We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up across the board”
Review of NU Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NU Hotel
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Brooklyn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Thumbs up across the board”
Reviewed 10 December 2008

What can I say, a clean hotel, excellent staff, quiet, nice breakfast (especially Bill the breakfast guy) great products in the bathroom, quality linens and products. Close to 2 major metro lines, also to cool Brooklyn neighborhoods

A definate for NY travellers who dont mind an easy 20 minute subway uptown and like to walk around local neighborhoods

Excellent and will return for sure!

  • Liked — cleanliness, staff, good coffee and quality products
  • Disliked — no onsite restaurant (but this wasnt a problem)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WTravelGirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    292
    76
    32
    17
See reviews for
208
304
84
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Great Location...just steps away from trendy Boerum Hill...and just blocks from Brooklyn Heights, the Promenade and DUMBO...not to mention Carroll Gardens, etc...

Can't say enought about the location...

Also, very clean...all the linens are fresh and white...very comfortable feel...

Courteous staff, very helpful...small bar in the lobby where you can get a drink before you head out!

Great stay...can't say enough!

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Not enough pillows...
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmac102479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel. We were lucky enough to stay during a grand opening type promotion and got a great rate but I wouldn't hesitate to pay more knowing that I am going to be staying at a hotel 100 times better than a lot of the Manhattan hotels in the same price range. The morning breakfast was great, the staff were very attentive and knowledgeable about the area and you are very close to numerous subway stations. Depending on where you are going you can be in Manhattan in 5 minutes. This is a great place and I am so happy I found it because now I don't have to search for a place to stay the next time I go to NYC (unless Nu Hotel is sold out that is).

  • Liked — That I didn't not like anything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPLSGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We stayed at the Nu Hotel for three nights, I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

I took my time in finding the right place my girlfriend and I to stay for our first trip to NYC. I had been put off by some of the extortionate prices for substandard accomm in Manhattan, so looked at what Brooklyn had to offer.

The Nu Hotel is a great little place to stay, with staff that are happy to help, and the standard of accommodation was very good too. The decor is very modern and minimalist, the bed was absolutely massive and very comfortable too. In the room, there is a wall mounted flatscreen tv, and wi fi access if you have a laptop.

In reception, there was an internet terminal (free of charge) and supposedly a bar, which was closed on both nights of our stay...which was our only minor annoyance.

Breakfast was a good standard, pastries, croissants and starbucks beverages.

We had a brilliant time wandering around the brownstones of Brooklyn, but for access into Manhattan, there is the A and C subway lines that you can catch at Jay St station, minutes from the hotel. We did walk over the Brooklyn Bridge once into Manhattan, but it is quite a trek.

I had read some of the reviews stating road noise from the Atlantic Avenue, but I requested a quiet room away from the road, and had absolutely no issue with this whatsoever.

  • Liked — Good standard of decor (quite funky), and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — lack of hotel bar when we visited (but not a major issue at all)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fonejacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2008

What a pleasant stay I had. Because everything is white, you know its clean. The room was extremely nice, the bed was comfortable, the stay was great. And it was a great price and location. I would definitely return. It's a very stylish hotel as well.

  • Liked — Clean style, clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DallasTypeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We just returned from a weekend at Nu and have only great things to say about it. The staff, every single one from the folks at the front-desk to the bellman were great...incredibly friendly and incredible (and voluntarily) helpful. The rooms are a really nice size (we stayed in a queen) and the entire property is well-kept and clean. A couple of good things to note: 1) there's a parking garage entrance right next to the hotel, incredible convenient for anyone driving; 2) other posters have talked about avoiding rooms on Atlantic Ave. due to the noise...I'd agree if you're not used to living in the city...in which case the street traffic will just make you feel at home.

Thumbs up, Nu!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank uhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

I spent three nights at the Nu Hotel, recommended by friends who live a few blocks away. The front desk staff are remarkably friendly and helpful.

The room was larger and quieter than I expected. It has all the comforts and amenities you could want. The only problem I experienced with the room was that it was on the front of the hotel, so spotlights shown on the room all night. I prefer the room to be very dark when I sleep and even with the blackout curtains, enough light came in around them to be annoying. I picked up a sleep mask the next day and had no problems sleeping.

The breakfast was nothing special, but offered Starbucks coffee, pastries and fresh fruit.

The hotel's location is terrific. Lots of restaurants and shopping and close to the subway.

I'll definitely be staying at the Nu Hotel on my next trip to NY!

  • Liked — The guys at the front desk are awesome!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
0.4 mi away
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
EVEN Hotel Brooklyn
#8 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloft New York Brooklyn
Aloft New York Brooklyn
#20 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo
Hotel Indigo
#23 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#10 of 71 in Brooklyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NU Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NU Hotel

Property: NU Hotel
Address: 85 Smith St, Brooklyn, NY 11201-5907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Family Hotel in Brooklyn
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brooklyn
#5 Business Hotel in Brooklyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NU Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NU Hotel offers a smart, clean, fresh design along with expert service. Acquaint yourself with this entirely new Brooklyn hotel, conceived to create an authentic travel experience integrated into the fabric of the local landscape.This perfectly positioned Brooklyn NY hotel sits squarely at the intersection of four intriguing neighborhoods:Downtown Brooklyn, home to the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the court houses and the offices at Metrotech center.Boerum Hill, where streets are lined with elegant brownstones and French bistros.Cobble Hill, a blend of old world shops and bakeries and gardens.Carroll Gardens, an old-fashioned Italian neighborhood with wide streets, chic restaurants, and antique shops.A design approach intended to appear effortless, combined with a casual attitude, define the hotel, while the beauty and friendly nature of the neighborhoods ensure that guests feel safe and secure as they explore the gems that Brooklyn has to offer. The ambience suggests an artistic local neighborhood refuge providing a unique, insider's experience. The minimalist, loft-inspired rooms include custom furnishings crafted from recycled teak wood, cork floors, environmentally conscious woods, lead-free paints, and organic bedding. Step into this intriguing and exciting new departure from a typical Brooklyn hotel to discover an imaginative new approach to city living -- smart, clean, simple, and, best of all, casual. Simply put, NU is all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NU Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NU Hotel Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing