were spacious, comfortable & spotlessly clean. We loved the cozy and charming feel. The south room has an quipped kitchen if you want to cook. We were in Brooklyn for a family wedding and were conveniently close to family as well as the subway, shopping and restaurants. Billy the owner was always helpful. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fwilansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent the 2013 Xmas week staying in this charming B abd B in Brooklyn. There were 6 of us and we rented the north and south room which gave us a shared bathroom and kitchen. It was a challenge to get all our luggage to the top floor with skis etc but well worth the climb. The owner was most helpful always but unobtrusive. We spent everyday on Manhattan Island which was a 20 minute subway ride4 away and this mode of transport was so easy and reasonable. It gave us some great interactions with the community. We also felt safe at all times in New York. Fantastic and we recommend to people who are looking for an affordable family week in NY.

Room Tip: North and South rooms were lovely just a climb of 3 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozfoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just a great little brownstone to stay in. We shared a bathroom and never saw another guest. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great value in New York. The Inn is close to a subway stop and close to the Brooklyn museum. We even went jogging in Prospect Park. Just a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on this location looking for an affordable place to stay in NY, for a Brooklyn Wedding we were attending. This place was that, prob one of the better priced accommodations in the area. It was a good value for NY standards. The neighborhood, had a lot of foot traffic and felt very safe. Also, convenient places to dine. There is street parking, earlier on in evening, but a little harder to procure after 9-10pm. The accommodations were comfy, it felt like we were guest staying at someone else's house. The bed was nice, the room was spacious. It had AC and heat. It also had coffee maker and microwave. We had the one of the rooms that shared a bathroom with another room. The idea of this, at first annoyed my husband, but we really never saw the other guests. So in the end it didn't really effect our stay. We were at the top, very steep stairs, no elevator-it is just a brownstone-so, if you are not traveling light or are very mobile, I would suggest you ask for a room on another floor. Overall, nice stay and good value.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank joejoema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

There aren't enough options if you want to stay in Brooklyn so I was very happy to find the Sofia Inn. It's on a quiet, attractive block of brownstones but so convenient to museums, park, restaurants etc (and my son's apartment). My room was on the top floor, a little funky, but spacious and comfortable. The shared bathroom is in a corridor between the two rooms making it more private. The stairs are steep so the upstairs may not be ideal for someone with a disability.
I will definitely be back. Good location, good value - plus I felt comfortable there traveling alone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bleu
Hotel Le Bleu
#12 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,043 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Brooklyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brooklyn Downtown
1.0 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 72 in Brooklyn
233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Arena Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Inn

Property: The Sofia Inn
Address: 288 Park Pl, Brooklyn, NY 11238-3906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sofia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Sofia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sofia Hotel Brooklyn
The Sofia Inn Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing