We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip hotel in a good location.”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Clean, trendy, nicely decorated hotel. Easy acces to Manhattan via subway. Theres a few subway stations nearby. Breakfast was a good start for the day; bagels, fresh fruit, cereals, youghurt, etc. Didn't use the gym, but it looked nice too. This was a hotel that suited my taste in many ways. Would come back with joy!

Room Tip: Ask a room facing inner ward, so the traffic noise woun't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thanks for the wonderful review! You summed it up in a few short sentences. Our proximity to Manhattan makes us a great option for those looking to stay out of the hustle and bustle of the city and stay where true New Yorkers enjoy going. Sounds like we'll be seeing you again soon. Thanks agin for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Very home like feeling, with friendly staff. The shower units are large and so are the beds. They have fancy wall paintings and a well stocked bar. my only issue was that we found our room open. This is due to the door not closing freely, you have to pull it shut, so at best guess assumed the cleaner walked out, assumed the door closed behind them.

They have recycle bins in the room, and the bathroom stuff were all tree friendly stuff. Even the pens were made out of wood, and not plastic

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. It appears all when well minus the security concern with the room. I agree this is completely unacceptable. I read this over the weekend and immediately had the Executive Housekeeper follow up with all the Room Attendants and reiterate the importance of guest safety. Additionally, we had the Engineering Team visit every room in house to ensure all doors closed behind them without the need to pull them shut. This is the feedback we need in order to get better at improving our product. Thanks for holding us accountable. Overall, I'm very pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we truly hope to see you again soon! Please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally so I can arrange your next visit. I can be reached at gm@nuhotelbrooklyn.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Nu Hotel. Staff are informative and friendly, complimentary breakfast provides a good start to the day but for something more special try The Little Sweet Cafe on Hoyt Street (around the corner from the hotel). Rooms very minimalist but a good size and beds very comfortable. One slight downside was our noisy fridge. The gym in the basement is small but well equipped. The location of the hotel is excellent. Downtown Brooklyn provides a range of entertainment options and the junction of Smith Street and Atlantic Avenue is ideally located for the bars on Smith Street (particularly liked the Clover Club), restaurants and bars on Atlantic Avenue -the Soul Food take away opposite the hotel was excellent and Sugar Cane for caribbean food and cocktails. Also very near the Barclay Centre, so try and get tickets to see some basketball or see a show if you can. Would recommend a walk around Brooklyn Heights and Dumbo and a run across the Brooklyn Bridge is an invigorating way to start a day. Shopping is also excellent as the area has a number of independent boutiques. Of course the location also provides easy access to Manhattan. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nkasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for the incredible review! Well I see you certainly enjoyed everything that Brooklyn has to offer on your visit. I hope readers take note when seeing this review. Tons of things to do in Brooklyn. We like to say that Manhattan is now the outer borough! I see you mentioned Clover Club and Soul Spot. Two of my favorite spots in Brooklyn. Great choices to experience. Did you know that Clover Club was rated the #1 bar in the WORLD for 2013? Hard to believe for some but when you experience it you know why. Again, great insider tip. Sounds like we'll be seeing you again. Hope it's sooner rather than later. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I love the Cobble Hill neighborhood of Brooklyn, so this hotel is in a perfect location. The hotel is just steps from a few subway stations with a quick ride into Manhattan. It's also situated on Smith Street, which has some of the best restaurants and bars in Brooklyn. On my most recent stay I had to attend the Barclays Center for work and it was only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The rooms are clean and the WiFi is free - a great deal! If you do have a car, there's a garage attached to the hotel that will give you a $25 deal for 24 hours if you mention you're staying with the hotel. The front desk staff is also INCREDIBLE! Super friendly and they go above and beyond to answer any questions you may have. This hotel is a win :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for such a great review! We also feel our location is fantastic for a visit to Manhattan or several areas in Brooklyn like Barclays Center, DUMBO and Metrotech Center. The service, however, is everything to us. We go out of our way to ensure we hire best and brightest of New York. We have no scripts or requirements for the team. We want their personality to shine and it looks like it came through on your experience. I will certainly share your comment with the entire staff. They will appreciate seeing their dedication pay off in reviews like this. We look forward to having you back as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for a week whilst visiting New York on business. Pleased with the location, room minimal but clean and staff really helpful and friendly.

Only slightly let down by very noisy heating/air con in rooms and a basic breakfast offering.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for writing about your experience at NU! t's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay while staying for entire week. We also appreciate the feedback regarding the AC. We have our Chief Engineer looking into ways to minimize AC noise. We're also looking into NU Sleep Kits that will be complimentary to our guests. We can appreciate that in this busy city, no matter the thickness of the windows and quietness of the AC that people appreciate a completely silent environment to sleep in. We hope this will show our guests that we care and are providing everything we possibly can to ensure a good nights sleep. We hope to see you soon. Please feel free to email me directly on your next visit so I can ensure a very quiet room is set aside and so I can update your profile. Thanks again and we'l see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for one night while doing business in NYC. Even though my business was in Manhattan, I had a reason to stay in Brooklyn and this was convenient. Getting to and from midtown and Freedom Center was easy and not too expensive by cab....$30 and $12 respectively. If you are looking for a reasonable hotel in Brooklyn with good walkabiity to Cobble Hill, the Barclay Center etc. this is a fine place. The staff is very welcoming and professional.

But beware, it is a funky place. The rooms are metal furniture, the beds squeak, the curtains are totally odd, and the space/footprint is small. But it is clean and sufficient if you are not going to spend a lot of time in the hotel.

There is a bigger and more traditional hotel down Adams Street if this doesn't sound like "you" but if you are cool with it, don't be scared off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience at the hotel! Sounds like you have an open mind and consider hotels like our outside the larger brands. We certainly try to be unique in the market and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity. We're actually undergoing a complete property renovation in January 2014. Unbelievable to think we have been here for 5 years! The rooms will be outfitted with all new furnishings along with significant technology upgrades. Perhaps this will entice you to come back for a completely different experience that will lead to another great review! Thanks and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for 4 nights, including a Brooklyn family wedding and taking in a couple Broadway shows. The location was so ideal to subway stops, coffee cafes, the TKS box office and strolling to small independent shops. Staff were always helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast was good to stave off the hunger pangs before setting out. Wifi worked well.

Room Tip: The Urban suite was quite spacious and the 4th floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lad369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate the you taking the time to leave positive feedback. We're glad we were a part of your family's wedding. We're also pleased to hear the feedback with the WiFi. Great news it;s only getting better! We just upgraded to a FIBER internet connection. This is the fastest speed available on the market. We know this will be a huge benefit to all of our guests. Thanks agin and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 75 in Brooklyn
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 75 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 75 in Brooklyn
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 75 in Brooklyn
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £106 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NU Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing