We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A contemporary boutique hotel for a good price”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I needed a hotel within walking distance of downtown Brooklyn. The rooms are comfy with nice beds and linens. I requested a quiet room and did get a corner room on the 4 th floor. The continental breakfast offers very nice freshly baked assortment of bagels, Kashi cereals, hard boiled eggs, granola bars, coffees, teas, & juices.This is included in the price of the room. I loved the hallways decorated in Flor tiles in fancy patterns. The gym in the basement has up to date workout equipment. The bar has signature cocktails , wines, & beers.The reason I did not rate the cleanliness higher, was because, the second day of my trip, the towels left in my room were soiled and stained and old. The maid service woke me up when I had a "Do Not Disturb sign on the door . She said it had fallen on the floor. I did like having a bath tub , but I never got left the right products. One day I would get shampoo & 3 conditioners and the next day, shower gel and body lotions. The bathroom is well lit , but would be great if they would add a magnifying pull out mirror for makeup application. U can walk up & down Smith Street or Atlantic for all kinds of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your very helpful review from your recent stay with us. Overall I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your time, and I appreciate the feedback on the housekeeping snafus that you experienced while you were here. We wish that everything would go perfectly all the time, but if that can't be the case, at least we can learn from errors and improve. We want you to feel as if you are the only person to ever stay in your room at NU! I have taken this review directly to our Housekeeping team so that we are all in the practice of looking for, and removing from inventory, any linens that are showing signs of wear as well as thoughtfully stocking amenities. We are also taking your make up mirror suggestion to heart. It's something we've thought of in the past, and your note pushed it over the tipping point. Coming soon, magnifying make up mirrors in all of our guest rooms! Thank you for the insight, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

I think my favorite thing about this hotel is the design. It has a minimalist/modern aspect to it that is visually appealing and sort of comforting/relaxing. It also had a lot of ny style street art in the lobby. At the same time, utility was obviously a priority in the design as well. As soon as you look for something it's right where you need it to be and at the same time is not out on display to clutter the space.

We booked a king and got upgraded to a queen suite. The suite is not that big, but was corner facing with giant windows and had two bunk beds that actually looked quite comfortable. The queen mattress was very nice to sleep on. My favorite aspect, however, would be the spacious bathroom. One wall was actually a chalkboard that you could write on which was fun, and it had a nice big countertop, big mirrors (both half mirror and full length). The shower was also very spacious with a true rain shower head from up high.

The free breakfast is continental, but the individual items are fairly high quality (i.e. kashi cereal, oikos yogurt, twinings tea). The coffee in your room is better than at the breakfast, though. The hotel is small enough that it feels boutique. The staff great you every time you walk in or out. I did not get a chance to visit the gym, but overheard a staff member saying it is usually never very busy.

The only major drawback - the heater in our room was very noisy. I'm a somewhat light sleeper and it woke me up every time it kicked in. Unfortunately that was a major drawback for us, as sleep quality is pretty important for hotels for us. It's probably only a problem in the winter if you're a light sleeper like me.

Atlantic avenue had some nice shops to visit and is a great area to just go walking in, also.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

This is a great review, thank you so much for your thoughts on the hotel. The noise situation with your heating unit is very unfortunate, and I'm disappointed that it sullied your stay. Next time you are coming to NU, email me directly and I will make sure that your HVAC unit is as quiet as possible, and also provide you with one of our Sleep Kits on me! gm@nuhotelbrooklyn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Very interesting room with a mural.They have an ongoing arrangement with local artists so the art work is interesting. Good continental breakfast included. Secure parking next door for $25 which is a deal in NY. Close to restaurants,MTA and shops. Attentive staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mural on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CECFME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Glad to see you enjoyed one of our mural rooms! We have enjoyed a fantastic relationship with our local art community. Craig Anthony Miller, Magdalena Marcenaro, Adam Suerte, Steven Weinberg, Edward Ubiera, Icy and Sot, Sarah Reynolds, Sophia Dawson and Kendra Beitzel are the artists that have participated in our NU Perspectives Project thus far, and the collection of murals is truly amazing. Find more information about our NU Perspectives artists here: http://nuhotelbrooklyn.com/nu-perspectives/. We have more murals in the works as we speak, so please check out these artists and keep coming back to see the new work being installed soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

For those of you not familiar with downtown Brooklyn: don't let all the bail bondsmen shops scare you off. This is a very convenient and safe neighborhood - an excellent alternative to Manhattan. We stayed in the Friends Suite (me, our au pair, and two kids). It was a perfect setup for a family with one or two kids. As the name of the suite suggests, it also would be great for a small group of friends looking to split the tab. I will point out that it is not what you usually think of as a "suite" - BUT you will not find this kind of space anywhere in Manhattan unless you are willing to pay at least double. The subway to Manhattan is very close and it's very easy to get to just about anywhere. In fact, it is easier to get to the UWS from here than it is from several neighborhoods in Manhattan. The neighborhood itself offers great restaurants and boutiques, and is a very short bus ride to Park Slope, so it's also the perfect spot to explore Brooklyn. The parking garage next door was very convenient and not bad deal at $25 per day. If you are up to the challenge of understanding the NYC alternate-side street cleaning rules, you also could find free street parking within a reasonable walk of the hotel (I do stress that you should only attempt this if you really do have a good understanding of NYC parking rules).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellycat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed our Friends Suite! I hope that you'll be able to return when the weather is nicer...we are about a twenty minute walk from Brooklyn Bridge Park which is absolutely beautiful and has so many activites for kids during the warm months. There is also the Brooklyn Children's Museum that is pretty close by, and it's the oldest (and one of the best!) children's museums in the country. We are in a great area for kids, so please come back to explore all seasons in Downtown Brooklyn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location near the best parts of Brooklyn. Reasonable price. The staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. Cute rooms with great amenities. Pet friendly! Love the bar/lobby...very comfortable and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

I totally agree with all of the points in your review!! :) Honestly, it is so nice to see that your experience with NU was just as we want everyone's to be....perfect! Thank you so much, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our third visit and again we were looked after really well. Helpful and knowledgeable staff along with great rooms and excellent location make it unnecessary to look elsewhere. This time there was a minor problem with our room which resuted in an immediate room change and free drinlks at the bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITCHINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are so happy to see our guests returning again and again...thank you for giving us such a great review and for the opportunity to get to know you better as you continue to explore Brooklyn with NU as your home base!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Came for 4 nights for my daughter's wedding, with lots of different family reservations. Everything was great - from check in to check out, including a lovely and expansive complimentary breakfast. Rooms are above average size for NY (esp for this price point), and bathrooms quite large. Staff was extremely helpful. Smith Street neighborhood is quite interesting, with lots of funky, well priced, ethnic restaurant choices, and two great bakeries (Bien Cuit and Konditori). Free internet worked flawlessly. And there was a surprisingly high level of onstreet parking nearby, with a garage next door in case of emergency. Good subway access to several lines, with a short walk. They are scheduling a décor refreshening this year I understand, but the hotel is clean, white and welcoming throughout. Would definitely go back and recommend.

Room Tip: There are street facing and interior facing rooms...all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winderjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javier E, General Manager at NU Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I am so glad to have hosted such a happy guest. Our sincerest thanks to you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor world....we want every one of our guests to feel just as you do! Thanks so much for taking the time to give us such a glowing report. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 74 in Brooklyn
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#28 of 74 in Brooklyn
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#21 of 74 in Brooklyn
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New York Marriott at the Brooklyn Bridge
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brooklyn New York
Hilton Brooklyn New York
#9 of 74 in Brooklyn
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#3 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range: £105 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NU Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing